We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious yet friendly destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A luxurious yet friendly destination”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We travelled to Sagres out of season, so the resort was VERY quiet (we hardly saw any other guests). Not all of the facilities were fully open, but everything we used (the restaurant, the cafe, the indoor pool, the spa) was faultless. Our accomodation (a Garden House) was beautifully equipped, cosy (thanks to under floor heating) and very private. The location is very beautiful, especially the sea views (although bits of the resort are a little artificial and manicured to my tastes).
I also wanted to highlight the warmth and competence of every staff member we interacted with. Other posters have remarked on their relative inexperience but we saw no evidence of this (admittedly we prefer a more personal service to the slightly remote 5* service I know some people are more comfortable with). Our toddler was overwhelmed with every staff member chatting to and playing with him, and it meant my partner and I could really relax. When we struggled to get the hot water to run in our house someone was with us to sort it in under 5 minutes (especially impressive given our location at the far side of the resort.)
We had misgivings about travelling to this sort of resort, having been more used to independent travel pre-kids, but will certainly be back. I can't imagine a more relaxing option for holidays with under 5s. Martinhal does exactly what it says on the tin, but exceptionally well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We too, we can’t wait to welcome you all back for more spectacular and memorable holidays at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel! It is great to know that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us.Many thanks for your kind compliments!
It is our goal to exceed our guests expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did. We look forward to your return – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    315
    94
    43
    13
See reviews for
923
189
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This was our third consecutive summer holiday at Martinhal, and this time was perhaps the best of the three. The resort has matured since opening four years ago, the landscaping is growing nicely, and the staff are consistently friendly, approachable and extremely helpful. The range of restaurants is good and the food generally excellent. Fox club worked well for our children. The addition of hotel loungers on the beach is a positive. We love the climate - always sunny, always breezy, never too hot - and the Costa Vicentina is exceptionally beautiful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimanche2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We do appreciate very highly your loyalty, thank you for making us your first choice for 3 consecutive years and for your many kind compliments.It is wonderful to know that we are succeeding in surpassing our valued clients expectations.

As you kindly mentioned, we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference. It is therefore very reassuring when an increasing number of our clients, like you, rate Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel as the best luxury family destination in Europe.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon for another wonderful holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our second Xmas here. Very child friendly. Many people do not leave the resort. Restaurants are excellent quality but this is a family place, not really somewhere for a romantic quiet week but the accomodations(Hotel and rental) is excellent. With a car you can get out, go to local restaurants
and shops and cook in if you prefer as exeryone has excellent kitchen facilities. Good shop on site. But with small kids why leave the resort? The Martinhal beach is about 5 mins walk for most people. There are pools all over the place. The Sagres area has great beaches and places to eat -but at night why bother to go out with kids?

BEACHES AND GETTING AROUND:
If with car and want a few hours outside do drive up N268 towards ALJEZUR into national park and see the great wonderful empty beach after Carrapateira. Also look up Aldeia de Pedralva, on the way. Also visit Sagres, Lighthouse etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
How wonderful to learn that you and your family had another perfect Christmas and we are very happy to know how much you enjoyed your winter break with us. Thank you for your fantastic review and for your loyalty to Martinhal. Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognised.
We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family next year and to provide plenty more exceptional holiday experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This resort is top notch. From the quality of the rooms, sheets, beauty products to the excellent food and service. The organic food is exquisite. The views are lovely and the place is perfect for families.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine2012Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review! It is very rewarding to know we are succeeding to provide the luxury hospitality we strive for.We hope you will continue to make Martinhal your first choice and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almancil
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

a unique resort inside a natural park, in a breathtaking place. A wild landscape in the Europe's west end. There is only cliffs, small beaches sea and a fantastic Hotel.
Imagine a five star Hotel and service in a wild environment. The building design makes you feel you are in a very special place, like a five stars lighthouse, over looking the immense sea. The care to the detail begins on the building, on the resort and on the outstanding service that you never anticipate to find on that location. The staff makes everything even better, young and very professional people with a natural approach to make you feel special. It is definitely a family resort but very flexible, where you feel very well in all the kind of trip you make.
It is a place to find the beauty of a strong and breathtaking nature with all the cosy atmosphere of a top Hotel.
I was there with my family, and stayed in a cottage on top of the cliff with a private garden and direct access to the beach and to a fantastic walking on top of the most amazing wild park.
All of us made what each one likes more, surf, sailing cars, tracking or just relaxing in the fantastic spa.
Dinner was also a experience, either dinner or lunch by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the cliff, you must walk at open air, but if you like there is a golf buggy. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jose n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments.
It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you and your family enjoyed a brilliant holiday with us. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed our beautiful and very comfortable luxurious accommodation, our attentive service and many features that make Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel all so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in Luxury Villa 26, having been upgraded from Villa 2 due to a problem with a bathroom the week before we got there. Villa 26 was absolutely amazing. Upside down living to take full advantage of the spectacular views of the ocean. The villa was immaculate, the pool beautifully warm. We took full advantage of the kids club - and were extremely impressed with the level of care provided to our children. We ate twice in As Dunas and enjoyed several drinks in The M Bar. I think some of the reviews of the in house restaurants miss the point. As Dunas isn't cheap, but where in Sagres can you find a play park attached to the restaurant, or tables of art supplies and games and a supervisor for the kids whilst you have lunch?! I would happily pay extra for that! And actually, we thought the cataplana special was exceptionally good value - 3 courses and unlimited sparkling wine! We also had the seafood special and that was really, really good. The spa was superb. i had a two hour massage and facial, and it was bliss. Overall, I struggle to fault Martinhal. It is beautiful, sparklingly clean, excellently well thought out, the staff are lovely, and we'll be back without doubt next year.

Tips: the intermarche in Sagres sells everything you need, but the shop in Martinhal has very useful supplies like marmite, Ella's kitchen, etc.
A Grelha in Sagres is a great spot for lunch, and a complete bargain.
Ignore the hire car companies who try and make you drop the car back at their warehouses - just take them back to the airport!

Room Tip: The luxury villas certainly stood out for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEMBLUEEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
It is a pleasure and very gratifying to know that our Clients feel exactly as you do! Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognised. All of us at Martinhal look forward to your return so that you and your family may experience our positive progress and enjoy a truly perfect stay with plenty of pampering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The original idea for this hotel was clearly to appeal to youngish City of London types (modern, cool, angular and with pretensions of fine dining). With the ongoing baby boom in the UK (prime target market for Portuguese resorts) it has realized that it's target market has moved on - and responded admirably.

The setting is beautiful and remote - the Western Algarve is a world away from the crowded golf-resorts near the airport. If you are in the hotel bit and from some of the villas you will have stunning views over the bay. If you like square architecture with lots of glass, you will like the look and feel.

But the crucial point is the wealth of entertainment offered for kids - starting with crèche and babysitting, over a wealth of swimming pool options, playgrounds, sports pitches to a playroom with playstations, air hockey and billiards for the teenagers to eye each other up. During high season there's also an unintrusive evening entertainment programme for the kids. The resort is quite low-density, so adults can always find somewhere to relax without screaming kids

There's also a good selection of restaurants on site, although if you want to spend less and eat better you need to do the 15-20min walk or 5min drive to Sagres. There you will find a lively surfer scene with cheap eats and drinks.

The beach of Sagres is beautiful, spacious and clean with sand dunes and plenty of watersports options. One of them is of course windsurfing - and that's the slight hitch. In late July and most of August you will get quite frequent strong and cold northerly winds. Unless you are windsurfing, you're best off spending the day on a more sheltered beach such as Tonel on the other side of Sagres, or back east nearer Lagos.

The clientele - predictably - is young parents in their 30s and 40s, mainly UK and Irish but also German, Dutch and others. Outside school holidays things quieten down a fair bit - a great time too go is Sep-Oct or May-Jun which can be a lot warmer than windy August!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kamcooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel. We value each and every clients review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.
At Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel we aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience.
We are very glad to know that you have found wonderful our resort’s design, five star quality and unique features of our accommodation as well as all our wide range of facilities and activities for all the family. These are indeed some of the details specially thought out for the enjoyment and delight of all our clients that do render a superior experience when staying at Martinhal where all is fine-tuned for families.
We will be delighted to welcome you and your family again – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
115 reviews
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
22.4 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing