We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When can we come again?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When can we come again?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a peaceful and picturesque location. The staff are attentive, efficient and friendly. It is tremendous value for money in the "Low Season". The rooms are perhaps a little dated but certainly better than adequate. The public rooms are spectacular. Breakfast is very good - typical Pousada standard - although it would have been nice to have some variety (we stayed for 8 nights and the buffet was basically the same every day). The restaurant was OK, especially the fixed menu that is good value. However, why eat in the hotel when there are so many other choices in Sagres, just a short walk away!?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    251
    78
    22
    11
See reviews for
123
414
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I traveled to the Algarve for the sole purpose of exploring possible options for my family's summer vacation. I used a local travel agency to suggest more traditional Portuguese accommodations. They recommended the Pousada as a great location for experiencing more traditional Portugal.

I arrived late in the evening on a cooler November night. The hotel was not very busy at this time. In many respects, it almost felt like I had the hotel to myself. The front desk staff were exceptional. I speak a little Portuguese and they were more than willing to allow me to practice my feeble language skills.

The restaurant located within the hotel was very traditional. It was exactly what I hoped it would be. I had calamari as an appetizer and a wonderful local fish dish.

Following dinner, I relaxed in the common area. Unlike many hotels that have a very small reception area, this hotel featured an expansive series of rooms each of which containing a television, couches, and various comfortable chairs to relax in.

The only drawback was that for some the rooms would seem a little small and dated. However, for me this was exactly what I was looking for. I didn't want to stay in a brand-new touristy modernized hotel.

Although it would probably not be the best location for a family vacation, as the facilities are not really designed for children, it would be perfect for anyone seeking an authentic Portuguese experience with their spouse.

The only other comment I would make is that the beaches on the west coast of Portugal are amazing and do not have near the crowds that you would see along the more touristy areas of the Algarve. It can get a little windy, however I come from probably one of the more windier areas of Canada and it was almost like being home again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice and clean hotel with good sized rooms but the real highlight is the view of the harbor and fort in Sagres. Nice pool and lounge/reading space with a friendly bartender. Good breakfast, with outdoor seating in the warm weather. The Staff is very friendly and there is easy parking. The restaurant is ok but there's better value nearby. Can be a little tricky to find by GPS. Good starting place for coastal cliff walks as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed in Segres at the start of our 2 week trip to Portugal. We first stayed at an aparthotel but had our eye on the Pousada the first time we saw it from the beach. It was more expensive, but well worth the treat. Breakfasts are amazing with fresh fruit, hot and cold buffet. fresh juice, wonderful coffee and baked goods. They also served sparkling wine to mix with the fresh orange juice, which was a treat. We used the pool, which was adequately warm for us canadians, and the tennis court. Lovely walk on along the top of the cliffs and to the marina. Convenient location close to lots of restaurants. Would highly recommend it, as well as all the pousadas.

Room Tip: We had the end/corner room with a 180 degree view of the ocean which was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few days as a last stop when we traveled for a few weeks in Portugal. We wished we had spent our entire stay here. This hotel is perfect for families with children and especially for surfing families with children who need the comfort and amenities of a hotel and the location near some of the world's most incredible beaches. Check out Praia do Amado for daily surfing and relaxing for all and Martinhal for lunch as well.

The vistas are incredible. There is a lovely pool and wonderful restaurants in Sagres that have incredible food untainted by the tourist traps you'll find in places like Lagos and Albufeira which have turned completely away from traditional fresh simple Portuguese food to more German and British influences. I'm Portuguese and grew up on the Albufeira coast when there were farms and almost no hotels and very little development. Sagres still maintains a lot of the simple beauty and a quick drive will take you to beautiful beaches if you ask the locals. Stick to the smaller family owned restaurants to truly appreciate the beauty of the people and cuisine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular. Ask for one with an ocean view of course - you are at the edge of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMLEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Certainly not a five star, you have to remove two stars. Then it becomes a three-star acceptable. Small self-service breakfast with (two) distracted waiters and much more intent on talking to each other than to treat clients, professional service to low-level (they did not even carry away the used plates, except on your specific request), you do not even get the teapot to the table, waiters going from table to table, as if if you were on the plane. Bathroom of the room obsolete. Hotel does not deserve to be among the Small Luxury Hotels.

Room Tip: at least book a room at a high level so to see the roof of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladygoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at this Pousada for one night on our roadtrip through Portugal, end of November. The hotel is located in an old convent on the cliffs of Sagres. The views are a-ma-zing! The staff was extremely friendly, and we received a free upgrade to a see-view room because there weren't many guests. The room was basic but clean, all the amenities were there. Breakfast buffet was great, we even had some bubbly wine. This is probably the best place to stay in Sagres.

Room Tip: Go for the seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
23.2 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Property: Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing