We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in Luxury Villa 26, having been upgraded from Villa 2 due to a problem with a bathroom the week before we got there. Villa 26 was absolutely amazing. Upside down living to take full advantage of the spectacular views of the ocean. The villa was immaculate, the pool beautifully warm. We took full advantage of the kids club - and were extremely impressed with the level of care provided to our children. We ate twice in As Dunas and enjoyed several drinks in The M Bar. I think some of the reviews of the in house restaurants miss the point. As Dunas isn't cheap, but where in Sagres can you find a play park attached to the restaurant, or tables of art supplies and games and a supervisor for the kids whilst you have lunch?! I would happily pay extra for that! And actually, we thought the cataplana special was exceptionally good value - 3 courses and unlimited sparkling wine! We also had the seafood special and that was really, really good. The spa was superb. i had a two hour massage and facial, and it was bliss. Overall, I struggle to fault Martinhal. It is beautiful, sparklingly clean, excellently well thought out, the staff are lovely, and we'll be back without doubt next year.

Tips: the intermarche in Sagres sells everything you need, but the shop in Martinhal has very useful supplies like marmite, Ella's kitchen, etc.
A Grelha in Sagres is a great spot for lunch, and a complete bargain.
Ignore the hire car companies who try and make you drop the car back at their warehouses - just take them back to the airport!

Room Tip: The luxury villas certainly stood out for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEMBLUEEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

It is a pleasure and very gratifying to know that our Clients feel exactly as you do! Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognised. All of us at Martinhal look forward to your return so that you and your family may experience our positive progress and enjoy a truly perfect stay with plenty of pampering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The original idea for this hotel was clearly to appeal to youngish City of London types (modern, cool, angular and with pretensions of fine dining). With the ongoing baby boom in the UK (prime target market for Portuguese resorts) it has realized that it's target market has moved on - and responded admirably.

The setting is beautiful and remote - the Western Algarve is a world away from the crowded golf-resorts near the airport. If you are in the hotel bit and from some of the villas you will have stunning views over the bay. If you like square architecture with lots of glass, you will like the look and feel.

But the crucial point is the wealth of entertainment offered for kids - starting with crèche and babysitting, over a wealth of swimming pool options, playgrounds, sports pitches to a playroom with playstations, air hockey and billiards for the teenagers to eye each other up. During high season there's also an unintrusive evening entertainment programme for the kids. The resort is quite low-density, so adults can always find somewhere to relax without screaming kids

There's also a good selection of restaurants on site, although if you want to spend less and eat better you need to do the 15-20min walk or 5min drive to Sagres. There you will find a lively surfer scene with cheap eats and drinks.

The beach of Sagres is beautiful, spacious and clean with sand dunes and plenty of watersports options. One of them is of course windsurfing - and that's the slight hitch. In late July and most of August you will get quite frequent strong and cold northerly winds. Unless you are windsurfing, you're best off spending the day on a more sheltered beach such as Tonel on the other side of Sagres, or back east nearer Lagos.

The clientele - predictably - is young parents in their 30s and 40s, mainly UK and Irish but also German, Dutch and others. Outside school holidays things quieten down a fair bit - a great time too go is Sep-Oct or May-Jun which can be a lot warmer than windy August!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamcooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel. We value each and every clients review and appreciate the time you take out to write them.
At Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel we aim to please and satisfy our guests and truly excel to provide an unforgettable and memorable Holiday Experience.
We are very glad to know that you have found wonderful our resort’s design, five star quality and unique features of our accommodation as well as all our wide range of facilities and activities for all the family. These are indeed some of the details specially thought out for the enjoyment and delight of all our clients that do render a superior experience when staying at Martinhal where all is fine-tuned for families.
We will be delighted to welcome you and your family again – hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

You have to give credit to people who launch a new resort just after a major recession and make it work and that they've done at the Martinhal. It is very smart, understated and well organised. The staff at the restaurant are charming and the kids club is excellent. Indeed, when we went in August, it clearly was full of British middle class families who were there primarily for the kids club, and you can't argue with that - we were one of them.

The staff in the kids club were great - patient, calm, well trained, good fun. And if you like windsurfing the beach below the hotel seemed to be well known for that. The surfing is elsewhere, either 10 minutes or 25 minutes drive away.

So why am I only giving this 3 stars?

Two reasons. The whole is less than the sum of the parts - I found it a bit soul-less. there is nothing about Portugal for this resort. I see why other people may love it, and it will suit the neurotic parents, but I'm looking for something with a little bit more character, that makes me feel I've actually been travelling.

The second reason is price. I'm not that experienced with these La Manga / Val De Lobo type resorts, but they're not cheap.

Beyond that, I enjoyed Sagres. Its got a bit of an identity crisis (surfer vs. posh villa) but the beaches are fantastic, the surf is reliable, the sun is shining - I recommend it. Make sure you find the beach with 150 steps in Sagres before you leave - definitely worth making the effort you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrDemandingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

It gives us great pleasure to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We know how much a friendly, attentive and professional staff does make all the difference therefore your recognition in highly valued.
We thank you once again for your feedback and suggestions as we monitor this very closely to ensure that we can constantly improve.
We all look forward to your return and providing many more beautiful experiences as well as the opportunity to explore more top spot neighbouring beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first stay at Martinhal, although we had visited the area previously when our children were younger. We have two girls 6 & 9 and an 11 year old boy. Having booked and then read some of the client reviews I have to admit to being somewhat apprehensive regarding the clientele, with negative comments about dishwashers not been emptied and other trivial criticism seemed to indicate that it could turn into a competition about who was the most middle class. In actual fact everything was perfect, the people we meet we're lovely, the staff were extremely helpful, happy and very good with our children.
We stayed in a Bay House which are cleverly designed units, immaculately maintained and furnished. The cleaners will come everyday if required but we requested every second day and we were happy emptying our own dishwasher as our children need the practise.
We ate on site at two of the three resteraunts and although the food was good as stated in previous comments it was not stunning and perhaps over priced compared to England. We have stayed at Bedruthin Steps/ Cornwall a number of times and I've always thought the quality of the menu/ wine etc combined with the separate dining option for children worked really well.
In summary I would highly recommend Martinhal to anyone, with or without children and I would congratulate the staff on creating an atmosphere that complements the effort that has been put into the construction of the resort.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review and letting us know we are on the right path in surpassing our valued Guests expectations.We know how much a friendly, attentive and professional staff does make all the difference therefore your recognition in highly valued. It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed a very relaxing weeks stay in an Ocean Villa at Martinhal. The Villa itself was excellent, had a wondeful view and fulfilled all of our needs. The only negative were the unpleasant smelling pillows - we did not ask to change them because they all seemed bad. Nice thoughtful touches like the provision of a Beach Bag as well as Ipod docking station etc were much appreciated. Martinhal Beach itself was nice and easily accessible - but there are many better nearby worth driving to. We were unlucky with the weather so were grateful for the Indoor entertainments provided - Blue room(table tennis, pool table video games etc), gym and (half)indoor pool. We enjoyed resonably priced Tennis and Padle courts as well various swimming pools when the sun was out. We did enjoy 2 Dinners in the Resort (O Terraco and AS Dunas) - but were very grateful for other Trip advisor reports warning of the high prices. This meant we had sought out local restaurants to eat at and were very grateful we did ! Not only did it mean we had variety and saw more of the area it also mean we we were spending the same amount for 2 Dinners out as we did for 1 Dinner in, without any difference in the quality of food or service ! The same applied to the 2 Breakfasts we had at the MBar - very good (once the server had been reminded to include all of the ingredients described on the menu !) but very expensive compared to the Local cafes 5 minutes away. Our one significant disappoinment was the overselling, on the website and in the brochures, of the Natural Park in which the Resort is situated. This is described as "beautiful" and "a land waiting to be discovered". The (expensive) guided walks and bikes rides we discovered were mostly on roads and tracks in the immediate Sagres area - rather than to the more rugged East. We were staggered to be told that the Resort could not provide a single self guided walking trail for a family to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your lovely family experiences at Martinhal. It gives us great pleasure to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We regret not knowing about your impressions on the bed pillows during your stay as our Housekeeping Team would have gladly changed the pillows of your Ocean View House. Kindly note that in our beds have 2 different types of pillows: feathers and hallo-fill / ball-fill and they can be easily exchanged.

On you note regarding our Restaurant and M bar prices, we wish to inform that unfortunately taxes on food and beverage in Portugal are very high: 23%. This does make food prices very high in comparison to some other countries in Europe.
In addition, we aim to offer a higher level of service and facilities (like kids supervision and exclusive kids corners in the restaurants and bar, the trampoline and sandpit, a high number of baby chairs, kids’ entertainment, more extensive kids’ and baby menus, etc) which renders the experience in our Restaurants different as well: all fine-tuned for families!

In relation to your comment on Walking Tours we would like to inform you that do have a Family Walking Tour on our Pick and Choose Programme which takes place weekly, suitable for all ages and is free of charge. We are sorry of this information was not made available to you during you stay.

Alternatively we have guided walking tours twice a week where our clients meet the guide and are then taken by transport to the start of the tour, they also have a snack box included and when they finish the tour they are taken back to the resort. These tours are normally more suited to children over 12 years as they are more challenging.

We sincerely do hope that the overall great memories of your holidays will surpass by far the less positive aspects.

It was a pleasure to host you and we all look forward to welcome you and your family again soon for a much improved holiday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Martinhal is quite different than any other resort in the Algarve. For one,it does not sit on a golf course. It also in not located near a town with pubs and restaurants catering to tourists. There are no extensive green, manicured lawns and big hotels. Martinhal is different, special and really not for everyone. The resort is designed in a way that respects the environment-with low built structures that better compliment its cliff side position. The best accommodation, the Ocean Houses, have beautiful view of the unspoilt coastline. On a windy day (more often in July and early August but then tapering off) you can see the windsurfers and kite surfers speeding through the crystal water. The beach is relatively empty and though the water can be cold, the fact that there are so few people make it well worth it.
The facilities in the resort improve every year we have gone to Martinhal (we have been guests since its opening) and it is really the perfect place for families with young children. There are plenty of things for them to do at the kids club but also just watching them run around the central square by the new 'surf bar' and restaurant usually keeps everyone happy. For older kids there are surf lessons or as we have all done, windsurfing lessons.
Food is good and service can be inconsistent but the staff does try hard and is all rather young and energetic (also something unusual for the Algarve). You can also cook meals in your houses, get prepared meals at the on site market or dine on or off the property. There is a local supermarket about 2km from Martinhal called Intermarche which has a nice choice of food and wine.
The Luxury Villas do vary in luxury so best to ask lots of questions when booking. Villas have private owners that rent the property to the resort so decor, layout and standards seem to be quite different.
The nearest town of Sagres is charming. Unsophisticated, laid back and full of young people (surfers) in camper vans is the scene. But there are some very good restaurants, fun bars and the vibe makes it all feel rather hip and cool in an understated way.
If you are looking for a non-resort 'resort' than Martinhal is the place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Many thanks for your loyalty and lovely review.
We are so happy to know that we keep successfully surpassing all your expectations! We are very glad to know how much you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of our Ocean Houses as well as all our superb facilities, programs and activities for all ages. We all look forward to your return and providing many more beautiful experiences as well as the opportunity to explore more top spot neighbouring beaches. Obrigada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for 10 days in October in the Vilas Mimosa as we wanted the flexibility of self-catering facilities.

This is the first time we went to a resort of any type. As independent travellers, now with 2 children aged 10 months and 3 years, we booked the place with some trepidation.

I have nothing bad, however, to say about Martinhal. It is well organised, the staff are very friendly, the facilities good, the activities and amenities for kids are well thought-out, and the service excellent. The kids loved it, and the “distractions” available for the children at the restaurants – a play area with supervision – was a welcome respite for us from the rigours of building sand castles or teaching the kids how to swim in one of the four pools. I was particularly impressed with these staff whose job it is to work directly with the kids and in the crèche or the children’s clubs.

I would hesitate to recommend this place to anyone without kids unless it was low season, although you would have the restaurants and bars to yourself after 9pm.

There was some minor inconvenience when dealing over the phone with the front desk. The baby-sitter turned up on the wrong night and a taxi I asked for was not booked, so I felt compelled to double-check later each time I ordered something. And twice I was charged at a restaurant for a bottle of wine when I had ordered a glass. But these things happen anywhere and always it was dealt efficiently and good-heartedly, so I didn’t really care.

I would suggest to the owners in investing in a large space with a modern big playground facility to complement the other smaller play areas.

I highly recommend this place for those with kids, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorcupineGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Our sincere thanks for your very lovely compliments. Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognised.
We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family next year and to provide plenty more exceptional holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $181 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing