We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Sagres!”
Review of A Casinha

A Casinha
Ranked #23 of 73 Restaurants in Sagres
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is why a family business will always provide better everything than "industry".
A Casinha s the living proof. A small restaurant which can accomodate only 20 persons, and whose menu is written on just 2 pages. To eat the best, you should flip a coin. Or to pick something blindfolded.
Couverto a casa is the best way to start a fabulous dinner. Then, you can try the delicious cataplanas - my favourite is that one with tiger prawns. But you can try smth different every day. Because I can bet that you'll eat there every day of your stay in Sagres.
For dessert it's impossible for me to recomend. Try them all!
Rogerio, the owner/waiter is a perfect sommelier, so he could recomend you the best wine for your dish.
Enjoy!

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rpreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 582 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went to this small restaurant twice during our stay in Sagres. The owner/waiter is a really nice and hospitable guy - and the food is great too! Both times we ate and drank to our hearts' content, and both time we were pleasantly surprised by the bill. Definitely great value for money, and definitely our best dinner experience in Sagres!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alexander590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We ate here our last night in Sagres. It's a cozy little restaurant. The owner/host waited on us and was very helpful with suggestions. The wine list had varied options. The starter with various spreads and bread was delicious. We shared a salad and had the seafood cataplana- excellent! It had a huge variety of fish and seafood in a delicious sauce. For dessert we shared the fig, almond and caramel tart- soooo yummy. The prices were very reasonable. It was a memorable last evening and I highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SBHgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We tried to book this restaurant but were informed that the latest we could book was 7pm because we had children. Very disappointing given that my children are extremely well behaved and used to dining in restaurants. Interesting policy in this economic climate.

Date of visit: July 2012
2  Thank travelbugbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited this restaurant upon tripadvisor reviews in June 2012 when we visited Sagres and we weren't dissappointed at all. This is a newly refurbished clean and cozy restaurant with affordable prices. The food is delicious and made from fresh fish caught the same day. The owner who served us speaks very good English and is happy to help with your choice. We had a curry-tuna pate as a starter with fresh bread and olives and as a main we had a cod casserole with seafood for two.

We highly recommend this restaurant to all fish lovers.

Thank you - Katarina & Viktor

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Casinha also viewed

 
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Casinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing