We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Having had a recent poor experience with another Pousada, I was somewhat in trepidation about the Sagres Pousada. My fears were totally unfounded, as this proved a real quality experience. The staff (all of them) are kind, helpful and smile. The Pousada has a feeling of the quality of Pousadas of old, and yes, although the rooms are a bit dated, the location, demeanour of the staff and above all, the wonderful view from front facing rooms really make it.
We pushed the boat out for a suite (very reasonably priced) and were really pleased at the touches (flowers in the room, a bottle of sparkling wine in the ice bucket, some hand made chocolates). The hotel is a 10 minute stroll down to an unspoiled beach, and on the other side, the harbour. The hotel has sizeable grounds, a tennis court and a decent sized swimming pool.
Dinner in the restaurant was of exceptional quality, with attentive smiling staff, and great food. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fresh food, and unhurried even when we arrived just before official closing time.
This Pousada has held on to a bit of heritage and has not been drowned in the Americanised mediocrity which most chains impose. My faith has been restored!

Room Tip: Sea facing
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear"crawfie",

We are delighted to read your review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and that you have relish the commitment of our staff.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, food and service provided.

I have personally conveyed your feedback to the team and they are all very happy to know that they made your experience even more special. I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Sagres
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 721 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here two nights in one of their suites. Comfortable room, although not luxurious. The place could use a little renovation, but with the proximity of the ocean, maintenance becomes difficult. The views are totally amazing. You have wide views of the Atlantic ocean, and you can also see Cabo St Vicente and the Fortaleza de Sagres, both worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which consisted of a bedroom and a separate living room, separated by folding d...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear "Cachirulatravels",

We appreciate your honest feedback and wish to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are constantly working to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our customers so we really valuate your feedback because it will help us improve our service.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The Pousada is not in a classic historical building like most but is in a style that might be a little dated. The restaurant has beautiful portuguese azulejo tiles though.
The rooms are nicely decorated in a modern fashion, fairly large and usually come with balconies.
Great place for visiting the surrounding area, such as the fortaleza de sagres, cabo sao vicente and driving up the west coast. Quite a few beaches within short driving distance.
Breakfast buffet is delicious and offers a wide range of choices.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTravellingDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear "MyTravellingDiary ",

Thank you for visiting us anf for taking the time to post this review.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the Pousada . We will share your kind comments with our staff.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return to Pousada.

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived a day earlier the our reservations,(because of a flight problem). We were welcomed with no hassles. Our room was on the first floor and we had an incredable view of the ocean. Our room was comfortable and clean. We stayed for five nights, and had the included breakfast each morning, it was ok. The staff was great. We did some day trips while in Sagres otherwise one would have difficulty finding things to do just in Sagres.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildAsparagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear "WildAsparagus",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pousada de Sagres. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.


We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Beautiful setting,cannot be beter.pousada not old,built as a pousada in 1960.rooms old,needs some love.food at dinner was disappointing.breakfast was very average,all the fruit was old,past sell by date.probably the best place for Sagres anyway,as not much is available

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank johannesvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Mr. "Johannesvd",

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Pousada de Sagres.

Pousada de Sagres is a place where the comfort and satisfaction of our guests really matters, so I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations, as our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests. We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

In the buffet breakfast we always put fresh fruit however, I was concerned to read your remarks about the issue you mentioned, as the Pousada de Sagres, according to the majority of our guests, has got a very good breakfast options. Extensive training will be given to all our staff to avoid any operational difficulties in the future.
We are sure, that as a result of these actions, the Pousada de Sagres will emerge as a more reliable and even more customer responsive hotel henceforth.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing this matter with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 11 days in the Algarve, staying at pousadas. Our first was at Sagres for 3 nights. The site is lovely and the grounds beautifully kept. We were a bit late in arriving and the staff was quite anxious about our arrival. They were very helpful at taking our bags and explaining the facilities, etc. Our room was nicely appointed and had a nice balcony. The meals were delicious and the service was attentive. The breakfast was excellent and could be taken inside or out on the patio. Sagres is a nice location to use as a base to explore the western end of the Algarve. As with all the pousadas, a car is a necessary but driving was easy and when near, the directions to the pousada are well indicated. We would certainly use the pousada again and encourage our friends to do the same.
B & D J. Canada

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Doug J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor and for the five-star review of Pousada de Sagres.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your nice comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Best Regards,
Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a tough review to write. This is our 3rd Pousada in 11 days. While the location is beautiful, the grounds lovely, and the building impressive, this hotel is quite tired, bordering run down in some elements. The common room furniture and furniture in our room are all old and worn. Every location in the hotel smells *terribly* must, most of all our room.

The staff is professional and lovely, and they upgraded us to sea view. We are only here one night, so we will live with the smell so as not to lose the beautiful view. Our bathroom really shows signs of age with fixtures chipped and rusted, and the shower curtain really needs to be replaced.

The other two Pousadas, while much smaller and with a less impressive view, were far better maintained. We are glad we're only here for one night, also in part due to the relentless wind that makes us not want to even go outdoors.

Room Tip: Sea view or don't bother.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaxNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada Sagres, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Jax NJ,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,466 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
7.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $88 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Prestigia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing