We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and friendly. We were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

We were in Apartment 121. We were given a very thorough tour of the two bedroomed ground floor apartment we had booked last minute for 6 nights. It comprised a spacious living/dining/kitchen, a large bathroom, two bedrooms one with a queen size bed and one with twin beds. The queen size room had an en suite bathroom. There was a double sofa bed in the living room which we did not use.

Manuel showed us how to use the remote control for the air conditioning in the bedrooms and the living room and gave us instructions on the use of the extensive range of equipment in the apartment kitchen. This included a ceramic hob, dishwasher, fridge freezer, and washing machine. Everything worked. The kettle had to be turned on and off by pulling out the plug - no on-off switch - which we were assured is normal in Portugal.

All the furniture looked new. There were flat screen TVs in the living room and bedrooms. Multiple channels including BBC News. Free wi fi too. Wi fi reception not perfect in our apartment but fine outside. Staff said that 121 is the worst for wi fi in the complex. Plentiful cupboard and wardrobe space. There was a small private area with table and chairs for eating outside, but the view was only of a hedge. First floor apartments, which are single bedroom ones, have their own balconies. The beds are hard - common in Potugal I think - but I was told mattress toppers were available on request.

The main bathroom was intended to be accessible by disabled people with a sliding door and an emergency pull cord. It had a shower over the bath though. I'm not sure how accessible some disabled people would find that. Neither bathroom had any active ventilation or windows so there was a lot of condensation. Nice shower in the en suite though.

For me one brilliant feature is the way in which the apartments were thoroughly cleaned and tidied each day. They really are kept spotless and the cleaners were lovely. Fresh towels were provided as required and pool towels supplied free of charge. The pool and garden area are really clean and well looked after.

There is underground parking charged at 3 Euros a day, but there is also plentiful free parking just outside the complex which we used with no problems.

Reception is staffed 24 hours a day apparently. There was always someone there to greet us at any time we arrived.

The apartment was really spacious and cool. The tiled floors mean that there is some noise from the apartments above you, and maybe this could be an issue if the occupants were particularly noisy. They weren't when we were there.

When we first arrived I found the surrounding area a bit daunting. There is an abandoned hostel nearby that looks decrepit and much of the land around the apartments looks like it was ready for development that hasn't happened. Maybe due to the recession? Sagres itself has at least one great beach - Beliche - and is near to lots of surfing beaches. The town beach is 15 minutes walk away and has a beach bar. Lovely clean beaches and sea. Some concern about the water quality next to the fishing port - but I can't imagine anyone wanting to swim there anyway. There are also some world class beaches nearby - if you are prepared to walk a while from the car. There was also one lovely restaurant we went to - "Mum's". I'll review that too. Good Intermarche supermarket 2 minutes in the car. Other facilities nearby. But much of the town looks like it needs an injection of capital and a make over. It's much less developed than many other parts of the Algarve and I wouldn't want to change that. But a coat of paint, some tidying of the waste land, and some litter / dog mess clearing would be my priorities for the town. Don't let that put you off visiting though - we went briefly to Alvor along the coast - and the very developed areas - and I was so glad we were staying in Sagres!

The weather was cloudy for several days. We found that we could get into the sunshine by driving only 15 minutes or so east. I suspect that being right on the south western tip of Europe, Sagres may experience more wind etc than most of the Algarve. A car is essential here.

In summary - great apartment and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 121 - the first one after Reception. I think I would try to get an apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Yorkshire_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Manager at Sagres Time Apartamentos, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear David_Yorkshire_9,

We appreciate your extensive comments very much, it is actually so detailed and covers so many keen aspects it could actually be part of site´s Home Page.

As always we are proud to see our staff: reception, cleaning and maintenance are one of the most valuable features of our young hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon and we will take careful note of your preferences for next Time.

With my Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    104
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
286
255
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sagres Time is a very enjoyable place to stay. The apartment was kept spotless and very roomy. The pool area was also spotless and very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and were always willing to help in everyway they could. They gave us information of places to eat, booked boat trip and surfing for us. I would highly recommend it. The pool area was very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Absolutely spotless apartments, clean pool, very good service at the counter. nothing to complain about really. The only thing that they might want to add on is some sort of surf school access directly from the hotel. Our kids enjoyed it, we enjoyed it .. fabulous indeed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel201353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sagres Time is a really great place to stay for a relaxing holiday for all ages. Thoroughly enjoyed my one week stay. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well equipped for self-catering. The staff go out of their way to make their guests welcome. I was given some locally baked pastry cakes for my birthday by a member of staff on reception, which was a lovely surprise. Thank you!

I would strongly recommend these apartments. We didn't have a car to explore the Algarve area, so it might be worth considering when staying there to see more tourist attractions.

The local café & bars serve reasonably priced food and are friendly to tourists.If you want a restaurant meal they are within easy walking distance too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cshore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very clean and well equipped apartments with big balconies. The staff were friendly and professional, they helped us with everything we needed. We travelled a big group of 31 people and Sagres Time with its big courtyard and child friendly swimming pool were the perfect place for us!
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fjellstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our third time at Sagres Time. We love it. Still the best choice for families.
We have two small kids so we took the two room apartment.
Friendly staff and clean rooms. Daily cleaning
There's a great pool as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The reception staff at Sagres Time apartments were very friendly and helpful.
We booked a 1 bedroom apartment but were very fortunate that on our arrival we were upgraded to a two bedroom two bathroom apartment.
The apartment was everythjing you could wish for, fully loaded kitchen with washing machine, dishwashe,r oven, hob, toaster, kettle and all crockery and cutlery. We didnt cook but could easily have done so. The loacl supermatrket (alisuper) has everything you need. We ate at GiGis which gives 10% discount to sagres apartmnts residents and we had a very very good meal at a restuarant on the beach in sagres whcih is down steps to the left of the town square. Sorry cant remember the name but starts with R!
We hired a car ( travelrent) from Faro airport , the car came with a transponder for which we paid 20 euros and this enabled us to use the toll road A22. We had no problem driving in portugal and made trips to Lagos and Silves and many of the local beached in Sagres. You need a car, as public transport is a bit sketchy
My daughters hired bikes from the hotel for 10 euros (24 hours) and this enabled them to go and investigate the various local attractions . We visited the fort in Sagres and the very clean and secluded beaches.
My only reservation about sagres is the wind. IT IS VERY WINDY however the beaches are fine because they are proctected from the wind by the headland and bays and coves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
12.9 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagres Time Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagres Time Apartamentos

Property: Sagres Time Apartamentos
Address: Rua De Taipa, Sagres 8650, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagres Time Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 and 2 bedroom apartments opened July 2011. Our apartments range from 57 to 88 square meters. One bathroom per bedroom, bathrooms completely furnished by Porcelanosa. All our apartments with sofa bed good for 2 more people.Our kitchens don´t miss a detail:Refigerator, freezer, washing and drying machine, oven, microwave, water heater, toaster, 4 ring ceramic hob and all the household you´ll need.Salted water pool, 57 underground parking places, outside parking, 24 hour reception desk.No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagres Time Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing