We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest food”
Review of Gigi

Gigi
Ranked #38 of 71 Restaurants in Sagres
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the road leading down to the Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“honest food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I got a great,really big and cheap meal ( menu of the day)and there where more food than I could eat ,served by a nice and friendly waitress. - the restaurant and toilets : very clean !! - come back again ? absolutly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    142
    86
    32
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We kept going back”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We tried Gi Gis the first night we were in Sagres and were so pleased with the food we kept going back - tried other places but couldn't find anywhere as good. Staff were great and the chef/owner came out to chat as he was pleased that we liked the food so much. We didn't have anything that we didn't like - unfortunately for my waistline I liked the homemade desserts too much! Very reasonable prices as well. We found out that the waiter was a local fisherman so we asked for the fish he had caught that morning and it was a good choice. We had different things everynight both fish and meat and all was good. It is plain Portugese fare and all the better for being so.We didn't hear any complaints and there were local Portugese eating there everynight and several French groups who were very complimentary. Thank you GiGis for adding a lot to a lovely break in Sagres.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buislesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,B.C
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Decent food at a snail's pace”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Dropped in for lunch with a group of friends and although the restaurant was only half full the service was indiferent and very very slow. The food was decent but lacked imagination. Very simple fare, boiled potatoes, sliced tomatoes, grated carrots. The fish is by far the star of the show, fresh and well prepared. Those who chose meat dishes were disappointed.
Pleasant atmosphere, clean washrooms, centrally located.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peekassoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Bras de Alportel, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing meal”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The restaurant was pretty busy for the time of year but the meals we chose were disappointing.our soups we're not very nice my husbands steak was full of sinews and my prawn spaghetti had only 7 prawns in & it was greasy.Maybe we chose the wrong things but wouldn't be tempted to go again.We did get 10% knocked off the bill but as my husband was able to eat less than half the meat it didn't make amends.Guess we should have chosen fish?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolB143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Why ranked so low?”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The food here is lovely. Simply and fresh and that is all you need. Go for the grilled prawns. We went back for more they were so nice! Nice staff, simply seating, fresh food, great tasting food. A must for sure. Try the fire water from the strawberry tree hehe ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gigi also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Gigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing