We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food. Very good experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurante Carlos

Restaurante Carlos
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $0 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Local food. Very good experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to Carlos Restaurant on jan 2nd, so many options were not available, since the previous day had been a holiday and, obviously, the fishermen did not work, so the waiter explained to us that there weren't any fresh fish. At a first glance, it sounds really disappointing. On the other hand, it shows that the restaurant works with exceptionally fresh food, which is a good sign of a place that worries about it.
We were a party of 3 and had the Octopus rice and the Feijoada of chocos. Both were really good, tasty and different. Appetizers + main dish + dessert resulted a total of 65€.
As dessert, the "Delicia algarvia" was extremely different, with a local plant called "alfarroba". Not too sweet, a little bit bitter. Worth trying.
It was a really good dinner and we would go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank united90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    219
    70
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place by the sea, with great fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food: Very Good;
Service: Good;
Location: Great. On top of a sand dune, on the Salgados beach. Just by the sea;
The journey: you can enjoy the nice Salgados beach, have lunch at Carlos, and take you time to watch Flamingos and thousands of other birds at the Salgados Lagoon. Take photos, but don't step outside the authorized tracks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mendesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious portugese cousine!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wisiting this restaurant due to recomendation from our hotel. In one week we tried few times and all experience with restaurant was excellent!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but still a tourist place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food was good although bit pricier compared to other places.. lots of tourist but what other customer should you expect. they know how to serve the needs of the tourists..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FP_MDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent enough food, but terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We couldn't believe the service could be this bad, so we tried the restaurant again as the food had been very good on our first visit. If anything, the service was worse the second time, and on this occasion, the food was only average.

We were close to walking out before our food came. The waiter brought us a wine list, which we had to ask for, and then studiously avoided coming to our table to see which wine we wanted.

We also had long waits for our bill. Not a good experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carlos also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing