We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST try Oysters "au gratin"”
Review of A Tasca

A Tasca
Ranked #25 of 73 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $91
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Tasca is a family run restaurant wich is open since 1959 , it is located on the Baleeira Harbour, offering the perfect setting for a delightful meal with stunning views. The menu includes typical and regional cuisine , everything is prepared fresh and at the hour . We've got several signuture dishes , but one of the standouts as to be the Arroz de Lagosta ( Crayfish Rice ) , Cataplanas ( typical alagarvian fish or shellfish stew), and a variety of grilled fresh fish.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Located between the Baleeira Harbor and Memmo Baleeira hotel, "A Tasca" is the ideal place for the hotel's clients to have lunch and dinner. If the weather is good, you can enjoy a beautiful dinner on the terrace with a charming view. If not, inside there is too much noise and the open kitchen smells too much, so just eat and go.
Fresh fish is fresh fish, nothing special, except maybe for the Monk fish, that is the "ultimate" meal in Sagres at least. You can have it un the grill (skewers) or "Tasca style".
Cataplana is below average, so it's better to avoid.
Very interesting the mussels (giant mussels, at least so they were in july), and truly amazing the Oysters "au gratin". In fact, the restaurant was awarded for this delightful dish.
So, the ideal menu is: Seafood cover starter + Oysters au gratin + Monk fish "(no matter what style). And they also have an excellent desert, something called "St. Vincent sweet", or somtehing like that.
The prices are above average:
- mussels = 12 euro
- oysters au gratin = 13,5 euro (4 pieces)
- fresh fish = 35-60 euro/kg
- tiger prawns = 5 euro/buc
- house wine = 8 euro (375 ml) or 10 euro (750 ml)

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rpreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 616 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Had one of the best (And most expensive) meals in Sagres here at A Tasca. The view of the harbour is super, and the food matches this. I tried the Giant King Prawns Grilled and served on a hanging kebab with a giant platter of french fries. We also tried the Seafood Cover Starter (Mussels Sausage and Calamari), their award winning Cheese Gratin Oysters, a starter of braised Tuna Steak (perfect), their seafood soup and an Octopus Salad.

Hard to pick a favourite but the Gratin Oysters were lovely, and I loved the braised tuna starter and my King Prawns. Wasn't crazy about the seafood house cover, would skip this next time. To finish we tried the local St Vincente dessert which was a sweet nut filled eggy pudding (Superb!).
That being said it all came at a price, and I think the bill was by far the most expensive during our 10 days in Portugal. But if you're going to splurge, this is the perfect place to do it!

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank althalusdiscovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The location attracted us as it has a splendid view on the ocean and the sagres harbor. The menu offers quite a good choice and the usual specialties majority of restaurant in the region proposes like cataplana, massa de peixes... As we are always eager to try out new palatial experiences, we ordered a few starters and couvert. Amusingly, one of the starter, the pate of sardines, came in its original tin...and with no bread to spread it...We tried out the massa de peixes (fish with noodles), and it has been a very average experience. No special flavors (except the coriander) and fish and shrimps poorly presented and prepared. Service is ok but not amicable at all and prices slightly more expensive than the average of sagres restaurants.

Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Quite surprised by some of the reviews here. We had lunch there yesterday, covert, fish cataplana, 3 beers and coffee for 37€. The mixed starter of mussels, octopus and a sausage of fish eggs was very fresh and very different. The cataplana was made with a whole fish, succulently coked in a slightly spicy tomato and onion sauce with potatoes. We sat under cover as we'd had plenty of sun already that day. We went with our 1 year old and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. Everyone was very pleasant, even though they were also quite busy.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank stevejnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a good restaurant serving good Portuguese food in a perfect location looking over the sea and marina. The drawback is that the price is a bit high. Service is great!

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Afonso_TheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tasca also viewed

 
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing