We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed but a lot of fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed but a lot of fun!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a really great week here! I hadn't ever surfed before but everyone was really encouraging and helpful and we had a lot of fun. The hostel was great value for money, all the staff were friendly and we found that sagres itself was really cheap with some very nice beaches and the hostel is within walking distance to beaches, bars and restaurants so plenty to do in the evening or if you didn't fancy surfing! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wanted to go surfing or just have a chilled out holiday in the Algarve!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hakavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have never surfed before and stayed for one week at this camp on the full surf camp package, my only regret was not staying for two weeks!

The staff running the hostel were fantastic. They created an incredibly relaxed and friendly atmosphere whilst still being remarkably organized and efficient. The same could be said for the surf instructors who were very friendly, as well as professional.

I thought that for accommodation, breakfast and lunch, wetsuit and board hire, lessons, and beach transfers this was very good value for money. The hostel itself was clean and very quirky, the breakfasts were great (freshly baked caked every morning), and some evenings the young ladies in charge would also cook a meal which was €10 if you fancied joining in - which I would highly recommend as they were both very talented in the kitchen!

This hostel is in the small village of Sagres which has a very chilled out vibe, there are few nice bars around but for those seeking more of a 'party scene' the Lagos camp might be a better alternative. If you don't want your nightlife getting in the way of your surfing, and for a more intimate and relaxed experience, it seemed like the Sagres camp was the place to be.

Overall: excellent hostel, excellent staff, and excellent surfing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great value for money, lovely atmosphere, and the people are great. Definatly recommend the place for a chilled out, sociable time. I just stayed for the bed and breakfast rather than the surf camp package, and would recommend that if you do this car hire is a great shout for freedom and ease to get to the surrounding breaks. The place has everything you need for a good price, we booked in for three nights, ended up staying 10- says it all!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had such an amazing time staying at Algarve Surf camp.. such a lovely relaxing time, really nice place to stay with lovely people. I had the full surf camp package with lessons as well which were really good.
Felt very looked after!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had never surfed before i got here, and the instructors were amazing! So patient and passionate about surfing and always looking to help you better your surfing whatever level you are at. The camp was incredible, freshly made cake every morning, bbqs, everyone getting involved and very social. What made it for me though was the people. The staff are so friendly, all really young and just all lovely. All the visitors at the camp were all nice and really friendly. All in all made some good friends here. I've been here 2 weeks and I don't want to go home! My brother hasn't left yet and already booked to come back. I'm also planning on returning at the end of summer. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

It was my first camp, not really sure to expect once there. I found a very tidy and friendly managed place. They even called me in the morning to check what time I was getting in in case I needed a lift or if they could offer any help. Apart from learning on how to surf the experience is really great, there is general feeling of relax around the house and it really helps detaching and giving you a good holiday experience. The staff is friendly, instructors are well prepared and always keen on lending a helping hand. In short i told many friends how good it it and comes a chance I may go back there in September.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nestled behind a delapidated hotel you will find the relaxed, cosy and super friendly Algarve surf hostel. Making you feel at home from the moment you arrive, the hostel, complete with barbeque area, living room with wide screen TV, newly renovated kitchen, has everything you need whether you plan to relax on the gorgeous local beaches or arise up at the crack of dawn in search of the perfect wave. The team were amazingly friendly and helpful and provided everything from surf advice to freshly baked cookies after a day at the beach. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
15.3 mi away
Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
0.7 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostel Sagres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Property: Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing