We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully situated and cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Holmestrand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated and cosy hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel was a designer hotel, and our room was very beautiful in white and turquoise with a balcony overlooking the sea. There were also a minibar, which is not standard in all hotels, but it is ok to have cold drinking-water when it is hot. The breakfast was really excellent, and the sourroundings of the hotel was just fantastic! Especially nice to walk along the cliffs in the evening, and on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torhild115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate you had a good time with us!
It is very important for us to get your feedback..
Kind Regards
Mareta Beach Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    119
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
19
185
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in end of February. As soon as we got there , we upgrated for one of the top floor room with seeview, it was just so beautiful.The room nicely decorated, LOVED the big wardrobe! For breakfast we had plenty of choice, all pastries and fruits were fresh. The staff was lovely and helpful,the cleaners were spot on, they even folded our clothes.
The only negative thing i would mention that sometime you could smell a little bit of sewage in the bathroom coming from the drains.

I orderd a cocktail in the bar downstarirs, called Mareta I think, well cost me over 5 euros for 4 squeezed lemon with a small shot of votka. It tasted so terrible, like drinking pure lemon juice but the barman was convienced that was the way to make that cocktail.We still laugh about the face I pulled when I tried. I would love to know, how you meant to make it?

Shame the jacuzzi didnt work.

Room Tip: take the 210! all day sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enikofromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Found this hotel to a good deal and centrally located. We stayed 1 night a couple of days before Christmas (Dec 2012 - rate 35 euro) and nearly had the place to ourselves. It is a hotel and not a traditional B&B, in case you are looking for the latter. The hotel has modern decor and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We walked to the hotel from Salema and the hotel was easily located, approximately 5 hrs walking depending on whether you stop for lunch. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank furens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very grateful to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're going to stay here, make sure you get a room with a sea-view! We did and it was perfect; the room, the view; the entire 3-day stay! We are definitley coming back to this hotel.

The rooms are simply but tastefully furnished - all white, blue and turquoise creating a perfect frame that is the window. The staff in the bar/cafe and restaraunt were friendly and helpful and extending our stay by one night every morning was no problem. The food, coffees, snacks, cocktails, and service were all first class.

There's plenty to see and do in the area. But I'd recommend starting your day by walking the very short walk to beach behind the hotel and soaking in the sea and then lying out on the gorgeous sandy beach and drying in the sun (and wind sometimes :) Other lovely restaraunts in the town of Sagres are worth exploring. And if you have a car, go to the 'end-of-the-world' for teh views and sunsets.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very pleased you had an unforgetable time with us!!!
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I went to mareta beach for three nights just before Christmas for a time of R&R. The GPS was on the blink so we went past the hotel as we searched. We needed to check the town out anyway. We eventually found it and checked in with no problem. The modern decor is clean, well done and functional. There is no elevator/lift, we carried our small bags up one flight of stairs. No problem for us but for some that would be an issue. Our room was good sized with a very nice bathroom and a massive balcony overlooking the gardens and sea.

The jacuzzi, which featured heavily in the advertisements and our choice of this hotel was not in service during our stay. That was a disappointment. This was low season and for part of the time we were the only guests in the hotel. Perhaps running the hot tub in the winter for only one couple is cost prohibitive. We had considered a room at a Spa Hotel for more than three times the price. We went to see the hotel and were told that their pool and spa were also closed. Glad we chose Mareta Beach!

The breakfast was very nice. Fresh breads, rolls, croissants, pastries, and fruit combined with cold cuts, cereals, yogurt, juice and coffee was very satisfactory. I enjoy my eggs and bacon for breakfast but when you are paying 40 euros per night for two people for a nice room with a sea view balcony that includes breakfast and wifi in your room, you really oughtn't complain.

My only other negative comment is that the light switch was on the hinge side of the door outside the bathroom.

Overall we were extremely pleased and will probably return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are bright, comfortable and modern. Wifi had a habit of dropping from time to time but computer with internet was provided in the lounge. Breakfast was self service from a small buffet and was reasonably good. A storage room is provided for bicycles and surf boards which was very convenient. The location was perfect - a stones throw from the beach, cafes and shops. Very nice staff - very nice Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Your experience is very important to us! We are so pleased to know you had a good time here!
We also will consider all your notes to make a future visit even better!
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located a short walk from the beach this hotel was the best experience of my Portugal trip in mid-november.
The price was more than fair and the standard of the rooms was high. Modern, clean and well-lit. In combination to this, the location was fantastic. The hotel is just a few hundred meters from the very southwest tip of the European mainland (which ends into a dramatic cliff), and this is a very nice plus in terms of location. It's just a few steps away from a nice beach. And there is a bar close by with good atmosphere and plenty of choice.
The welcome was very friendly as well. The breakfast is average, but feeds you well.
I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SagresHolidays, Gerente geral at Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are very grateful to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to see you soon.
Regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
0.6 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
1.4 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 9 in Sagres
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: Praca da Republica | Mareta, Sagres 8650-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an outstanding location in the center of Sagres, Mareta Beach has panoramic views over the beautiful coastline and sea. This brand new hotel is just 200 meters from the beach, close to all shops, restaurants and bars. We have an Italian-style coffee shop, Caffè Espresso, open from 8h00 to 22h00, where you can enjoy your favorite coffee or tea, milkshakes, smoothies pastries, paninis, sandwiches and homemade cakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing