We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, terrible service......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A really beautiful hotel, fantastic location, great facilities but really patchy service that does not match a hotel with five stars

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

We are very glad that you enjoyed our beautiful and luxurious Hotel, amazing facilities and wonderful location. At Martinhal we have always been proud of our professionalism and friendliness therefore we regret to know that you did not experience the quality of service that we are renowned for.
We hope that you will choose to return to Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel so that you may experience our 5 star quality service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay in an Ocean View House with our two children aged 6 and 4. We had a brilliant time. The resort is perfect for families with children, everything is geared up to suit both parents and children.

We ate at the resort every night, Oz Gambozinos was our favourite as our one experience at As Dunas was disappointing. The service there was no where near as attentive, we waited 20 minutes even though we had a reservation and found the food average and the service poor.
Oz Gambozinos on the other hand was brilliant, great staff, great menu and everyone was friendly and accommodating. We loved the way the children's food was served first so they could eat then go and play in Village Square while the adults enjoyed a leisurely meal. Not once did we feel rushed.

The Village Square was lovely, a perfect place for the children to play, cycle and make friends while parents could keep an eye on them, brilliant idea !
Our children visited the kids club on 3 occasions and loved it, my daughter took a real shine to Rita.
We were really impressed with the supermarket there too, after reading reviews we went to the supermarket in Sagres but to be honest we didn't use half the things we bought and we could of found everything we needed at the resort.

The swimming pool areas are lovely, we only used the one near reception as the children loved the inflatable toys and we loved Ricardo who made us coffee and baguettes each day - he is a great asset ! We visited the other pools, the Oasis Pool was freezing (unheated) and the beach pool seemed more suited to families with older children.

The Ocean House was superb, very well equipped, furnished beautifully and we had a fab view. We did have one minor incident with Housekeeping which was quickly and satifactorily resolved.

We found little to do around the area and early into our break wondered if we would get cabin fever being in the resort but that was not the case at all. Our stay was wonderful and non of us wanted to leave, especially our daughter who cried all the way to Faro !

We can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lucy0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

We are delighted to know that you and your family had a wonderful week at Martinhal.
Many thanks for such compliments! It is of prime importance to us that our Clients enjoy a wonderful family experience. Therefore, it is so good to know that we are succeeding in providing comfortable and luxurious accommodation with breathtaking views, superb hospitality, fantastic facilities and excellent service.
Thank you for your recognition of our staff attitude. We will pass on your appreciation of the service provided by Rita and Ricardo.
Nevertheless, we do regret that your experience in As Dunas restaurant did not meet our usual standards. Your feedback has been conveyed to our F&B Management Team. With regards to the minor incident with Housekeeping, we are glad that we have resolved it promptly and to your satisfaction. At Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel we are continuously assessing each and every comment received, looking at ways to improve our services and surpass our Guests expectations.
We do hope that you will continue to make Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel your first choice as we also look forward to welcome you and your family again for another wonderful holiday. (Next time hopefully, without tears on the way back to the airport!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Just returned from a 9 night stay, Our Villa (in Villa Mimosa) was lovely, spotlessly clean throughout the holiday, lovely comfy beds, high spec appliances etc.
The wind ... most days this was refreshing as it kept the temerature down a little.
Childrens facilities, trampoline & sand pit next to fish restaurant, great. Village square with playhouses & bikes, great. Childrens club, prices seem to vary greatly. Our 3 & 6 Year olds did a evening of 2 hours at a cost of 7.50 euros, which seemed good value, when then booked them in for a 43 hour afternoon session, cost for 6 year old was 10.50 euros which is reasonable but the cost for the 3 year old shot up from 7.50 euros for a 2 hour session to a wapping 19.50 euros for a 3 hour session. This is a little steep.
Food, the fish restaurant next to the beach pool is fabulous, great menu with lots of fish options but also steak, burgers etc. We ate here alot during our stay as its handy for the pool & has the added bonus of the sandpit & trampoline area just below so you can watch the kids play & enjoy a glass of wine or two!
The terrace restauant is OK but nothing to entertain the children, we took colouring etc the night we went with ours. It is not as good quality as the fish restaurant & service not as good, we werent even offered a wine list!
The restaurant in the village square .... suffers when busy, we ate there our last night when the childrens club staff were putting on entertainment in the square for the children. The entertainment was excellent but the restaurant just couldnt cope with the number of people & nooone seemed to know what they were doing. We purposely pre-booked our table days in advance on the terrace so that we could see the children playing, when we arrived they told us that wasnt possible as everyone wanted to eat outside, thats why we had reserved in the first place! We therefore had to wait a good 30 minutes for our table, the childrens food came quick & was fine but ours took ages, they kept bringing food which we hadnt ordered, which gave the message that they didnt know who had ordered what! When ours eventually arrived I had to send it back as it was cold. Even getting a drink seemed to be a chore on that eveving!
Stick with the fish restaurant its great.
Hire cars word of warning dont use Thrifty, when we got to the airport they told us the Peugeut 307 we had booked had been involved in a crash & the only car was could have was a tiny one which meant the kids had to have a holdall in between them in the back of the car as the boot was tiny, this infact was dangerous. The car also had something wrong with the fanbelt & pulled to the right of the road all the time. It was like "Del Boys" car. Dont use Thrifty!
Overall a lovely relaxing holiday & we would return again.
Geared mostly to people with children under say 10 in my opinion, would not recommend for couples without children.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

It is very rewarding to know that you and your family had a lovely stay with us and that we successfully provided you all with a win-win perfect combination. We do take our Clients expectations seriously, especially when travelling with children who enjoy a large choice of activities and their parents that look forward to a relaxing time!
With regards to your comments on Kids Clubs fees, kindly note that the Sunset Activities have a higher ratio of children per staff member - as it covers the ages between 3 to 9 years. For this reason, there is a difference between the day sessions and evening session’s prices. We regret if this was not properly explained to you earlier.
On your note regarding Os Gambozinos restaurant, please note that it was conveyed to our F&B Management Team and adequate measures were adopted to avoid these situations from occurring again. We do apologise for the inconveniences and highly recommend you to try Os Gambozinos your next stay - we are sure that you will be positively surprised!
Further to your experience in O Terraço, please note that its concept is indeed more suitable for adults/ couples. However, when our Clients with young children book this restaurant in advance, a staff member for our Kids Club is present to entertain the children between 17h30 and 20h30.
Prior to your next stay, we will be most glad to provide you with further information on how to take full advantage of our services and activities (e.g. Explores and Adventure Clubs for children between 9 and 18 years old, Pick & Choose Program for all the family and many more).
We are all looking forward to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This place is a great find for people with young families. Overall we found the facilities to be great and overall despite it being half term, with the right foresight to book and time things, we really got to access everything we wanted to across the full spectrum of facilities.

We moved from a garden house by club 98 to an ocean house half way through our stay, as the garden house wasn't sunny in the evenings and overall the notion of the garden houses did not fulfil its promise for us, as rather than being a large area for kids to play freely, it is actually a heavily landscaped set of individual gardens. I think had it been more open and grassed that it would be a better community facility. Whatever, the garden house itself was very beautiful, but being a Brit on holiday I really wanted that view of the sea.

Loved the trampoline and sandpit by the beach restaurant, which was a great asset and enabled us to enjoy a more leisurely dinner. The village square comes alive at night with fox character costumes and bouncy castles and the bikes and little houses there make dinner at the Italian easy.

We loved the activities at Fox Club and our 5 year old made loads of friends. The kids club looked great and was run by a Scottish reception class teacher, but my little one was not really up for it.

The 2nd beach bar along the beach is surrounded by dunes and run by a real character and called Nortarda. We all loved it there early evening and for lunch.

The best meal we had was on a night out in Vila do Bispo at a little (very busy) place called Ribera which was excellent.

We got into the club98 facilities late, but my 5 year old daughter loved Zumba and they are launching a kids version, paddle tennis and hiring bikes.

Loved the village pool with its inside outside space for swimming in shade and the hot kids splash pool with the cover.

We enjoyed going dolphin spotting, but saw little, but the blast out on the rib was fun.

The beach is great, our kids loved the stones piled up to allow wind free sun bathing and played camp there happily for hours.

I would suggest if you don't have kids, or are planning them, the sight of such a mix of Brits doing parenting with such a mix of styles and effectiveness will be an eye opener and steel your resolve one way or another.

Cant fault the experience for the kids though. They all had the best possible experience and there looked to be great experiences for bigger kids to learn to surf, windsurf etc.

I think sporty families with boys will really get a buzz out of the tennis, family football games and triathlons etc that go on.

A great find and one that we would return to again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AStokesAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Fantastic! How wonderful to know how much you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel! It is very reassuring when an increasing number of our clients, like you, rate Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel as the best luxury family destination in Europe.
We are committed to continue to surpass our Clients expectations; therefore all your suggestions have been handed on to senior management for consideration.
We are glad that you took full advantage of our luxurious Pine Wood Houses, amazing facilities, five star services and plenty of children’s activities that allow parents to enjoy a relaxing holiday. It is very reassuring that our Kids Club and Leisure Teams are on the right path in providing lots of amazing experiences combining a excellent service with top quality and educational activities for all our Clients (children and adults).
Meanwhile, we all look forward to your return to Martinhal for another superb family holiday and experience our positive progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at Hotel Martinahal having stayed in one of their Pinewood Houses. The accommodation was perfect - spacious, nicely appointed, our own pool, good cooking utensils, lovely bedrooms and quiet at night. The main village square was perfect for those with small children - a lovely play area with bicycles, scooters and playhouses. There is also a very convenient small corner shop which holds stock of all the essentials and one of the 3 restaurants in the resort. Our children went to the kids club in the mornings which they loved and the carers were very friendly and accommodating. There was also a club for older children should you so wish. Just beside the central square was one of the swimming pools which was perfect for young children with half the pool under cover and a little slide. The beach was a 5 minute walk and I would recommend Nortada beach restaurant for great seafood. For us, with young children, this was the perfect holiday getaway but not sure if I would come here if I didn't have children. Overall we loved our stay - beautiful weather, short flight and great accommodation and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee&Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

How wonderful to know that you and your family consider Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel the perfect getaway for families.
Thank you for your fantastic and kind review that not only makes us all very proud as also encourages us to continuously improve and surpass our Clients expectations.
Your appreciation of our Kids Club staff attitude and service has been passed on to them.
On your return to Martinhal we will be happy to present you with more options in how to explore and take full advantage of our beautiful and unique location in this unspoiled part of the Algarve’s coast. Should you travel without your children, we recommend you our 5 star Hotel that has always been a favourite and most enjoyed accommodation option for couples.
It would be great a pleasure to welcome you and your family again for another fabulous holiday. We hope it will be sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our toddler loved our stay at the Martinhal resort. There were lots of thoughtful touches for children, from the huge playhouses and array of childrens' bikes in the village square to the practical equipment required for everyday toddler life (cots, highchairs, plastic plates and small cutlery, etc.). The childrens' trampoline was a big hit, as were the many nearby beaches identified to us by the friendly reception staff.

The ocean villa was spacious (much more so than suggested from the online photographs) and had a lovely indoor/outdoor flow. It was a pleasure to be in - so much so, that even sitting out on the balcony after the little one had gone to bed felt like stolen moments in time.

The thing that stops the resort being truly five star for me is the food on offer. Don't get me wrong, it's by no means bad. It's just variable in quality and also somewhat limited in range if you are staying for a week and intending to eat most meals at the resort.

Oz Gambozinos' takeaway menu (for those whose children are not likely to sit quietly through an adult dinner) was limited and fairly cabohydrate-based (pizza, pasta, fried chicken and chips), but had some lovely fresh side salads. It would have been nice for there to have been more variety and sometimes better quality Italian ingredients (e.g. fresh mozzarella, better pizza toppings) like you might find at a Jamie's Italian or a Carluccios. It's also a shame that there is no room service offered and you have to wait for your takeaway to be prepared after ordering.

As Dunas offered some lovely fresh seafood, sometimes cooked perfectly and sometimes slightly overdone. The cataplana we had on the beach was far cheaper and far superior to that offered at As Dunas though. And we did find the tables rather windy. For the prices offered in As Dunas, we would have expected more consistent quality and perhaps a wider range of cooking styles.

The breakfast at O Terraco was lovely - lots of variety and lots of food on offer. We (and seemingly other guests) were slightly frustrated by the need to wait for tables in what is essentially a self-service buffet and there were very inconsistent messages about where we could sit (e.g. the terrace is only for couples/couples with one child, a toddler cannot sit on a sofa/well-behaved toddlers can sit on a sofa, etc.). There were a few 'fusses' from other guests due to the issues over waiting times and seating, but this didn't detract from the lovely food and beautiful views.

The Mercado offered some lovely meals freshly prepared each day (e.g. cottage pie, lasagne, curry) that could be warmed in our villa, although again it would have been nice to have seen more variety, as well as some lighter/healthier options. In the absence of room service, though, the Mercado's ready-meals provided a compromise short of full self-catering (which we hadn't really wanted to do - hence our desire to stay in a resort, but in a toddler-friendly villa), which was much-appreciated.

All in all, we would definitely stay at Martinhal again, as our toddler loved it. We would probably just plan to eat outside of the resort more and to do a bit more self-catering than we'd ideally like. The restaurants are worth a try, but not necessarily for every meal or even every day and as food is such a big part of holidays for me, this is something I do hope the Martinhal will improve for the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomaddingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and suggestions.
We are very glad to know that you and your family appreciated our staff’s friendliness, the comfort of the luxurious Ocean View House and all the details specially thought of for our youngest Clients that surely make the stay at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel a perfect stress-free experience for all the family.
Nevertheless, we regret to know that your expectations regarding our restaurants were not entirely fulfilled. Our F&B Management Team is currently revising all our restaurants menus to extend and include healthier options, also internal control procedures are being implemented to ensure a consistent quality of our dishes.
Meanwhile, please note that we have also increased the choice of take-away meals available in O Mercado (e.g. sushi on Tuesdays and Fridays which has proven to be a real hit!) and many more options will become available very soon.
With regards to your comments on breakfast, kindly note that this service was until very recently exclusive to our Hotel Clients, therefore significant changes were made to accommodate all our Resort Clients that choose to enjoy our delicious breakfast. In the past few days we did carried out some tests to improve the sitting and service times. We are sorry for any inconvenience and we thank you for your understanding.
All of us at Martinhal look forward to your return so that you and your family may experience our positive progress and enjoy a truly perfect stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a beautiful property in a great location. Lovely large rooms, beautiful grounds. But it needs a lot of management work to make it right as a hotel.

The hotel is advertised as a 38-room hotel, but it never feels like one. All facilities are shared with the 250 other apartments and villas on the property (my estimate), so you feel as if you are simply at the centre of a 300-room property. For example you would expect that breakfast at a 38-room hotel would be peaceful and relaxed, but no, not here. People arrive from all corners of the resort waving their breakfast vouchers, it simply feels as if you are in a busy cafeteria. The same is true of the pool by the beach - totally overrun by small children not staying in the hotel.

There is almost nowhere for an adult to escape the hundreds of tiny children and their adoring parents. There is one small sun-terrace allocated as adults-only, but it's not enough. Although children are discouraged from the main restaurant after 20:00, there were plenty there at 21:00 on each night I was there. Yes, the resort advertises itself as family-friendly, but unless it makes some significant changes it needs to also announce itself as adult-unfriendly and encourage you to keep away unless you have very small children.

Management clearly cares and is aware that it faces a number of challenges. They cannot be faulted in their attention to service. They did their very best to attend to the issues I raised with them. Service throughout the hotel was friendly and very good, although I think housekeeping need to be a little less visible, a little quieter, and leave their rubbish around the hotel for less of the day.

This property has great potential, but it still needs a lot of work to get the right feel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the quality, comfort and luxury of our Hotel rooms as well as our top spot location and beautifully kept grounds.
There is no secret that Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is rated as the best luxury family destination in Europe and we regret that your expectations regarding our Hotel were different. The Hotel accommodation is not exclusive to adults-only and all facilities and services (except the sun lounge close to the beach which is exclusively for adults and Hotel Guests) at Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel are shared by all Clients, either staying in the Hotel or staying in one of our Resort Luxury Houses - of which there are only around 150 by the way. There are in fact 5 different pool areas and many Houses have their own individual pools.
We do understand that when staying at Martinhal without your own children you might find it a little challenging to get away from other Guests' children but taking into account the huge grounds on which the resort is situated there are places to get away from the crowds. There is even the Spa which many adults have enjoyed their time in. Thank you also for your Housekeeping comments which are useful for us to further improve our service in that area. We hope you will choose to return to Martinhal together with your family, certainly they will love it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,466 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
1.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
134 reviews
24.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta do Martinhal | Apartado 54, Sagres 8650-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#2 Family Hotel in Sagres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $184 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinhal Beach Resort & Hotel is the finest luxury family resort in Europe. Positioned within a protected natural park near the historic fishing port of Sagres, on Portugal’s unspoiled western Algarve coast, Martinhal is where luxury meets Nature. Martinhal welcomes families and couples, and the greeting is warm, open and generous. Guests feel at home. And it’s memorable. This is where life-long friendships will blossom, and where lasting impressions will be made. Stylish, contemporary architecture complements the organic personality of the resort, which has been shaped to blend effortlessly into the indigenous landscape. This is function and form at its best. This is sustainability. And Martinhal is more. For conferences, weddings and celebrations, Europe’s finest luxury resort sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinhal Beach Hotel Sagres
Martinhal Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing