We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sagres
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveler rating
1,234
456
130
65
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,234
456
130
65
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club village square garden house young children main pool o terraco play area os gambozinos family holiday tennis courts villa mimosa small children terrace restaurant half board ocean villa dunas restaurant on site shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2019

The standard of accommodation, the range of restaurants and the location are second to none. Above all were the amazing team who took care if everyone day in day out!!! Truly 5-star service from each & every one of them.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Castleview70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

We spent a week at Martinhal with our 2 year old and almost 5 year old. It was a fantastic place to stay and I can highly recommend it to any one with young children. Accommodation was huge! Very clean and big, with a cotbed, stair gates, washing machine and dryer, a lovely garden, and a well-equipped kitchen. Housekeeping came every day and did a good job.

The resort itself was clean and well-maintained. We went to 4 different communal pools, and they were all heated. My only slight complaint with the pools was the depth of the water. The small toddler pool was very shallow (up to my 2 year's old knees), but all the other pools were just sloping steps and then 1.2metres deep! That meant we could never really relax in the pool as we both had to hold onto or at least be near each child all the time.

The restaurants around the resort were okay, but we only ate there twice before realising they were incredibly expensive for what they were. Thankfully, we had a hire car so just drove into Sagres to eat or often went to the Intermarche (a 5 minute drive from Martinhal) where we could buy food to cook in the kitchen at the villa. I can also recommend eating at the Nortada Bar on Martinhal Beach (just a few minutes walk from the resort).

We used the babysitting service twice in the evening, which was great. The babysitters were both really professional and we were happy leaving our children with them. Our eldest also went to kids club for three mornings and really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank 201jennyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristieGuestService, Guest Service Supervisor at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2019

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay at Martinhal.
We look forward to warmly welcome you again soon for another excellent stay. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of June for 9 days in a 2 bed villa mimosa. The villas are very spacious with plenty of storage and even a little utility room with a washer / dryer. They supply a beach bag with towels and baby equipment such as potties, highchairs, cots etc. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything needed to self cater. There are freeview tv channels including cbeebies which was handy and we used the ipad for Netflix in the evenings (WiFi excellent). Toiletries in the bathrooms include shampoo and conditioner so no need to bring any.

The staff here are wonderful and go out of their way to look after you and make you feel welcome. We were often offered lifts to wherever we wanted to go by staff passing by. The kids club carers were fantastic and even though my daughter threw huge tantrums (she does the same at home every day going to creche) they still took her, distracted her until she calmed down and ensured that she had a great time. She stayed for a total of 5 afternoon sessions over the course of the holiday which gave us a nice break.

We did a mix of self catering and eating out which suited us as we could do whatever suited our situation that day (small children have such unpredictable moods). Housekeeping loaned us a bbq and a couple of times we picked up some gorgeous meat and salads in Lidl. We tried the wolf grill once but found the meat was tough and fatty. We had a really nice meal in Os Gambozinos which overlooks the playground. The piri piri chicken special was great and this restaurant has a children’s buffet which is very handy as they don’t have to wait for food. We tried O Terraco one evening which was underwhelming. The brisket ordered by my husband and son was lovely but €26 for my duck leg with puréed carrots and some vegetables underneath was insane. It was the daily special and when it arrived we thought I had accidentally ordered a starter! None of the mains came with sides and thankfully we ordered them as extras or we’d have all left hungry. I absolutely don’t mind paying high prices for good quality and decent portion sizes but in this case we felt ripped off. Cocktails cost between €9-€12 and wine from €6 per glass.

Take a left out of the resort and it’s less than a 10 minute drive to Sagres where you will find some lovely restaurants. We tried three little birds which was really really nice. There’s also a large supermarket in the village.

We drove to Zoomarine one day which is an hour from the resort each way. This was well worth it - the park was fabulous. A mix of waterslides and theme park rides with animals, shows and an aquarium. If we were closer we would have spent two days here as there was so much to do and see.

We found car hire to be an absolute must for us so we’d highly recommend it for anyone who is undecided. The resort is quite spread out and it was nice to be able to take the car to the beach / indoor pool the odd time we didn’t fancy the walk.

In summary, we would absolutely recommend this resort and are considering trying one of the other Martinhal properties next year!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Ntk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments. It is very rewarding to know we are succeeding to provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.
We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

We are just back from Martinhal Sagres for our 2nd trip there. It truly is
heaven on earth. The staff are an absolute credit to the resort, fantastic people. JoJo in the pool, we loved you!
We just adore this place and thank you so much for giving our family such magical memories. We would love to go back for a 3rd time next year, here's wishing and hoping!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable experience and we thank you for your kind comments about the excellent service. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our team looked after you so well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Our accommodation was a three bedroom Master Bay House with sea view, garden and two large balconies, adequately furnished. Everything was provided for children and the kitchen was very well equipped. All was new, light and spacious. The aircon was very efficient and there were fly screens on the large sliding doors. The views at the back were extensive, overlooking the sea and the national park. To the front were gardens and areas of the resort. Cleaners came every day and left everywhere spotless. The resort itself is large, well maintained and on a sandy beach. There were beach toys to borrow. Reception staff were always very helpful. All the staff were polite and offered excellent service. We mainly used the O Terraço restaurant for breakfast and dinner, we paid for half board. Children were welcomed and their menu was varied and healthy and the food was always outstanding. Rafi was quite a draw at breakfast time. Kevin was a particularly efficient and pleasant waiter. Views from this restaurant are extensive . We did dine at Os Gambozinos and enjoyed the menu. This restaurant opened at 5pm.
The on-site deli and shop was useful for lunchtime bread but fairly expensive for most items. We walked along the beach to the Spa in Sagres, which took 25 mins. The Village had a nice atmosphere with plenty to amuse toddlers-a bouncing castle, trampolines, climbing frame/slide etc
The gym was never too busy and bikes were available to borrow.
There are several pools on resort but our preference was the quieter club 98, tho the children’s pool there was always freezing cold. Tennis and various other sports were offered.
This resort is a perfect spot for our family but I would recommend a hire car. We took a taxi to and from the airport, Faro, a journey of 75 minutes. We found plenty to keep us occupied.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mereha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Thank you!
We hope you will continue to make Martinhal your first choice and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews