We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best surf school in Portugal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had something like six friends recommend this place to me as the best place to go surfing with in Porgual.. So when I arrived, I obviously had some expectations to manage. The good news is that I could never have expected it to be as good as it actually turned out to be. The great news is that staying here was the highlight of my trip. Walking into this beautiful, homely house you immediately feel like you've just arrived at your old shared friends house for a week of catching up and surfing rather than a hostel you've never set foot in. Everyone that stays here is warm and friendly, the beers are cheap, the fresh cookies delicious! The communal cook ups and bbq's in the evenings set the vibe and the regular bar trips, restaurant ventures and beach parties kick it along nicely. Oh, and the surf is perfect for learning through to mastering out the back whilst the instructors actually pick up on your individual strengths and weaknesses and take you in great bounds to being a better surfer.

Couldn't recommend this place more.. just book it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

I haved stayed in this hostel every summer for a few years - it is awesome! Great atmosphere, lovely hostel and amazing food! The staff were great, especially when we got a puncture in our rental car, they phoned the mechanic for us and helped get it sorted. I will be back next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Easily one of the best hostels in Portugal with super friendly staff who are willing to help out with advice and of course the surfing opportunities. We didn't do surfing but from what I saw it was a well run and fun experience. The best breakfast I have ever had a hostel and the ability to make a sandwich etc for lunch was a great thing. Lockers available and safe place in general.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a really brilliant hostel for those wanting to visit the rugged, windswept and surfy southwestern corner of Portugal. Really welcoming, very lovely and friendly staff running a tight ship, big breakfasts every morning and loads of baked goods! Whether you're planning to surf or not, the atmosphere at this hostel will truly add to your trip. Thanks for a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Algarve Surf Hostel for 10 days in June and had a great time. I was travelling alone and was made to feel really welcome by Peggy, Rick and Linda who run the hostel. From the moment I arrived they could not do enough to help. The atmosphere in the hostel was very friendly, and I quickly got to know other guests through various events organised by the hosts, including dinner cooked in the hostel, meals out at local restaurants and live music nights a bar in Sagres.

The rooms in the hostel were very comfortable and spacious, and did not feel overcrowded (despite staying in a 6 bed dorm). The living room was relaxing and had Playstation and DVDs to watch after a hard days surfing. The kitchen was well equipped and the outside space was a lovely place to sit and eat. The hosts provided great breakfasts and an opportunity to make sandwiches for a packed lunch in the morning.

I had surf lessons every day (possibly too much - I was shattered!) and the quality of the lessons was excellent. I went from being a beginner to riding green waves by the end of the holiday. The instructors were very encouraging and really good at explaining technique. Lessons were well structured with different groups based on ability, focused warm ups and stretching, and specific exercises to improve technique. The staff at the beach hut were also very friendly and Amado beach is lovely.

I loved staying at the surf camp so much that I came back for two extra days with my boyfriend. I'd recommend both the hostel and the surf lessons to anyone. I will be back as soon as I can get more time off work! I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cem08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lots of great beaches, restaurants and bars are nearby. Group meals were delicious and excellent value for money. Would certainly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for a week here and it really was great. Peggy was extremely helpful at offering suggestions for where to go or where to eat and she baked something delicious every day. The whole thing was brilliant - I would recommend this hostel for young people looking for a chilled out holiday. Hiring a car was useful as there are lots of nice beaches and towns just outside Sagres.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
5.5 mi away
Good Feeling Hostel
Good Feeling Hostel
#1 of 20 in Sagres
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range: $31 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing