We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all perfect except the name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mum's

Mum's
Ranked #5 of 68 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
st john's NL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It is all perfect except the name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Why Mum's? Sausage and mashed potato, cottage pie, roast and 2 veg, that is what this place is not. So give it an exotic name to match the decor and the food and the servers. I was comfortable from the moment I walked in, the interior is full of rich colors and unusual decoration, everyone there before exuded "I'm really enjoying this place." Being from Newfoundland anything with Bacalhau always tweaks, so cappuccino Bacalhau with Parmesan foam was a had to be, it was absolutely "how long can I make this last?" delicious. Followed by a huge plate of grilled shrimp with hints of garlic and chili and swirls of Alicante Alcalar red wine, the entire experience could be repeated tomorrow. Thanks Mum

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spindoctor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    167
    44
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quirky place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The name put me off and I passed this restaurant several times before I went in. I was glad I did because it is a lovely spot. Great service and atmosphere. The couple running the place are very welcoming. I suggest a name change because the last thing I want is mum's cooking when I am on holiday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied with everything. Especially great for couples dining out. Lovely atmosphere, service, food, and not overly expensive

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience in the heart of Sagres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is definitely worth a visit - the restaurant area is styled beautifully with a range of different photos and interesting items which give it a distinctly homely feel. The menu is refreshingly different, you get the feeling that the simple but tasty food is cooked fresh to order using good quality ingredients. Try the bruschetta and the shrimps in brandy - delicious!!
The drinks menu is creative and the cocktails are presented beautifully using fresh fruits and flowers. If I owned a restaurant I would want it to be like this!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lots M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Full of characters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had dinners at Mum's 3 nights in a row. We loved the vibe, the decor with all the small personal touches from the lovely couple who run the restaurant. The food was good but the cocktails are absolutely amazing and not to be missed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mum's also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Mum's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing