We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish”
Review of Mar a Vista

Mar a Vista
Ranked #14 of 71 Restaurants in Sagres
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Odense
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good fish”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice local restaurant and one of the best fish restaurants in town. Perfect view over the sea and near one of the best beaches "Maretta" and one of the best bars "The Last Chance". Don't miss it if you visit Sagres.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Assoignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    173
    55
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a lovely evening here . Bit of a retro theme with the decor which added to its charm.
Great food, wine and service and extremely good value. Only sorry we dined here near the end of our holiday as we would have loved to have returned

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
“Unexpected Discovery”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

An accidental find while looking for food in deserted Sagres this summer. All of three tables were occupied when we arrived at 10 p.m. and the waitstaff were surely looking forward to going home, but we were treated with courtesy and enjoyed a leisurely meal. Having opted for the regional porco alentejano specialty (pork cooked with clams and served with potatoes, garlic, lemon, and parsley), I can't say much about the quality of the seafood, but the clams that accompanied my dish were fresh and tasty. The wine recommended to us was a regional red, cheaper than the one we were considering, and quite satisfying. We thoroughly appreciated the food, the discreet service, and the quiet atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Top nosh”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Absolutely excellent, ate here twice during our six day visit and loved it . First class seafood starters including fresh clams and the barnacles are a must try ! Beautiful selection of fresh caught fish , dorada and bass were our choice. Delicious Portugese wines both white and green at very fair prices and very efficient waiters with perfect English and good humour and a good knowlege of everything they are serving, finally, the home made sweets are a must have !

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off at this place on the way to the coast for a little lunch. It seemed to be the busiest place on the front and prices ranged from reasonable to whopping.

Service was nothing spectacular although one of the waiters did smile at least twice, which was nice.

The food was nice although we suspected the swordfish had been frozen as it was suspiciously well cut.

Overall a nice place but more of a food serving place than a restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristoPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar a Vista also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Mar a Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing