We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This Place is Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent 4 excellent days in Sagres. The hotel is in the best location in the town with superb views all around. The room was huge and spotlessly clean and had an endless supply of toiletries and "room chocolates" provided every day. Breakfast was very good and both the breakfast room and restaurant have views out over the sea and pool. The bar and public lounge areas on the ground floor have free Wi-Fi, and are very comfortable nice places to just do nothing. All the staff are very friendly and efficient, particularly Cristina who we meant to nominate for Employee of the Month but we forgot so sorry about that - she got our vote though!

Room Tip: This time we had a Suite as the rate was so good but you don't really need to go for a special r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixsta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    219
    65
    18
    4
See reviews for
101
365
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Pousada in a sea-view room. The hotel is located on the top of the cliffs on this beautiful, wild & unspoiled stretch of the Algarve coast. The views from our room and balcony were stunning, it's worth staying there for that alone. However the hotel has more to offer - we ate dinner in their restaurant both nights and the food was very good. I loved their fish stew, it could have fed 2 people and at 13 euros, was exceptional value for money. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Hotel is well sign-posted and easy to find, large car-park and English spoken by all staff.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosepink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Best location in the whole south-west Portugal with really breathtaking views from the rooms and restaurant.
Rooms are ok., clean, with good climatisation, but nothing special besides the view.
Service friendly, breakfast ok, good kitchen for dinner!
We come every year and surely will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poisonfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was a bit dated but the location made up for it. Our room was beautiful with a separate living area and bedroom. It was clean and had all we needed. The balcony overlooked the pool and ocean. The breakfast was just ok. The hotel didn't offer any food services after 9pm the night we stayed and seemed hesitant to recommend a place in town-they stated all would be closed. We found several restauarants open and had an excellent meal at Vila Velha. Be sure to explore the entire property, the view at the edge of the cliffs is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Previous recent reviews just about say it it all. Nice room, good service, attentive staff, wonderful scenic surroundings. Good place to walk from and enjoy local attractions, for example, a boat trip with Mar Ilimitado.

Bar area a bit smokey from open fire, a possible problem if you are asthmatic.

Sagres amenities and restaurants are easy to walk to and good value.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with balcony for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

An excellent Pousada with everything done with very good taste. We went for a rest and it proved to be perfect. Some very good small walks nearby and the scenery was superb. The service in the Pousada was first rate, especially considering that we were there in late January when there are few guests and it must be difficult to run the hotel. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: In this Pousada choose a Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent stay at Pousada de Sagres. Friendly, attentive staff. Nice, simple room. Amazing views, and sunset. Great walking (easy) walking trails from Pousada to incredible vistas/ views. Close to town and restaurants. Although there in winter, seemed to have wonderful pool area / patio, and we enjoying sitting outside for a drink, although too cold to swim. Would return. Southwestern Portugal is fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.4 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Property: Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing