We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Authentic Portugese”
Review of Restaurante Carlos

Restaurante Carlos
Ranked #12 of 71 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Authentic Portugese”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved it! Like home cooking.. you must try it. We had the specials and they were both incredible. Fresh seafood, tender lamb and cold beers. What more can you ask for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    233
    81
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Treated us like family”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely restaurant, very close to our hotel. Carlos has been in the family since grandma - and her recipes are still being served. Make sure you try the fish special - I am still trying to figure out how to duplicate it - we had it twice while we were in Sagres and it was fabulous. Carlos was very kind to us and made great recommendations for food and wine - all local wines and really fine - don't forget to try the port. Also, try the barnacles - yes barnacles - be brave they taste a lot better than they look - as Carlos said, "they taste like the sea". Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great family run resturant”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good food nice people varied menu good wine excellent value for money their specials were delicious everything about the resturant was lovely

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter2Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous family restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in Sagres for a one week family holiday last week and ate at Carlo's 3 times! The menu has lots of great fish, we tried seabass, salt cod, sardines, swordfish, tuna steak and our toddler loved the hake fillets! We have one non-fish eater in our family and there was plenty choice of meat dishes, the pork steaks were particularly good. Portion sizes were big! This is a family run restaurant and the owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. There is a large terrace at the front of the restaurant that has sunshine in the daytime with lots of parasols if you want them (and it is sheltered from the wind!). It's hard to find anything negative to comment on, one basket of bread that was not very fresh is the worst thing I can think of! Great choice, would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Ah, the fresh seafood!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

In our three nights staying at the Pousada in Sagres, we ate at Restaurante Carlos twice. The restaurant is a short walk from the Pousada.

This is about as good as simple, fresh seafood can get. Both times my wife and I had the seafood for two - a sampler of five different fish baked with olive oil, parsley, bay leaves and tons of garlic. I would guess it is cooked at inferno temps judging from the crispness of the parsley and garlic. The result was thoroughly cooked, wonderfully moist fish. It is served with potatoes and a veggie, which were fine. The star is the fish. Good house wine.

This is a second generation family affair. The waitstaff is very friendly, courteous, and spoke quite good English. Carlos, Jr., the manager takes his restaurant and its customers very seriously. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niwotois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carlos also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing