We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically relaxing surfing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A group of 20 of us stayed here for three nights and we had a wonderful time. There was plenty of space for everybody, Peggy made a new cake every day, getting to and from the beach where the actual surfing was taking place was easy, and the people running the camp were so nice. Was definitely tempted to "miss my flight" and stay. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 169 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staff was very welcoming here, they pick you up at the bus terminal at the tourist point in Sagres. They almost bake you a welcoming treat when you come back from surfing every day, which is nice. The building is quite a bit older then the camp in Lagos, the big dorm upstairs is too cramped to my liking, you hardly have a square meter of breathing space, but all the other rooms seem fine. Showers were nice and warm, they have a cousy common room with PS3 and flatscreen. Good kitchen and some tables and BBQ outside. Biggest downside I could find were the beds, the bunk ones are quite shaky, if the one underneath you moves, you move along, but the mattresses really need to be replaced guys, you can feel the springs! The building is a bit older and less clean then the Lagos one, but therefore it has a lot of character, and I heard and sensed that a lot of people still prefer it. There's beaches on walking distance to surf. And the bar strip(the only 5 bars in town, but really nice ones) are just a 5 min walk away, supermarket as well.
All in all I had a very good time there. Right next to the hostel lies this abandoned hotel which you can enter freely, kinda spooky, but a nice tip if you're there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hostel is very nice, clean, with many bathrooms. I loved breakfasts with delicious banana pancakes or cakes made by Peggy, who runs the house. Sometimes there are also dinners or barbecues, and I really liked that all meals are served outdoors.
Surf leasons on the beautiful Amado beach are fun, instructors are very good and make sure that you not only learn to surf, but also have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Dziubecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Amazing surfcamp! Sagres is a very nice little town to stay in. A small beach, original restaurants with cheap and nice food and a little partystreet.
The surfcamp is clean and personal. Especially the staff is very nice. They are relaxed and friendly and make an amazing breakfast and barbecue. The surf lessons are definitely the best I had.
Go!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank sassesassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place is lovely.
All the staff are friendly and professional, Caroline and Peggy cooking delicious cookies, pancake..
The rooms and bathrooms are clean.
I had to stay three days but the place is so good that I stopped for a week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeje72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

2 friends and me spent 4 days there and we had an amazing time. Caroline and Peggy were awesome, amazing cook and lovely girls. House is big, clean, peaceful. We had a wonderful time there, a perfect mix of sport (surfing lessons) relax and chill out. All the staff were great and we had an amazing experience also thanks to the very professional surf teachers. Hope to come back soon!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank FrancescaFranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amazing hostel! Very cosy and chill and the best of course the most lovely girls Peggy and Caroline always surprising one with the most delicious pancakes cakes cookies and a warm smile :)
Stayed there for 10 days and would not like to miss one! Great atmosphere when the right people are there it can be like a little family ;)
Best combination with surfing - the beach is absolutely beautiful not to overrun and very good instructors who try to truly teach u good basics!
Will try to come back as soon as possible!
Much love and joy <3

Room Tip: Take one with ur own huge bathroom with balcony ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range: $22 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing