We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is what it is: a hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Good Feeling Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Feeling Hostel
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“it is what it is: a hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sagres is not yet as touristic as the rest of Algarve, so if you're looking for some quite surfing time or just passing through, you can spend couple of night here.
PRO: it's a hostel, free working wifi
CON: it's a hostel, you need a car to get there and around

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanSchawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodfeeling H, Owner at Good Feeling Hostel, responded to this review, October 16, 2015
Ola and thanks for your review.
We're happy that you enjoyed the time in Sagres away from the 'typical tourist areas' and appreciated the quiet nature of the area.
We can't disagree that our accommodation is a hostel - it's in the name ;) but we like to think that the service we offer is much more than a basic hostel; with many extra opportunities for our guests and a unique atmosphere of relaxation and fun - this most of our visitors will agree!

We recommend to people who stay for an extended period that if they want to travel further that they hire a car (really cheap deals are available all year round) or they can rent one of our scooters.
The public transport is good from our central location, with the bus stop just outside the door, and we also have our free beach transfer service every day.
Perhaps we improved many of the facilities since your stay with us and you'll enjoy more if you come again. We look forward to welcoming you if you do!

Best wishes to you and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
26
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very friendly people. I recomend especially for nice surfers. You can go with Mr. Hugo who is a very good company, and will show you nice beachs, nice spots...
You have the most beautiful beach in Algarve wich is Ingrina. Go there and you will see....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogeriomiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good place with amazing people, very good rooms, very good food and fantastic beaches near! You have a lot of things to do in that place, with the fantastic weather in Algarve. You can go to the beaches and surf, get a paddleboard and go on a trip in the coast, have surf classes or visit the fantastic coastline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseTeixeiraPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila do Conde, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very Nice Place! Near from every thing, Nice activities, i advise padlle tours. The Owners are amaizing guys, very friendly, and entusiástic surfguys. 5 starts!!!!! Im looking foward to come back again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl0s_ferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Me and 3 friends went to Goodfeeling to surf. The friendly staff show us some incredible waves just a few miles from de Hostel. We felt at home. Nice accomodation and perfect place to explore some of Algarve best beaches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRebelo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

these place and guys are unic the best 3 days of my life. The hostel is great I sleep like a log.
The SUP trip was wonderful a remenber for life. The staff is fantastic and the hostel owner Hugo
is funy and super friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tag1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There were 3 of us on the trip and only 1 stayed here while others camped, although we all met the staff and spent some time in the hostel. Staff is really nice however when guests show up in large amount, they are a bit short-handed. The general atmosphere is social but individualistic. Being in a surfing area, you can ask them about the waves, wind, weather condition and all as they are very knowledgeable and happy to help. The food situation is great. Goodfeeling can order dinner in from the local restaurant (trust me it's better than we you can get individually on the restaurant's premise for this we experienced ourselves). Dinner starts around 9pm and everyone sits in the common room for it. It's quite nice. But even if you are not eating, there are bean bags for browsing and chilling out. My friend stayed for 2 nights and being a very light sleeper as she is, it was not bad at all for a hostel when rooms are shared with many. There was an organized bar night the first night we were there, so I'd assume that's an recurring event. If you don't have a car, they staff take guests on grocery runs to the Lidl near by in the town of Vila do Bispo. Do make sure you give some room in between showers. The water could run cold if many go before you. All in all, a good place to be if you are looking for budget stays in the area, as well as if you are into surfing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sagres hotels
5.4 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
4.5 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
5.4 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
5.8 mi away
Aparthotel Navigator
Aparthotel Navigator
#7 of 9 in Sagres
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Feeling Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Feeling Hostel

Property: Good Feeling Hostel
Address: Raposeira, Sagres 8650 282, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Feeling Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Feeling is a hostel and guesthouse in Sagres in the Algarve. We are a homely, friendly hostel where you can meet new friends, learn to surf, do lot's of other great activities and have a great time. It is run by two Portuguese surfers who are always here and willing to help and advise you on how to make the most of your stay in this beautiful part of Portugal. There is a big kitchen where you can cook yourself and a huge livingroom with tables to eat and talk as well as a comfy relax-corner with couchballs, a big TV, lot's of DVDs. Around the house there is a terrace with hammacks, a BBQ-Area, and places to relax. We are constantly improving our place for you to make it even better! FREE TRANSFERS TO THE BEACH! Every day we take the guests in our vans to the best beaches in the Algarve for free. Depending on which beach you want to visit, sometimes these transfers are a true surf safari, giving you the possibility to surf awesome waves whilst enjoying the epic nature around you. Other services, such as Stand Up Paddle-Trips, surf guiding, rental of surf equipment, surfing lessons, Yoga and other outdoor activities are available as well - so there will always be lots of things to do. We have the perfect habitation for your holidays. You are travelling alone and want to meet new friends, get a bed in the bunk room. If you want to have more privacy, we we have a comfy double room of studio for you! We have the perfect habitation for your holidays. You are travelling alone and want to meet new friends, get a bed in the bunk room. If you want to have more privacy, we we have a comfy double room of studio for you! - Dorm rooms with 6 beds each - Studios (for max. 4/6 Persons) - Double Room - Private Sunset Rooms for 2 persons We are looking forward to see you in Portugal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Good Feeling Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing