We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tough review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very tough review”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a tough review to write. This is our 3rd Pousada in 11 days. While the location is beautiful, the grounds lovely, and the building impressive, this hotel is quite tired, bordering run down in some elements. The common room furniture and furniture in our room are all old and worn. Every location in the hotel smells *terribly* must, most of all our room.

The staff is professional and lovely, and they upgraded us to sea view. We are only here one night, so we will live with the smell so as not to lose the beautiful view. Our bathroom really shows signs of age with fixtures chipped and rusted, and the shower curtain really needs to be replaced.

The other two Pousadas, while much smaller and with a less impressive view, were far better maintained. We are glad we're only here for one night, also in part due to the relentless wind that makes us not want to even go outdoors.

Room Tip: Sea view or don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Jax NJ,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    263
    86
    24
    11
See reviews for
130
444
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here whilst on our fortnight holiday driving Portugal with another couple. We chose to stay at Pousada de Sagres, Infante as its location appealed to the "surfer" of the group. Unfortunately not enough surf for him to rent a board this time.

Our welcome was very professional; we were taken up to our rooms personally - tastefully furnished with a large balcony and a view overlooking the pool and out to the ocean - just stunning!

The bathroom was large, clean and the towels fluffy and white. Pool towels were available from reception.

We ate a late lunch of grilled squid, garlic prawns and goats cheese in pastry accompanied by a bottle of rosé and sitting in the sun - just perfect.

Breakfast each day was plentiful with ample choice of everything. My friend and I had a lovely spa treatment - very soothing and relaxing.

The walk down to the bay took a mere 10 minutes as it is did into the main area - recommend a walk out to the castle, visible from the Pousada, cost approx. 3 euros to go in but it is an interesting walk around a large area with many fishermen appearing to risk their life and limbs standing on tiny rocks high above the sea casting their lines.

tip: when booking on the official pousada website if you are over a certain age (55yrs) then you can make a saving on the tariff - worth keeping in mind!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Mrs.Virginia M,

We are delighted to read your review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, rooms, food and service provided.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sagres.

Sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights end april 2014. We had a first floor room with seaview: large room, very clean, good bed. Perfect breakfast and very friendly staff! We stayed once for dinner: perfect service but average food. Perfect stay for nature lovers. We followed the cliff trail to cape st Vincent on a sunny spring morning: the absolute max

Room Tip: First floor sea view to the south. Prevailing wind is north, so you get a balcon on the lee side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Ludo 001,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the nice comments about the rooms, breakfast and staff.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you again for a unforgettable stay.

Kind Regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights - hotel was great - good sized rooms with good beds and clean bathroom

Good breakfast and we also had a very nice lunch on the day we arrived

Best was view from our balcony that over looked the pool to the sea.

Location was ok and we could easily walk to places of intetest and the local restaurants

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr. kiwi-Traveller-PS,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting this review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again in our Pousada.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Location - quite amazing as it is nearly on the most southern tip of Portugal. Quite easy to walk to restaurants, the main streets and the beach too. You can hire bikes, although be aware of some bumpy and hilly roads (...ouch).

Room - fantastic size and tastefully decorated (the one we got anyway). We also had an ocean view, which was a real treat!

Food - breakfast is buffet with enough choices to please most. Dinner is tasty and not overly expensive, especially if you take the set menu.

Service - OK. Staff are polite though doesn't go beyond what's necessary. What is disappointing is they have spa brochures everywhere but when I enquired, all they said was the therapist was on-call and on the day I enquired about, she would be elsewhere. No offer to contact her, etc.

The best part is the wonderful living room/bar with a real fire place, lots of comfy couches and bar service.

The part they can definitely improve is to work on having wifi in the rooms, and not just in the living room (also no wifi in the restaurant...).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Pousada de Sagres and for taking time to post your detailed feedback on Trip Advisor.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the rooms, food, bar service and the location. We will share your kind comments with our staff.

We apologize because we did not gave you a clear information, your feedback is valued and has been taken into serious consideration.

Regarding the WiFi connection we are already working to improve this service in all rooms and restaurant.

We are sorry for the inconveniences you have been through during your stay and we hope to welcome you again for you to enjoy the improvements.

Sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent location, to bad that the weather not not perfect. Staff was great, breakfast also good and the room size was fine. The room's view to is amazing, sea view is a must. Great place for summer holidays if you want to stay away from crowds.

Room Tip: Choose sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Rui R,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the staff, the room´s view and the breakfast. We will share your kind comments with the team.

Kind regards,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend had chosen this hotel at our own risk, but we were not disappointed. The hotel is very beautiful and amazingly located, just on the rock. Our room had a wonderful view on the ocean and the fortress. The hotel has several common living rooms with the real fireplace! Pleasant evenings with friends are guaranteed. Food is also good though a bit expensive.
The only drawback is that wifi works good only on those living rooms. We were told that wifi is not available in guest rooms, though it worked in our room. But who goes to such place for wifi?
It is possible to rent a bike and travel around. The beach is quite close to the hotel as well.
I would recommend the place to my friends. It is really good

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lastusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are constantly working to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our customers so we really valuate your feedback because it will help us improve our service.

we are all looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 9 in Sagres
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Property: Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing