We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and nice staff”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice and clean hotel with good sized rooms but the real highlight is the view of the harbor and fort in Sagres. Nice pool and lounge/reading space with a friendly bartender. Good breakfast, with outdoor seating in the warm weather. The Staff is very friendly and there is easy parking. The restaurant is ok but there's better value nearby. Can be a little tricky to find by GPS. Good starting place for coastal cliff walks as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklynwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 729 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed in Segres at the start of our 2 week trip to Portugal. We first stayed at an aparthotel but had our eye on the Pousada the first time we saw it from the beach. It was more expensive, but well worth the treat. Breakfasts are amazing with fresh fruit, hot and cold buffet. fresh juice, wonderful coffee and baked goods. They also served sparkling wine to mix with the fresh orange juice, which was a treat. We used the pool, which was adequately warm for us canadians, and the tennis court. Lovely walk on along the top of the cliffs and to the marina. Convenient location close to lots of restaurants. Would highly recommend it, as well as all the pousadas.

Room Tip: We had the end/corner room with a 180 degree view of the ocean which was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few days as a last stop when we traveled for a few weeks in Portugal. We wished we had spent our entire stay here. This hotel is perfect for families with children and especially for surfing families with children who need the comfort and amenities of a hotel and the location near some of the world's most incredible beaches. Check out Praia do Amado for daily surfing and relaxing for all and Martinhal for lunch as well.

The vistas are incredible. There is a lovely pool and wonderful restaurants in Sagres that have incredible food untainted by the tourist traps you'll find in places like Lagos and Albufeira which have turned completely away from traditional fresh simple Portuguese food to more German and British influences. I'm Portuguese and grew up on the Albufeira coast when there were farms and almost no hotels and very little development. Sagres still maintains a lot of the simple beauty and a quick drive will take you to beautiful beaches if you ask the locals. Stick to the smaller family owned restaurants to truly appreciate the beauty of the people and cuisine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular. Ask for one with an ocean view of course - you are at the edge of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMLEYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Certainly not a five star, you have to remove two stars. Then it becomes a three-star acceptable. Small self-service breakfast with (two) distracted waiters and much more intent on talking to each other than to treat clients, professional service to low-level (they did not even carry away the used plates, except on your specific request), you do not even get the teapot to the table, waiters going from table to table, as if if you were on the plane. Bathroom of the room obsolete. Hotel does not deserve to be among the Small Luxury Hotels.

Room Tip: at least book a room at a high level so to see the roof of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladygoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at this Pousada for one night on our roadtrip through Portugal, end of November. The hotel is located in an old convent on the cliffs of Sagres. The views are a-ma-zing! The staff was extremely friendly, and we received a free upgrade to a see-view room because there weren't many guests. The room was basic but clean, all the amenities were there. Breakfast buffet was great, we even had some bubbly wine. This is probably the best place to stay in Sagres.

Room Tip: Go for the seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Lovely historic hotel with amazing views. Quiet. Great, attentive and helpful staff. Was so wonderful to us on our honeymoon. Rooms and bathrooms were larger than I expected. Walking distance to Sagres, easy drive to Fortress de Sages and Cape Sagres (which are both really cool and highly recommended!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmnash1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I researched many, many hotels in the town of Sagres and I was very happy with our choice of the Pousada de Sagres. The price was reasonable and included a great breakfast which you could eat outside on the terrace. The location with views of the sea from up on the cliff were stunning. You also could walk further along the cliff which allowed for a nice, easy hike. You were within walking distance to the beach, and restaurants was conveniently located. We enjoyed our balcony for drinking wine at sunset. The rooms were clean but definitely not fancy. The only downside was that the internet wasn't available in the rooms only in the lobby. We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been for more.

We also loved the town of Sagres. It was very laid back and beautiful. If you enjoy the outdoors and beautiful beaches then this is the town to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
7.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $84 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Cancelon, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing