We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martinhal beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just returned after a weeks stay at Martinhal beach resort, where we had a fabulous time. This being our first abroad holiday with our young children, we wanted to get it right, and we most definitely did. We will be rebooking in the near future.

Resort pros
1. Types of accommodation availability
2. Caters well for family needs
3. Friendly staff
4. Close to beach
5. Spa
6.Cleanliness
7. Professional

Resort cons
1. Pricey food
2. Some luxury villas a 10 min walk from centre of the village
3. Not much to do locally, off resort

We stayed in Villa 8, which was perfect for our family. Masses of space and a heated outdoor pool. We did have a couple of maintenance issues during our stay, but these were sorted within 10-30 mins of our complaint, and certainly wouldn't deter us from staying there again. Having said this, it was a little far from the centre of the complex, which with toddlers, wasn't ideal. Next time we hope to book an Ocean view villa, which is more central.

Overall, the entire family had a wonderful stay, and us adults found it as relaxing as possible with toddlers. We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Fantastic! How wonderful to know how much you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel!
On your next stay we will be delighted to recommend you a wide range of activities and places to visit for more exceptional holiday experiences.
Thank you for your lovely review, we too look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent the week leading upto Easter at Martinahl with our one and a half year old son. Having read the reviews, we knew it would be a good holiday, but it surpassed our expectations on all fronts. The resort, accomodation, eating and children’s play areas – they are all very well thought out with attention to detail. We stayed at the Ocean House which had been carefully childproofed; and all essentials supplied. We loved the views and the space was just perfect. Our son spent lots of time in the village square – the playarea there is fantastic and kept him engaged for hours! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Spa therapists are exceptionally good! We also spent time exploring the nearby areas – cycling and driving. We had a fantastic time and would love to go back again!

A lot of reviews we read suggested shopping at InterMache nearby, which we did and were quite disappointed with the food quality. The Martinhall village shop is better equipped – and easier to navigate though too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mayank_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

It’s heart-warming to know all our efforts are recognised. Thank you for your lovely review!
Your appreciation is the best motivation for the Martinhal Team to continually surpass our Clients expectations.
We will also be delighted to welcome you and your family again – hopefully very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Fantastic vacation – superb location with very high quality houses, restaurants, pools, spa … in summary everything. The staff was truly amazing, always friendly and helpful no matter time or day or the type of request. Cannot think of anything that still can be improved

Room Tip: Pinewood house - very spacious with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, personal pool - and within a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 908YvesV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We could not have asked for a better review!
Thank you very much for sharing with us your wonderful experience at Martinhal and letting us know how we have surpassed all your expectations.
We all look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A fantastic resort, which is difficult to fault. We've stayed twice with our two young children in the 2-bedroom houses, which are ideal, with stylish and high quality furinture and fittings. The beach is beautiful, and it's also well worth hiring a car to visit some of the other spectacular beaches in the area. Yes, the prices in the bar and restaurants are fairly expensive (although not extortionate), as is the small on-site supermarket, but you really can't expect anything different in such a high-class resort. It's perfect for toddlers and young children, and we hope to return once again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

It is a pleasure and very gratifying to know that all our Clients feel exactly as you do! Many thanks for your loyalty and for taking the time to post your warm words.
We too, we also hope to welcome you all back for more superb and fantastic holidays at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

When planning our family trip to Portugal we decided to mix travel with a little bit of resort time. We chose Martinhal as our resort destination as our family includes two very young children (5 and 1), and what an excellent choice it was! Our Ocean House was beautiful, spcacious, well equipped, and comfortable. The facilities at the hotel are top notch and very well designed. We loved how tasteful and modern the hotel was, enjoyed morning walk on the beach and trails, having morning coffee at Dunas and later drinks at the Surf Bar.

Our 5yr old enjoyed his time at the Fox Club (thank you Hugo and Eduardo from Harley): the activities were fun, well-organized and suitable for both boys and girls (the Zumba party was a hit). We also took our son to a pony ride and Tiffany's Riding School, which was co-ordinated by the hotel and that was one of the trip highlights for him. Other events, such as Circus Night were fun and the special Choco-Banana cocktail the Surf Bar staff especially prepared for him is still remembered. When we checked-out we asked him what was his favourite thing at Martinhal, and he said: "everything".

The famiily resort concept is very well executed at Martinhal and the attention to detail is much appreciated: from the welcome gifts to the children, the well-equiped villa (especially the kitchen and laundry facilities), the welcome package, the amazing toiletries provided, the daily newsletters, the play areas, and the beautfiful slik design everywhere you go. We loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We too, we can’t wait to welcome you all back for more spectacular and memorable holidays at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel! Thank you for posting your lovely review and reassuring us that we are on the right path in surpassing our Clients expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Let me just say: you don't come across perfect hotels all the time but this place fits the bill. The service, the rooms, the hospitality and the location. It really was special! A few little things as need I say much more:

- Loved the villas. It was so nice to come back after a day's sight seeing to lounge about and relax watching English news channels, rather than having to just put up with CNN. Also, the welcome pack upon arrival was much appreciated!

- Service. People couldn't stop smiling and wanting to help. It really is a nice touch. Thank you.

- food. We ate at all the restaurants and loved them all. The variety was fantastic and the quality of the cooking and service was brilliant.

- Location. Nestled away from the touristy areas, Martinhal was the perfect place to explore the beautiful local beaches and country. You do though need a car, as its approximately 1.20 hours from Faro and also to see the local beaches.

Thank you to all the staff there - would have no hesitation to returning and recommending to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottyr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

How wonderful to know that you had a perfect stay with us at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel.
On behalf of the whole Martinhal Team, I thank you for your fantastic review! It’s heart-warming to know all our efforts are recognised.
We all also look forward to providing you with more outstanding holiday experiences in the near future as well as to all your friends to whom you have kindly recommended us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We decided to book a last minute holiday to try and get some sun that was nt going to involve a long flight or transfer time. Martinhal came up on a number of google searchs and having spoken to the very helpful and friendly reservation staff and been offered a reasonable last minute deal be booked. We have not been disapointed, the resort is only three years old and still looks almost new, the buildings and landscaping is beautifully done, interiors are modern and chic. The Staff are attentive but not too formal, friendly and very helpful. There seem to be swimming pools where ever you turn with inside and outside options allowing you a good choice depending on the weather ( which has been mixed when we were here -early April- although we have been assured this is unusual for this time of year) There is a choice of 3 resort restaurants offering different styles of food as well as two independant local restaurant/cafes on the beach. There is a games room for teenagers with pool, table tennis, air hockey, free computers, table football etc, down stairs in the "surf bar" videos , free ipad games, soft pay areas etc etc. This really is a family resort and although couples would be looked after well I can imagine at the height of the season if you did nt have children it might not suit you quite so well. The Martinhal Beach Resort is a wonderful relaxing oasis and has been a lovely introduction to Portugal for us and our 6 year old daughter- Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salix66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

It gives us great pleasure to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you kindly mentioned, we do take every aspect seriously and we also strongly believe that small details do make a difference. It is therefore very rewarding and reassuring when an increasing number of our Clients, like you, rate Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel as the best luxury family destination in Europe.
We all look forward of hosting you again and to provide you and your family with plenty more memorable holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
145 reviews
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $178 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing