We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice local athmosphere”
Review of Restaurante Carlos

Restaurante Carlos
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, nice local athmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is CARLOS on the main road (LHS) in town centre going towards the Port yes? We ate here several times. Good Portugese food (lots of fish!) of all types including hamburger for 3yr old. We had the Pork and clams Cataplana for 2 which was very good and typical. Another time we had the mixed fish cooked in the oven. Good value. Both evenings it was full with many locals... a nice athmosphere. Enthusiastic friendly staff... a family place. We were here Dec 23 -Jan 1 when a quiet town. Might be different in August.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    227
    79
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very authentic.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If this is 'Carlos' on the main road then we can recommend it highly. Busy even in low season with lots of locals. Good food and excellent athmosphere. Cant go wrong.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Local food. Very good experience.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to Carlos Restaurant on jan 2nd, so many options were not available, since the previous day had been a holiday and, obviously, the fishermen did not work, so the waiter explained to us that there weren't any fresh fish. At a first glance, it sounds really disappointing. On the other hand, it shows that the restaurant works with exceptionally fresh food, which is a good sign of a place that worries about it.
We were a party of 3 and had the Octopus rice and the Feijoada of chocos. Both were really good, tasty and different. Appetizers + main dish + dessert resulted a total of 65€.
As dessert, the "Delicia algarvia" was extremely different, with a local plant called "alfarroba". Not too sweet, a little bit bitter. Worth trying.
It was a really good dinner and we would go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank united90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place by the sea, with great fish”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food: Very Good;
Service: Good;
Location: Great. On top of a sand dune, on the Salgados beach. Just by the sea;
The journey: you can enjoy the nice Salgados beach, have lunch at Carlos, and take you time to watch Flamingos and thousands of other birds at the Salgados Lagoon. Take photos, but don't step outside the authorized tracks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mendesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious portugese cousine!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wisiting this restaurant due to recomendation from our hotel. In one week we tried few times and all experience with restaurant was excellent!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carlos also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing