We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet setting”
Review of Pousada Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Sagres
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location away from the crowds, its dramatic location near the cliff edge and quiet, comfortable ambience. We were not let down and enjoyed our stay and will return and once again enjoy access the beautiful beaches on the west coast.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are ideal for waking up and facing the sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradders242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 743 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

The pousada is beautifully situated overlooking the rocky coast of the Atlantic Ocean. The seaview rooms are not very spacious, but big enough. They have a nice balcony with table and chairs. So you can enjoy the view. The surroundings offer many opportunities for hiking.
The buffet breakfast is fine. We stayed here a couple of days with pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room; the other side of the building is less attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our 3rd pousada and we'd been spoiled. You didn't get the sense of walking among the peaceful religious people here like the others. It's more like a modern hotel. The view is amazing and the rooms quite nice, though a little over-priced in my opinion. I'm not sure if they even have rooms without the sea view, but make sure you get one on that side if so. Don't try to walk to the beach below without using the road - the path is dicey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh0rebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is great, lovely sea views, nice public rooms. Bedrooms had sixties decor and the bathrooms were tired! The AC did not work the first night, but we were assured it was fixed the next day. Could not tell because the weather turned colder and we were able to sleep with the balcony door open! The dining room was overpriced compared with the wide variety of excellent restaurants in Sagres, and had with very little ambiance. However,The food and service was good. The desk staff were scarce and not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 459Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Overlooking a windswept cliff, this pousada is located at what was once called 'the end of the world'--one can see why, as the ocean does seem to drop off at the end of the horizon. Make sure you request a room with a sea view (for an additional cost, but well worth it). Waking up to the view every morning, seeing the sun set, and looking up at the stars at night were among the highlights of our stay. The pousada itself is clean and comfortable, but not particularly deluxe--it's the view and location that make it memorable and worth the stay. Breakfast was the usual selection for pousadas--plenty of fruit, pastries, cheese, meat, eggs, bacon, etc. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice--the first night the dory was great, but when I ordered it again our last night it was a disappointment. The beach is a 10-15 minute walk--a sandy stretch carved out between 2 enormous cliffs, quiet and not crowded during our visit. Sagres is a beautiful place, peaceful and restful, a nice respite from the tourist resorts along the Algarve.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dream_genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Pousadas are historical buildings reshaped into top-notch hotels, and have their own charme far away from international chains, meaning that the atmosphere is welcoming and elegant without shining marbles. Delicious fresh lemonade is offered on check-in. The location on the cliff is simply outstanding. I could not praise more the swimming pool area in perfect weather, not too warm, not too windy, not at all humid, not at all noisy for my taste. Rooms are comfortable, again without premium furniture or equipment. Breakfast buffet is excellent, choose an outdoor table. The staff was also very helpful in shipping a sweatshirt that my son had forgotten in the room. We definitely had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharma_researcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent one night in this Pousada and we just walked-in and took the last room available being peak season.
It was not sea view unfortunately. The size was ok, bed confortable but the floor was not really cleaned when we get in. This is probabily the only aspect to point out.
Instead of the hotel restaurant we preferred to have dinner outside and took the suggestion from the lady at the reception for a seafood restaurant where the port is. Staff was very kind and lobby areas in different styles are really nice.
Breakfast was ok, we found a lot of choices and it is nice to have it outside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleoBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.3 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
16.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Sagres

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $71 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Sagres 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Sagres, located in the Vila de Sagres, is just 5 minutes on foot from the beach, with views of the Fortaleza de Sagres and of the Farol do Cabo de São Vicente. It is one of the most intimate Pestana Charming Hotels, where you can admire the Ilhas do Martilhal, the Ponta da Atalaia, the Serra de Monchique and breathtaking sunsets from your hotel room in Sagres. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, play some tennis or relax at the Magic Wellness Spa. For dinning, the Pousada offers both a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing