We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, for families, clean.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful, for families, clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our 9 year old in a garden 2 bed villa which was very well appointed and clean with good beds. We were amazed how poor the outside paint and how many broken outside tiles there were given the age of the place. The place is definitely geared to younger children. There were a few our sons age but under 5s everywhere-fabulous for those families. The facilities clearly expect more little ones with the abundance of play areas but only one room set up for older ones which wasn,t restricted so we often had to wait for young kids to come off.

I was concerned there were no apparent restrictions on the Internet, w stayed with our son but there were other kids on their own on the Internet.

Staff were probably the most friendly we have met anywhere but the service was haphazard. We had two trays of drinks spilt all over us and an unopened bottle of wine dropped on my husbands shoulder.

The main restaurant needs to sort it's menu out-too limited. Italian restaurant vey good and great atmosphere. The daily specials provided the variety. The fish restaurant was good but the food got cold too quick as it is such a windy spot-some awnings would be good. Why can't one of the restaurants have a cut off time of say 7pm when under 5s are excluded so adults with older kids can have a more enjoyable experience?

Overall, a remarkably peaceful holiday with your own garden to sit in. Our son enjoyed sports coaching and dipping in and out of kids club. We were happy letting wander round the resort on his own, it certainly feels safe and all within 5 mins walk from the house.

Not sure it needs an adult pool but again perhaps enforce the club 98 pool to over 8s and adults?

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We take our clients expectations very seriously, especially when travelling with children who enjoy a large choice of activities and their parents who look forward to simply relaxing!

It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. We ensure you that at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel no efforts are spared towards our continuous progress.

Further to your comments on our Blue Room and Internet this is an area for all our clients without age restriction where they will find a wide selection of free facilities like computers, table tennis, pool tables and books available.

We do regret not providing you and your family with the quality of service that we strive for and apologize for any inconveniences experienced.Please note that your impressions on the quality of service in our Restaurants were presented to our F&B Management Team.

We all look forward to host you and your family again for a much improved holiday experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    300
    82
    36
    12
See reviews for
835
184
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Unfortunately I couldn't stay over here, but I had a complete site inspection in the resort. I have never seen such child friendly hotel. In fact the hotel is made for babies and very young children, it's really unbelievable! They really have all facilities from a baby concierge, a very nice supermarket with all possible aminities, nice pools, different baby & kids clubs etc.
I've really enjoyed the Scandinavian design and the very nice interior of the main restaurant and the lobby area. The different food&beverage outlets are really nice and the rates of the extras are not overpriced at all! The Spa is a beauty and they even propose programs and treatments for mothers and their babies.
So I want to spend with your children the best holidays ever, you really need to come over here! As the resort is packed with families with babies and children, I woudln't recommend the hotel for couples.

Room Tip: I can recommend the Pinewood Houses, as they are the only ones with a (nice) private pool. The vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miraKGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know how much you have enjoyed your site inspection at Martinhal.
We look forward to warmly welcome you again soon. Obrigada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are currently on holiday at Martinhal and are very sad to be leaving on Saturday. We stayed at the resort two years ago and all the facilities have improved so much. The management and staff have listened to guests comments and responded. The M bar is a real focal point and the entertainment for the children is super. The staff are very friendly and helpful going out of their way to speak to all.
The weather is just perfect, the wind really cools it down and it would certainly be far too hot otherwise. We would certainly recommend this resort and hopefully will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJH277777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
On behalf of the all of us at Martinhal many thanks for your fantastic review!
It’s heart-warming to know all our efforts are recognised and that we are on the right path to continuously surpass our Clients expectations. It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you and your family loved your stay and enjoyed some of the secrets of this beautiful part of the Western Algarve!
We all look forward to your return and provide you and your family with many more perfect holiday experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Martinhal Resort is an absolutely beautiful resort set in one of the most peaceful places on earth, Sagres, Portugal. The resort is impeccably manicured, the units tastefully decorated, and a friendly staff. Unfortunately, the ENTIRE resort caters to children. The resort advertises itself as family friendly...and believe me, there are running, screaming, and crying kids everywhere. There are four pools, none of which are Adult Only. We are an older couple, have raised our children, and do not particularly care to listen to everyone's else's screaming children while on vacation trying to relax. Of the four pools I mentioned, one is a smaller one set within the garden area. It would make sense for at least that pool to be Adult Only. In addition, there is a beautiful restaurant on the property which overlooks the water. The last seating for people with children is 7:30 pm. However, there is no time limit as to when they must leave. We therefore found ourselves dressed up for the evening, wishing for a romantic dinner, and instead found ourselves seated among two tables with high-chairs and whining toddlers. SO...if you are looking for a great place to vacation with the kiddies, Martinhal is definitely the place. If you are looking for peace and solitude, be prepared for somewhat the opposite.

To end my review, I would like to re-emphasize what a beautiful place this is. We will definitely return in the future, but with ear plugs and patience in tow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrinaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We regret to know how much the presence of children has interfered with your enjoyment of Martinhal. There is no secret that Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is rated as the best luxury family destination in Europe and we regret that your expectations regarding our Hotel were different.

Nevertheless, we do understand that when staying at Martinhal without your own children you might find it a little challenging to get away from other Guests' children. To this we wish to inform that Martinhal has approx. 42 hectares and there are plenty of places to get away from the crowds and children; besides our Finisterra Spa where so many adults enjoy their time in we also have a adult-only sun deck by.

With regards to your comments on a adults-only pool .On this note we would like to add that a adults-only pool is something we are currently spending a lot time discussing to see what would be the best concept/ swimming pool whilst trying to please all concerned i.e. adults only and families - which has proven to be very challenging task.

We all hope that the good memories of your stay surpass the less positive aspects.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and ensure you that we are committed to excel our Guests expectations.
We will look forward to your return to Martinhal where you will experience our positive progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our second time in Martinhal both times we stayed in a garden house. The first time we went off peak in March and went on a half board basis, the kids club was also free the last time we stayed. This time as we were travelling in July it was obviously a lot more expensive so we stayed in a one bedroom instead of a two bedroom house and went self catering. The last time we went we had been overall happy but disappointed with the service in the restaurants which we were assured were just having teething problems and would be improved. I definitely did think the service had improved greatly but we just didn't end up using the restaurants that much this time as we generally ate at Nortada on the beach which was great and less than half the price, the kids could play in the sand dunes between courses.

The kids club is really expensive, almost €50 to leave both children for a couple of hours. Our eldest went twice and our youngest once. The one thing I would recommend avoiding is the sunset club. It is expensive at €25 per child and we decided to book it for one evening. We booked for the Sunday night which was advertised as the jungle party and we were preparing our two all day telling them that they were going to a jungle party with all the other children. They even brought banana shaped sweets to share! We went to the Fox club which was the advertised location and waited for about 10 minutes but nobody showed. Then we went to the main kids club and the staff member for the sunset club was there! We then realised that no other children had booked in. While of course this is not the resorts fault we would really have appreciated them letting us know as we would have cancelled and we didn't know what to do at that stage. We went for a quick meal in Nortada but to be honest we didn't relax and sure enough when we went back our boys were not one bit happy. As the club took place in the main kids club they could see all the other kids outside playing in the village square but were told they weren't allowed outside to join them. They put on a DVD for them but my youngest (age four) hates dvd's and really doesn't like sitting in front of the telly at all, he is more active. All in all we had two very upset boys and I would really have preferred if we had been informed that there were no other children booked as they had been so looking forward to it. On a positive note my older boy had a ball in the fox club doing the treasure hunt and this was a really well executed activity that he still talks about.
All in all I thought the service had really improved in the resort and there is no doubt that for parents with small children it is a fantastic place to truly relax. We especially loved the new M bar which does a reasonable continental breakfast if you are self catering.
We loved the pool in the middle of the garden houses and almost always had it to ourselves which really surprised me. Overall the resort seemed really quiet considering it was July, I was expecting a shortage of sunbeds/difficulty getting tables etc. but it was just nicely busy and we didn't need to book dinner. We hired a car and loved Zavial beach and some of the other small beaches close by. This is a really beautiful unspoiled part of the Algarve.

Room Tip: The one bedroom garden villa is a good budget option, the bunk beds were fine in the living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARPADJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to return to Martinhal and for your review on your most recent stay. At Martinhal we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference to properly enjoy truly a wonderful family holiday.

We appreciate your opinion on our Kids Clubs fees, as this is something that not all Clients would do.
On this note, please note that on Martinhal’s first year of operation, we offered introductory sessions to promote the Kids Clubs and Leisure activities.
Some of these services have now a fee associated. In this respect, prior to implementing all our prices, extensive market research and analyzes was carried out. All relevant factors were indeed carefully considered. As a result, we are proud to inform that our prices are not higher than the prices charged in other 5 star resorts in the Algarve.
We have also registered your opinion regarding the activities in our Fox Club and forwarded them to the management of our Kids Club Team

We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed our new M Bar which is a recent addition to Martinhal and proving to be a great success with our clients.

We thank you once again for your feedback and suggestions as we monitor this very closely to ensure that we can constantly improve.
We are continuously developing our products and services in response to our Client’s feedback as we strive to surpass our Guests expectations.

We all look forward to welcome you and your family again for another fantastic holiday – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a relaxing week at Martinhal at the end of June and stayed in one of the Bay Houses. The villa was beautifully furnished and had great views of the sea. The bedrooms were on the ground floor and the open plan kitchen/dining/lounge area on the first floor with a balcony on both sides so you can get sunshine all day!

The resort has a choice of pools and a beautiful sandy beach with watersports for the more energetic! the restuarants serve great food which is not too expensive. Our favourite was `As Dunas' which is very relaxed with fantastic views over the ocean. Service is friendly and efficient.

Although there is everything you need on the resort, it would be best to hire a car if you want to explore more of the algarve. We would definitely recommend it to families with children and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_H580430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It is our goal to exceed expectations and we appreciate you letting us know we did in so many ways. Thank you!
We hope you will continue to make Martinhal your first choice and we look forward to welcome you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We, that is the wife and I, and three children aged 15(!), 13(!) and 4(!), stayed in a 3 bedroom ocean villa. Accommodation was faultless, with a spacious and fabulously specified villa with fantastic sea views which was well worth the extra cost.
Pools and beach were excellent, if quite windy at times but the resort can't be blamed for that.
Food was generally of a very good standard, particularly in O Terraco. The service there was also excellent and the staff should, both at breakfast and dinner, be congratulated. The seafood restaurant As Dunas is a different kettle of fish (ho ho) however. Whist the food was very good, the service was patchy to say the least. Some of the staff seemed to be trying hard, but on one occasion we were there the kitchen and dining room seemed to be on the brink of meltdown with staff openly shouting at each other, wrong orders being delivered and significant delays in receiving service. All of this is unacceptable to my mind in a restaurant aspiring to 5 star standards.
Service at reception was very friendly and helpful particularly when our air con broke down at 10:30pm and when I needed some matches at 11:00 (see below for reason why).
Thanks very much for the complimentary cake which was provided for my wife's birthday. Very nice cake with candles.
We were surprised there were no bath robes provided in the villa.
Overall we really enjoyed this trip and would definitely recommend Martinhal for families with hound children. If there were three things which could be changed then I would be back like a shot:
1. Sort out the service in As Dumas
2. Bathrobes in the villas
3. A couple more restaurant options wouldn't go amiss

Room Tip: Go for the ocean villas if you want to make the most of the coastal setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntoTheBlueAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah T, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed our beautiful and very comfortable luxurious accommodation, our attentive service and many features that make Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel all so special.

We totally agree that the quality of service and friendliness of staff can be the “make or break” of our success. We therefore thank you for your kind appreciation of our service, it is very reassuring and encouraging to all the Martinhal team to know we are on the right path.

In particular, we would like to thank you for your recognition of our staff in O Terrcao, they were thrilled to know your appreciation of their service.

With regards to your comments towards our restaurant As Dunas and the service being sometimes slower than expected, we appreciate bringing this matter to our attention. We regret not providing you with the quality of service that we strive for in this restaurant and apologize for any inconveniences experienced

Glad you all appreciated the birthday cake, thank you for choosing to celebrate such important celebration with us!

We appreciate your opinion regarding bath robes in the villas and kindly note that this has been registered and presented to our Housekeeping Management Team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon for more memorable holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
14.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing