We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but needs more around it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Martinhal is a great resort on a great beech with great accommodation. The apartments are superb and the pools and restaurants lovely

Sagres offers nothing to make this a good place to go on holiday and lets Martinhal down.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It is so good to know how much you enjoyed our superb, comfortable and luxurious accommodation, first class hospitality and fantastic facilities in our privilege location by the lovely Martinhal Beach.
On your return – hopefully very soon - we will be delighted to provide you with information on our region’s impressive history and culture (the realm of Prince Henry the Navigator and Portugal’s Age of Discovery during the 15th century), recommend best folk festivals, markets and fairs, the best historic sites, museums (well worth a visit) as well as the best places to enjoy our region’s breathtaking views and unspoiled beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always a pleasure to holiday here. Kids club is just brilliant. Apartments are great too.

Everywhere is clean and very well maintained.

Food is good, although a bit pricey and the buffet dinner in the hotel over half term is not great value.

Will be heading back next year

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worzel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your delightful review and for once again making Martinhal your first choice.
It is indeed a great pleasure and very gratifying to know how much you and your family spent a brilliant holiday with us.
Your kind appreciation of our services is heart-warming as we aim to continuously surpass our Clients expectations.
We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second trip to martinhal, and we're looking forward to our trip next year,the boys age are ages 8 and 10 , they were busy all day between tennis swimming ,football, and if they were bored they could head to the blue room, where they had table tennis, playstations or watch a movie, or made new friends, the staff are very helpfull and friendly.

The beach is a great for an evening walk any time of year, and the boys loved the trampoline....martinhal is a great place for all the family, and having wifi in your house or even by the pool was great....so I guess I am a big fan.

Room Tip: Not all houses have heated pools in the winter , so ask first , this trip we took a garden house ,an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

How wonderful to learn that you and your family had a perfect stay and without a dull moment! Thank you for your fantastic review and for your loyalty to Martinhal. Your kind words are very rewarding; it’s fantastic to know our efforts are recognised.
We also look forward to warmly welcome you and your family next year and to provide plenty more exceptional holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went at October half term with teenage children.

The apartments are excellent...well appointed with great views. The service was by and large pretty good too and the pool by the beach was fine as was the beach itself.

The disappointing aspect was the choice of food. The Italian restaurant was shut and the main hotel restaurant, whose Portuguese "fine dining" was a factor in our booking the holiday, served a disappointingly generic buffet for the entire week with the a la carte menu out of commission.

This left one restaurant...As Dunas....that appealed. We liked As Dunas but not enough to go every night and we ended up going into Sagres where we would have been happy to stay in the resort given a decent choice.

The resort was busy but did not seem packed and the decision to dumb down O Terraco for the fortnight did not work for us at all.

If you have not got small children, turn up for dinner after 8

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lewis_Ma_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing with us your wonderful family experience at Martinhal. Your kind words of appreciation of our service are very rewarding.
We regret to know that you find our food choice limited. During the Half-term holidays we held at Martinhal a special Family Surf Spirit program with many activities. The buffet dinner service in O Terraço Restaurant is not usual and was done especially to suit the topic of Surf and in view of the high number of families staying with us. Nevertheless, although our Italian Concept Restaurant was closed, we had a wide selection of take-away pizzas available as well as delicious take-away meals from O Mercado.
We look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcome you all back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Starting with the plus points - The kids facilities and kids club - all great. The kids get a present when they arrive (bat & ball game, or bucket & spade or armbands) which was a nice touch. The proximity to the beach. The set up for kids in the restaurants was good, with little tables with colouring and toys for them to play with. The spa treatments were great - my 4 year old loved her massage with mummy and was given her own robe and looked so cute, I loved my facial and my husband had a good massage.

However, even with the spa there were problems - no hot drinks, sauna and steam room not working... In fact almost every aspect of the hotel could be improved in some way!

The rooms are unsuitable for toddlers as everything is at coffee table height - tv, phone, music system, lights... crockery and glasses are all in a cupboard at the same kind of height, so within a day my 21 month old continuously turned the TV on and off, called reception about 100 times until I unplugged the phone to move it and opened and got out all the glasses out onto the tiled floor - a minor miracle that nothing was broken, well apart from 2 lightbulbs!

Our other issue with the room was the underfloor heating that didn't work... and took 2 days to fix. I was told that it was an problem they knew about so it would take a while to fix as if this was an excuse - when they should have fixed it already if they knew it was a problem!

The restaurants were expensive and a disappointment. This is the main reason not to visit out of season, we went october half-term and one restaurant was closed and one only served a poor standard buffet (with nothing for kids to eat). Visit the beach restaurant (independent) instead as its half the price and twice as good as the hotel.

Staffing issues: Some staff very friendly and helpful others extremely surly... The reception had also moved because it was out of season and was often unmanned. Double check things like babysitters as ours was cancelled without our knowledge!

As you'd expect the weather in October was a bit hit and miss - when it was sunny it was lovely, but cold (coat weather) when it was cloudy. And very windy (apparently this is a feature all year round)

Final bugbear was that although I applaud it's eco-friendliness, they heat their pools with solar panels - that means that when its cloudy the pools aren't heated - exactly when you need them to be heated!! So predictably the pools in October were cold at 24degrees!

With all these problems, we did still have a fun holiday but I put that down to the company (we were away with friends), the beach and getting some sunshine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us.
We are very glad that your little ones enjoyed their welcome presents and that our specially created play areas in our restaurants did contribute to a superior dinning experience.
How wonderful to learn of your lovely family memories of our Kids Clubs, children’s facilities, SPA our privileged location, etc. It was a pleasure to pamper you all with our fantastic treatments some of which, as you had the opportunity to indulge, where specially created for “Mother & daughter”.
Further to your review, please allow us to make the following observations:
• Some of the facilities that our Guests may enjoy in our SPA are: sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish-bath, relaxing areas and others which have all been fully operational without any limitations.
• In the relaxing areas we have available complementary water, cold teas and a selection of dried fruits. As per our standards, the hot herbal teas are offered after each treatment by our therapists as they are freshly and individually prepared for each Client.
• Please kindly note that we do take the security of our little valued Guest very seriously plus we have available to all our Clients our Baby Concierge where numerous items can be requested for an easier and more relaxed family stay. We therefore regret not knowing earlier that your did not find the furniture height suitable for your children as we would have gladly present you with adequate solutions so that you could fully enjoy the comfort of our luxurious accommodation.
• Further to your comments regarding the under floor heating kindly note that since the end of last winter none of our prior Clients staying in your accommodation had requested to have it switch on, in fact our wonderful weather conditions do not allow much need to use this luxury feature. However, as you may recall this situation was promptly resolved by our Maintenance Team (nevertheless, and as explained, please note that the under floor heating system does not show its results as fast as the air-conditioning which is was also one of the equipments available in your accommodation for heating).
• During the past fortnight, our Martinhal Family Surf Spirit weeks were running with various activities for kids on Half-term holidays including Surf awareness sessions, Surf displays by surf legend Fabio Gouveia, Surf shaping displays and so on – all of which took place even in this cold and wet weather, which is not at all usual for our Autumns.
The surf spirit buffet which we laid on is also not usual and was done especially for our Surf Spirit weeks to change the theme of the dining area to suit the topic of Surf. We are sorry that your children didn’t have a good enough choice – we will work on this and in fact, for Christmas and New Year, we will be running a special children’s buffet in that same restaurant to enable families to have a lovely Christmas celebration together. Please also note that although one of our restaurants is currently closed we continue to have a wide selection of take-away pizzas available as well as delicious take-away meals from O Mercado.
• We regret that you have not experienced the quality of service that we are so highly renowned and we strive to provide. On this note all our Front Office Team is now located in our Hotel Reception which is operational 24h. On this note we wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the miscommunication when your have contacted us to rearrange your babysitting dates. Please kindly note that this was a very unusual situation.
• In deed we had some days with some showers during the period of your stay where the average temperature was 22ºC. However, our Leisure and Kids Club Teams add daily family programs to keep everyone entertained when the sun was not out in its full glory as we are so well used to.
• We do take pride and being eco-friendly resort however please note that the swimming pools are not 100% heated by solar panels. Solar panels are only part of the energy source to keep the temperatures of our swimming pools between 26ºC and 29ºC. Kindly also note that these temperatures are constantly computer monitored to ensure the ideal conditions and enjoyment of our Clients.
Thank you once again for your review whish has been presented to our Senior Management. We all hope that the above as been of help to clear any misconceptions and that you will choose to return to Martinhal in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoying a week here . Villas are very well appointed , spacious and comfortable, hard to fault. Kids club for teenagers and younger kids is best have seen. pS3 table tennis , etc However part of the attraction to come here was the "Football Academy" for my 13 year old son and his friend. Baring in mind they play Football to a fairly high standard at home the resort does not offer anything approaching a Football Academy. 2 Indifferent sessions and one cancelled due to coach being off. La manga is streets ahead . 2 tennis courts for the whole complex must surely be too few in high season . Resort is beautifully appointed , food and facilities good but it is not a Football academy ! Could also do with a bar as is no focal point to meet up . Is either restaurant or village square , which is a really well set out area but the "bar" was merely there to support take aways. Despite negative comments I would both recommend and would come back but need to sort out the Football Coaching as described and set up a focal point bar .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know how much you and your family enjoyed our beautiful and very comfortable luxurious accommodation, our beautiful kept grounds, our top quality facilities and services and many special features that make Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel all so special.
On your note regarding our Football Academy, we regret that you have not found it suitable as they are aimed at beginners and intermediate levels. Nevertheless, our coaches are very willing to organize special classes according to our Clients individual specifications, therefore prior to your next stay please update us on your expectations so that we may exceed them! We are also happy to announce that next year we will have a new family bar in our Village Square as the existing facility is only a temporarily solution.
We will be looking forward to your return where you and your family will definitely experience our continuous positive progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is my second stay at this fabulous resort, staying each time with my friend. The first time we stayed was in May this year when we arrived a bit upset because we had been offered a horrible room at the Memmo Baleeira, where we had also stayed previously. The room at the Memmo Baleeira was so disappointing and, as we had driven around the Martinhal resort the previous year, we decided to see if they could offer us anything. The result was we were offered a hotel room, well they are actually beyond the hotel and facing the sea, and it was so very nice that we decided to book a Bayhouse villa this October.

We were not disappointed, it was truly wonderful. We seemed to be lucky enough to be upgraded to a 3 bedroomed villa. It was spacious, modern and spotlessly clean and in a wonderful location with the National Park at the rear and a glorious view of the sea, and pretty gardens and other villas to look at from the front. There are balconies at the front and back so you can follow the sun, and a private garden area at the back with your own sunbeds.

We did not eat in any of the restaurants this time, preferring to buy and cook our own food. There is a mini shop on site, if you forget anything, and a large supermarket just past Martinhal as you go in to Sagres, on the left. There are two fridges in the villas, plus a dishwasher - hurrah - and a washing machine, in fact everything one needs to make it a great stay. The beds are very comfortable, the pillows are not, unfortunately, a minor thing that can be rectified. The bathrooms are modern and very attractive with lots of lovely bath products and soft white towels and a heated towel rail.

I would just like to mention to Paula that it would be nice if the other bedrooms, other than the master bedroom, could have a small dressing table and stool, and a bedside lamp, other than the wall lights, I had to borrow a lamp from my friend's bedroom as I couldn't see to read from the wall light. There are no pictures, no tissues, no niceities at all in the other bedrooms which seems a bit unfair. It would be useful to have a steamer and also a masher in the kitchen. And the biggest request is to please have a table and chairs on one of the balconies so that one can eat outside if required. When one reaches a certain age it is very difficult to get down on to a bean bag seat, and even harder to get up from them! These are not moans, just, hopefully, a few hints or requests, for other people as well, to make the stay even more wonderful, if that is possible.....

To conclude, my friend and I have already decided that we will be returning next year, twice if we can afford it. If you are looking for peace and quiet and luxury in beautiful surroundings then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrisDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Many thanks for your loyalty and very kind review.
We are delighted to know how much you and your friend enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your suggestions have been conveyed to our Senior Management however, we regret not knowing your impressions earlier as we would have done our outmost to meet your requests.
We are also looking forward to welcome you and your friend for another wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
6.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
762 reviews
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $191 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing