We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveler rating
1,234
456
130
65
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,234
456
130
65
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club village square garden house young children main pool o terraco play area os gambozinos family holiday tennis courts villa mimosa small children terrace restaurant half board ocean villa dunas restaurant on site shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

Travelled in September 2017 with my wife and 2 boys (aged 3.5 years and 6 months), staying in the Bay House for a week.

Martinhal were kind enough to upgrade us from a one bedroom to two bedroom house and emailed me a couple of days in advance of our holiday, which made it a nice start.

Many TripAdvisor reviews mention the wind, the windiest time in Sagres in July and August and we had little wind in September. Weather was brilliant in my opinion, about 28C every day with a slight breeze. Take one jumper just in case, but you should be fine wearing one layer even in the evening.

For transfers we used YellowFish transfers who were very professional and would recommend them. Cost 112 euros each way.

Depending on the age of your children, the resort is popular with babies and under 5’s during term time and 3 to 9 year olds during school holiday.

Plenty of swimming pools to choose from, most with baby pools. 182 was nice and quiet, there were times where we had both the adult and baby pool to ourselves. The village pool had little slides and props for children to play with and it’s partially covered. Lots of play areas for children.

Don’t bother paying for buffet at the restaurants, order on the a la carte – it will work out quite a bit cheaper. The quality of food is ok, it can be improved.

The only other negative was the poor evening entertainment for children in the village square. This is minor in respective to everything else. The Bay house was very spacious and bedrooms were a good size.

I will definitely be returning here, my older son loved his time at Martinhal and that makes me satisfied!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ashah11083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

This was the first time we took a trip abroad with our child (20 months), and two other couples who also have small children, and we are so glad we chose to stay at Martinhal Sagres. The resort specifically caters to families, something which they excel at.
They really made our stay trouble free and allowed us to enjoy our time there and create memories that will last a lifetime.

The staff were fantastic and went over and above to meet our needs. They truly outdid themselves and I hope they are rewarded for their efforts.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AGAH8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

How wonderful to learn that you and your family had a perfect stay and without a dull moment! Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognized.
We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family to provide plenty more exceptional holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The Martinhal is an excellent place to unwind with the family. The attention to detail for children is exceptional. The beach and views of it from the resort are magical. The food leaves a lot to be desired but this would be the only negative.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RohanM168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments. It is very rewarding to know we are succeeding to provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.
We look forward to your return as we are sure you will enjoy many more fantastic holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Martinhal Sagres has plenty to keep a small child happy and the restaurant's are so child friendly.
We loved the many pools, child play areas and space and the transfer to Faro airport is pretty good at 1h15.
We had a 2 bed sea view villa which was immaculately clean, very comfy beds and the welcome pack of milk, juice, bread etc was very welcome.

However you do pay a lot - we paid EUR1700 for the last week in September which was self-catering. There is an Intermarche in Sagres which you can stock up on food as the onsite market whilst good, is expensive also. We didn't use the spa (again cost prohibitive). The restaurant's are great with a wide variety of food which you will pay London/good gastro pub prices.

Overall we had a great week, our 15month old loved it and we would probably come again if we got a good deal

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Thank you!
We hope you will continue to make Martinhal your first choice and we look forward to welcome you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

The villa was excellent. Clean, spacious, stunning views. The facilities and restaurants were second to none. The staff were very attentive, both at the restaurants and bars and at the kids clubs. We found the staffed kids play areas so useful during breakfast and dinner. The kids play area near Oz Gambozinos was great, as was the campervan and the play area out the back of the bar.
We wish we'd hired a car though as, even though there was a shuttle into Sagres, we would've liked to explored a bit further afield.
All in all, we couldn't fault the place and are already looking to book for next year.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank milla_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Thank you!
We hope you will continue to make Martinhal your first choice and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews