We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for surfing holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hostel is very nice, clean, with many bathrooms. I loved breakfasts with delicious banana pancakes or cakes made by Peggy, who runs the house. Sometimes there are also dinners or barbecues, and I really liked that all meals are served outdoors.
Surf leasons on the beautiful Amado beach are fun, instructors are very good and make sure that you not only learn to surf, but also have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Dziubecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Amazing surfcamp! Sagres is a very nice little town to stay in. A small beach, original restaurants with cheap and nice food and a little partystreet.
The surfcamp is clean and personal. Especially the staff is very nice. They are relaxed and friendly and make an amazing breakfast and barbecue. The surf lessons are definitely the best I had.
Go!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank sassesassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place is lovely.
All the staff are friendly and professional, Caroline and Peggy cooking delicious cookies, pancake..
The rooms and bathrooms are clean.
I had to stay three days but the place is so good that I stopped for a week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeje72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

2 friends and me spent 4 days there and we had an amazing time. Caroline and Peggy were awesome, amazing cook and lovely girls. House is big, clean, peaceful. We had a wonderful time there, a perfect mix of sport (surfing lessons) relax and chill out. All the staff were great and we had an amazing experience also thanks to the very professional surf teachers. Hope to come back soon!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank FrancescaFranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amazing hostel! Very cosy and chill and the best of course the most lovely girls Peggy and Caroline always surprising one with the most delicious pancakes cakes cookies and a warm smile :)
Stayed there for 10 days and would not like to miss one! Great atmosphere when the right people are there it can be like a little family ;)
Best combination with surfing - the beach is absolutely beautiful not to overrun and very good instructors who try to truly teach u good basics!
Will try to come back as soon as possible!
Much love and joy <3

Room Tip: Take one with ur own huge bathroom with balcony ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

After three weeks of traveling around Europe, a friend and myself found a home away from home in the Algarve Surf Hostel. If you're looking for a perfect balance of relaxing, activities (surfing to beaching to kayaking to hiking), and social (making friends and hitting the night life) then this is the spot! We originally booked the hostel for 2 nights but ended up extending our trip three more times making our stay We are currently chatting with one of the girls who works here and asking if we can come back and work next year! We don't want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Awesome, awesome place to stay. Felt very welcome, everyone was so nice and cheerful and friendly. Smallish hostel so everyone went out to town together, such a great atmosphere. Great breakfast in the morning, great rooms, no complaints whatsoever! No rules either which suited everyone just fine. Great experience going to the surf school they provide. Honestly cannot put into words how great this place is.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaRiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range: $22 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing