We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love, love love A Casinha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Casinha

A Casinha
Ranked #12 of 61 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love, love love A Casinha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live in the Western Algarve, and this is my favourite restaurant. Amazing fresh seafood, great service in a laid back manner and I couldn't recommend it highly enough! Always 5 star.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    111
    41
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Romantic, small restaurant, with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ate at A Casinha in mid-December having found it on tripadvisor (as the no. 1 choice in Sagres). Easy to find, central location. Only folks at the restaurant this evening as it was off-season. No matter, food was fresh and delicious, and portion size was quite generous. Had the cataplana, full of all kinds of wonderful fish and shellfish. Owner, also the waiter, picked out a great bottle of wine upon our request. Frankly, don't recall all that we had to eat beside the cataplana, but left the restaurant thinking it was fantastic and one of the best meals we'd had in a long time, made better by the friendly conversation of the owner (and his wife, who was the cook). I can surely see why this received, and deservedly so, it high ranking on tripadvisor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Delicious fresh food , perfectly prepared , you can taste the love for cooking here . It is small and cosy . Have the dish for two with the big schrimps . JUMJUM !!!! We will come back , don;t change anything ;))

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HotelZierikzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Generous, authentic, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ate here a couple of times during half term week. A generous spirited restaurant from the excellent couvert, through authentic and tasty food and a brief but well chosen and priced wine list. Service low key but correct.

Reliable Sagres choice

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_Ma_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently stayed in Sagres and visited A Casinha one evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. the couvert was outstanding and also the meal itself. I had the skate in garlic which was delicious! Plenty of it! The restaurant itself is spotlessly clean with a warm cosy feel and a good atmosphere. The waiter was very attentive and helpful. I will definitely be going again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanR262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Casinha also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Casinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing