We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here in December”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Stay here in December”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you enjoy staying in historical places, this will be right up your alley. The hotel is situated on top of the hill overlooking the bay. The view across the bay to the old fort is wonderful thing to wake up to in the morning. When we stayed there we were one of two couples staying in the whole hotel, so we had the complete place to ourselves. The hotel offered a plentiful breakfast. The only issue was the lack of wifi/internet service in the rooms and the halls/rooms were cold. They have not changed the room decor much from when it was a convent but it is charming. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Book in the off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    263
    87
    25
    11
See reviews for
130
447
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our visit was in January 2013 and we were lucky enough to be the only residents in the hotel for our one nights stay. The location is fabulous being at the furthermost tip of Europe with spectacular views of the cliffs and beaches of Sagres. The room was clean and comfortable and so quiet we had a really relaxing nights sleep. We had a superb dinner which we really could have shared because the portions were so large. At breakfast, the buffet was brought to our table and we had the choice of everything; fruit, every type of bread you could imagine, cakes, cooked meats, cheese, cereals and then were offered something cooked. It was quite an event eating in the large dining room by ourselves and we stayed a little while to make the most of it. The staff couldn't have been more helpfull and, it was definitely worth the journey to get there. During our stay we visited the attractions of the area and all in all, had a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west overlook the swimming pool, terrace and the westernmost point of Europe and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gatos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Following a lovely stay here in Spring 2012, we were delighted to be coming back to this beautiful, welcoming and spectacularly located Pousada. Again, our welcome was first class, with the friendly and efficient Reception and Restaurant staff doing their utmost to make you feel at home in the wonderful surroundings.

You could pay much, much more, and never get a view like this. Set on a promontory a couple of hundred yards or so from the little village of Sagres, this must be one of the world's greatest views. The end of the world as it was once known is so spectacular, and best viewed from your sea view bedroom in this lovely hotel.

The rooms are surprisingly light and modern, but spotlessly clean, and beautifully maintained by courteous and smiling housekeepers. Our suite was wonderful, but any of the rooms as long as they face the sea are just great. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are charming, friendly and always smiling. They take a pride in this lovely hotel, and it shows.

There are few nicer things to do in an evening than watch the spectacular sunsets over to the west, sipping cocktails with the sea rolling in before you. And even in bad weather, it is just as spectacular. The lounges are calm, comfortable and airy - just perfect to relax.

Breakfast is reliable, with a wide range of cold and some hot dishes. It is here you soon realise you are not the only returnees here - the pousada has, and deserves an ever growing band of regular clients. We are happy to join them, and will be back as soon as possible.

Thank you to all the staff at the Pousada Infante de Sagres. Keep our room safe for us - we will be back. Just the most lovely place to stay in Portugal.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent 4 excellent days in Sagres. The hotel is in the best location in the town with superb views all around. The room was huge and spotlessly clean and had an endless supply of toiletries and "room chocolates" provided every day. Breakfast was very good and both the breakfast room and restaurant have views out over the sea and pool. The bar and public lounge areas on the ground floor have free Wi-Fi, and are very comfortable nice places to just do nothing. All the staff are very friendly and efficient, particularly Cristina who we meant to nominate for Employee of the Month but we forgot so sorry about that - she got our vote though!

Room Tip: This time we had a Suite as the rate was so good but you don't really need to go for a special r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixsta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Pousada in a sea-view room. The hotel is located on the top of the cliffs on this beautiful, wild & unspoiled stretch of the Algarve coast. The views from our room and balcony were stunning, it's worth staying there for that alone. However the hotel has more to offer - we ate dinner in their restaurant both nights and the food was very good. I loved their fish stew, it could have fed 2 people and at 13 euros, was exceptional value for money. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Hotel is well sign-posted and easy to find, large car-park and English spoken by all staff.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosepink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Best location in the whole south-west Portugal with really breathtaking views from the rooms and restaurant.
Rooms are ok., clean, with good climatisation, but nothing special besides the view.
Service friendly, breakfast ok, good kitchen for dinner!
We come every year and surely will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poisonfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was a bit dated but the location made up for it. Our room was beautiful with a separate living area and bedroom. It was clean and had all we needed. The balcony overlooked the pool and ocean. The breakfast was just ok. The hotel didn't offer any food services after 9pm the night we stayed and seemed hesitant to recommend a place in town-they stated all would be closed. We found several restauarants open and had an excellent meal at Vila Velha. Be sure to explore the entire property, the view at the edge of the cliffs is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 10 in Sagres
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Property: Pousada Sagres
Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing