We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location in unspoiled area”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We returned to Pousada de Sagres, Infante in late October for two days, this time also with 3 grandchildren, to enjoy the mild climate in this unique location in an area we appreciate very much after 5-6 earler visits at different times of the year. The weather was excellent (Scandinavian summer!) and the children really enjoyed the swimming pool and the visit to the opposite fort, whereas the rest of us appreciated the undefeatable view from the pousada balcony and visiting several unspoiled spots along the ocean coast.
The geneal pousada standard is very good (we have visited over 10 of them from Algarve to Alijo!) The rooms we had were always very satisfactory and the breakfasts splendid. At the last visit we missed the incredible Saturday night buffet dinners from earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room! DO NOT DISCLOSE MY NAME! Just identify me as "Scandinavian frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScandPousadaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 748 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Beautifull situated , very friendly and clean ! Nicely decorated rooms and all differents spaces to read a book or simply enjoy the athmosphere . Rooms have a balcony and the vieuw is just breath taking . No luxuary but everything you need is there. Next time again !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelZierikzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first "pousada" and we were thrilled with our overall experience. The building was well-maintained with a lot of character. The pool outside and the view surrounding it were spectacular. A short walk into town and many good restaurants. Hotel bar is a great place to lounge and use the free wifi. Husband enjoyed the satellite TV, which included ESPN. The hotel staff helpfully booked us a boat tour, and surprised us with a bottle of champagne when they learned it was our honeymoon. We didn't have a pool view but the balcony overlooking the front of the building was still great. I would have loved to stay a few more days, very peaceful and romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location away from the crowds, its dramatic location near the cliff edge and quiet, comfortable ambience. We were not let down and enjoyed our stay and will return and once again enjoy access the beautiful beaches on the west coast.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are ideal for waking up and facing the sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradders242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The pousada is beautifully situated overlooking the rocky coast of the Atlantic Ocean. The seaview rooms are not very spacious, but big enough. They have a nice balcony with table and chairs. So you can enjoy the view. The surroundings offer many opportunities for hiking.
The buffet breakfast is fine. We stayed here a couple of days with pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room; the other side of the building is less attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our 3rd pousada and we'd been spoiled. You didn't get the sense of walking among the peaceful religious people here like the others. It's more like a modern hotel. The view is amazing and the rooms quite nice, though a little over-priced in my opinion. I'm not sure if they even have rooms without the sea view, but make sure you get one on that side if so. Don't try to walk to the beach below without using the road - the path is dicey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh0rebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is great, lovely sea views, nice public rooms. Bedrooms had sixties decor and the bathrooms were tired! The AC did not work the first night, but we were assured it was fixed the next day. Could not tell because the weather turned colder and we were able to sleep with the balcony door open! The dining room was overpriced compared with the wide variety of excellent restaurants in Sagres, and had with very little ambiance. However,The food and service was good. The desk staff were scarce and not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 459Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,506 reviews
20.7 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $70 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing