We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chill out and surf ambient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chill out and surf ambient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I surely advice to everyone this location for your holidays! Awesome staff, awesome roomates, awesome beachs and awesome waves. I'll be back soon there. Happy breakfasts where you can eat all good foods. But the cool thing is the cake at 6pm, when you return from the beach after a long surf session that gorgeous cake is the most beautiful thing of the day :))

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Located in a residential area, so pretty quiet - not touristic. Yet there are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Beds/mattresses are ok-ish. A cleaner's coming in every day. They offer an extensive breakfast from 9-10 am and you can prepare a sandwich for the beach if you've booked surf lessons with them. We enjoyed delicious cake almost every day (yummy!) and you can join special dinner/BBQ nights for a small supplement charge if you like. Only recommendation: keep your towels in your room, otherwise you may have to start a search operation.

Room Tip: The rooms are allocated by the host and I believe are pretty much the same throughout. But I guess y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maika_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had an amazing stay here! the weather was great all week, it was really easy to get around, and the surf was pretty consistent. The hostel has great facilities and an awesomely chilled atmosphere. All the people that work there are lovely and really helpful; the delicious and varied breakfast every morning and packed sandwiches they allow you to take every day mean you can get by spending vary little extra on food. overall it was a pleasure to stay here, its a great place to meet new people, surf ,and relax and i recommend it to everyone! x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My fantastic experience (on the five day lessons package) started the day before I left-the brilliant Penny sent me a message to see if I needed a Lagos-Sagres transfer (which I did, but at that stage I hadn't really thought past arriving in Faro), so she helpfully suggested the train I should catch, and organised a pick up. Similarly on my departure Linda was there to manage my transport too!
The team of Penny, Linda and Rick (along with the resident instructors) made for a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, and put everyone at ease. Of course, the almost daily baking and delicious breakfast helped.
I arrived tired and a little apprehensive of what lay ahead at the beach, but once we got going all was forgotten (cheers to Sarah, Sam and Justin for your patience and enthusiasm) and by the end of the week of lessons and sunshine I felt fantastic, and am already thinking about my next trip.
The teams enthusiasm for surfing, meeting new people and good music was great, and seemed to attract travelers with similar attitudes from all parts of the world. As a group of friends or (in my case a solo traveler) I really recommend it. A big thanks to everyone!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had an amazing time at this hostel! instantly felt at home, breakfast was the best i have had at a hostel and home made cookies were a nice touch. The beds were very comfortable, the staff were friendly and the atmosphere allowed for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

It`s a great place to stay, It`s clean, nice and comfortable. I`ve been living here for a mounth and like it a lot. Personnel is a really great guys, friendly, helpful and funny. So great to see them every morning on breakfast (wich by the way a delicious) or on surf lessons.
You can be sure that you`ll spend your vacation safely and without any problems ih here. And there is a loooot of fresh cookies ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsyaErshova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

After joining the fun and summer craze of wonderful Lagos, we decided to end our trip in Portugal with a more low key relaxing place in Sagres for some surfing and could have NOT been any happier with our choice. What a wonderful place this hostel is, because it is not a hostel, it is a home, it is like visiting friends. Peggy, Linda and Rick go above and beyond to make you feel part of their surf family. The place is a South European style villa house, rooms and common bathrooms, kitchen etc. are clean and well kept. We loved the common outdoor backyard with big tables, BBQ stations, dart and fussball table. They organize group dinners, so everyone in the hostel gets to know each other and become friends easily. Breakfast is great as well and you can make yourself lunch sandwiches for the beach. The Surf Camp is about 20minutes away and the beach is wonderful there. The surf instructors are fantastic and have a great way of teaching, even that we had taken lessons in Costa Rica or Long Beach before, we had learned so much more little details and tips in these couple of days to improve skills. They really are exceptional surf instructors. Our favorite was Cam, really great guy, but all the instructors are very knowledgable, patient and calm and super friendly. We were so relaxed there and realized at times that in our lunch breaks we just sat and said nothing, just taking in the scenery and calmness and joy, realizing how high wired we usually are in our regular life in the middle of busy NYC. We also ventured out to bars and restaurants in town (10min walk) and everyone in Sagres is very friendly and helpful. A wonderful experience and we definitely wanna come back. One of our best times ever traveling. Thank you to everyone of the Algarve Surf Hostel and Surf Camp. You really rocked our world!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Casa Azul Sagres - Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Property: Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing