We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was a bit dated but the location made up for it. Our room was beautiful with a separate living area and bedroom. It was clean and had all we needed. The balcony overlooked the pool and ocean. The breakfast was just ok. The hotel didn't offer any food services after 9pm the night we stayed and seemed hesitant to recommend a place in town-they stated all would be closed. We found several restauarants open and had an excellent meal at Vila Velha. Be sure to explore the entire property, the view at the edge of the cliffs is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 735 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Previous recent reviews just about say it it all. Nice room, good service, attentive staff, wonderful scenic surroundings. Good place to walk from and enjoy local attractions, for example, a boat trip with Mar Ilimitado.

Bar area a bit smokey from open fire, a possible problem if you are asthmatic.

Sagres amenities and restaurants are easy to walk to and good value.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with balcony for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

An excellent Pousada with everything done with very good taste. We went for a rest and it proved to be perfect. Some very good small walks nearby and the scenery was superb. The service in the Pousada was first rate, especially considering that we were there in late January when there are few guests and it must be difficult to run the hotel. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: In this Pousada choose a Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent stay at Pousada de Sagres. Friendly, attentive staff. Nice, simple room. Amazing views, and sunset. Great walking (easy) walking trails from Pousada to incredible vistas/ views. Close to town and restaurants. Although there in winter, seemed to have wonderful pool area / patio, and we enjoying sitting outside for a drink, although too cold to swim. Would return. Southwestern Portugal is fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel has a magnificent location with a dramatic view of Fort Sagres. The restaurant has great portuguese food, the areas are cozy and warm. Walking distance from a beautiful beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great place to disconnect from daily activities and connect with nature and history.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with sea view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao Paulo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We returned to Pousada de Sagres, Infante in late October for two days, this time also with 3 grandchildren, to enjoy the mild climate in this unique location in an area we appreciate very much after 5-6 earler visits at different times of the year. The weather was excellent (Scandinavian summer!) and the children really enjoyed the swimming pool and the visit to the opposite fort, whereas the rest of us appreciated the undefeatable view from the pousada balcony and visiting several unspoiled spots along the ocean coast.
The geneal pousada standard is very good (we have visited over 10 of them from Algarve to Alijo!) The rooms we had were always very satisfactory and the breakfasts splendid. At the last visit we missed the incredible Saturday night buffet dinners from earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room! DO NOT DISCLOSE MY NAME! Just identify me as "Scandinavian frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScandPousadaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Beautifull situated , very friendly and clean ! Nicely decorated rooms and all differents spaces to read a book or simply enjoy the athmosphere . Rooms have a balcony and the vieuw is just breath taking . No luxuary but everything you need is there. Next time again !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelZierikzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
7.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $86 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing