We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Grelha

A Grelha
Ranked #25 of 65 Restaurants in Sagres
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Thanks to our friends for introducing us to this excellent little eatery!

I had the tropical chicken which was delicious, with fresh mango and kiwi amongst other tropical fruits and just enough chilli for a gentle kick. My husband had the Portuguese steak which he said was delicious.

Excellent value at just over 15€ a head for two courses and wine!! These people really deserve to succeed and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steppitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    69
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The place is rather small, a lot of locals come to eat there, however it is located in the main street and as I talked to the owner (whos wife is the kitchen chef btw) I figured out that he has some permanent clients, who know his greatest dishes, and come to eat even from other villages. Thus just wanted to tell you about the great experience that I had and if you ever explore Portugal again- visiting this small restaurant is a must! my favorite was Prawns Coconut Mango btw, he is famous for his Lobster Cataplana, but as I spend a cuple of days in this place eating both breakfast and dinner because I was absolutely delighted about the taste of food, I can say that everything I tried(including my 3friends dishes) was delicious. Except the desserts though- unfortunately, they were miserable!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ingutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic reasonable food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Welcoming owner, delicious dishes at reasonable prices - all beautifully presented. Visited twice in our week in Sagres.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SEL808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal is Sagres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We found A Grelha just ouside of our hotel Memmo Baleria.
For an appetizer we ordered the avocado and shrimp. We accidentally ordered garlic bread instead of a regular bread basket to go with our stew, but it was tasty so it all worked out. For pur main we ordered the Fish rice (arroz de marisco). It was delicious and was a bargain at 22 euros for 2 people. It came with a lobster, squid, mussels, clams, plentiful shimps and oysters. The service was great. We were very happy with the choice we made and would return again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cubafan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

There were not many tourists when we were in Sagres but I think most of the dined in this restaurant! It seemed to be frequented by tourists and locals which is a good recomendation for any restaurant. It produces very good quality local food at a reasonable price. The owner is very pleasent and helpfull and we had our nicest meal in Sagres at a fraction of the price of nearby expensive establishments.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skeagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Grelha also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Grelha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing