We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“pure fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sagres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pure fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

2 friends and me spent 4 days there and we had an amazing time. Caroline and Peggy were awesome, amazing cook and lovely girls. House is big, clean, peaceful. We had a wonderful time there, a perfect mix of sport (surfing lessons) relax and chill out. All the staff were great and we had an amazing experience also thanks to the very professional surf teachers. Hope to come back soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaFranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amazing hostel! Very cosy and chill and the best of course the most lovely girls Peggy and Caroline always surprising one with the most delicious pancakes cakes cookies and a warm smile :)
Stayed there for 10 days and would not like to miss one! Great atmosphere when the right people are there it can be like a little family ;)
Best combination with surfing - the beach is absolutely beautiful not to overrun and very good instructors who try to truly teach u good basics!
Will try to come back as soon as possible!
Much love and joy <3

Room Tip: Take one with ur own huge bathroom with balcony ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

After three weeks of traveling around Europe, a friend and myself found a home away from home in the Algarve Surf Hostel. If you're looking for a perfect balance of relaxing, activities (surfing to beaching to kayaking to hiking), and social (making friends and hitting the night life) then this is the spot! We originally booked the hostel for 2 nights but ended up extending our trip three more times making our stay We are currently chatting with one of the girls who works here and asking if we can come back and work next year! We don't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Awesome, awesome place to stay. Felt very welcome, everyone was so nice and cheerful and friendly. Smallish hostel so everyone went out to town together, such a great atmosphere. Great breakfast in the morning, great rooms, no complaints whatsoever! No rules either which suited everyone just fine. Great experience going to the surf school they provide. Honestly cannot put into words how great this place is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

For 10 days I stayed at the Sagres Algarve Surfcamp and I felt so at home! Every morning there's a really nice breakfast waiting for you and after that you head to Amado beach, an absolutely beautiful place to surf. When you come back from the surfing, you can chill at some nice spots at the hostel and have diner with everybody there or out in Sagres. I recommend to enjoy the cookingskills of Peggy and Caroline, they cook and bake like the best!
The hostel itself is cosy and has enough space for everyone. The beds are fine and every room has a balcony, so that's cool.

All I can say is that I really want to go back next year:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vdLinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Really special place!
the best ever during the trip is when you feel's like at home!No one never was't so attentive to me, as here!so bright,comfortably and hospitable house with awesome Peggy and Wendy,who will take care about you from dusk till dawn.
For a breakfast you are waited by the most tasty pie the girls made.So you would think twice was you grandma so cool in cooking)
And during the day the most brave instructors ever will show you what is the real surf)

I definitely love this place! and I was here twice,and if only I could I would stay here forever.
So you should see this by your own eyes)

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank hellofromocen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a really great week here! I hadn't ever surfed before but everyone was really encouraging and helpful and we had a lot of fun. The hostel was great value for money, all the staff were friendly and we found that sagres itself was really cheap with some very nice beaches and the hostel is within walking distance to beaches, bars and restaurants so plenty to do in the evening or if you didn't fancy surfing! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wanted to go surfing or just have a chilled out holiday in the Algarve!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hakavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
1.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel Sagres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Property: Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing