We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
100
201
109
36
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
201
109
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club pool area self catering both bedrooms mini mart reception staff family holiday bed apartment short cut baby pool english speaking channels quiet location these apartments cleaned every day hire car end of the season min walk
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 477 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2016

We stayed here for 7 Nights in total with 4 Adults and 2 Children in a 2 Bedroom Apartment. (Room Number: 427)
POSITIVE FEEDBACK:
The hotel itself has very well maintained grounds on the outside , there is also a lovely water feature in the middle of the entrance , The staff were very helpful and friendly particularly in the restaurant , Reception staff on check-in were very pleasant and informative it was a very friendly guy (forget his name) who told us about the hotels facilities and places of interest near the hotel also.
The kids club staff are great with the children! and also very friendly!.
The food was fairly good , we went half-board and so had a buffet option which had something for everyone at lease and the breakfast was pretty good too.
Our apartment was reasonably clean also. They also provided toiletries in both bathrooms for us which was a plus!, The housekeeping staff were very pleasant also and always said hello :).
On the hotel grounds there are also three shops available which is very convenient if you ever need anything and the staff are very friendly in the shops also :).
The beach is only a 10-minute walk also :).

NEGATIVE FEEDBACK:
The lifts were absolutely filthy and smelly, Our apartment had an air-conditioning problem also in the main living area where the air coming out of it was luke warm! we had set it at the lowest temperature and it was still blowing out hot air! - We informed Reception of this and were told it would be fixed as soon as possible but it wasn't looked at until our last night! they said that it would need to be replaced and that we could move to another apartment (a bit late since it was our last night!)
We had ANTS yes ANTS! in our bathroom EVERY NIGHT which seemed to be coming up from a tiny hole at the bath! ( I'm guessing this was because of the hot weather???)
The water pressure was not that great and the water temperature was very hard to regulate plus we could not have the two showers on at the same time in both bathrooms of the apartment as the water pressure would decrease greatly!.
Another problem was a power failure in the bar area and shop as one of the fuse boxes exploded during our stay! ( I saw this happening ) and staff had to extinguish the smoke (no one was evacuated though for some reason??) It was an ELECTRICAL FIRE so I'm a little weary about this... Anyways, the next day the power was back.
Weirdly also, when we wanted water it was 2.50 in the restaurant , 1.00 in the shop(per bottle) and 1.20 in the bar????? A bit of a rip-off I must say for tiny bottles of water!.
Free Wi-Fi was also only available on the ground floor in the lobby, bar and restaurant and NOT in the apartments...

Room tip: Room 427 on the 4th floor was good apart from our A/C Problem...
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PRIVATE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

I appreciate the sincerity of your comments. In the less pleasant aspects of your stay we promised to improve, with the certainty that we will get it. I would like that you give us a new opportunity. and come back next year. See you soon

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Run down and staff very unhelpful. Bar had only a limited amount of drink as they told us they only get deliveries now and again. Food is only fair in the complex and would not advise anyone to eat here. Evening entertainment was very limited. Fountain in the front of the complex was emptied, When we asked was it broken cleaning staff told us it was more than likely emptied to safe money. When we stayed here before it made the complex look well when you entered the gate. A big let down as we have always stayed here. Have holiday booked for same area for August 2016 but will certainly not be staying here.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewOC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear Mr. Andrew, thanks for your comment. As hotel director, I just regret 2 things: First, that you only remembered to make this comment about 1 year later; Second that you did not returned this year, and give us the opportunity to show you how things are different.
Hope to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here! Very peaceful location, apartment freshly painted & cleaning everyday! We had a Front of hotel apartment . The sun was on the balcony from late afternoon so lovely to have a meal or a drink on the balcony mid evening .

Beautiful beach very near, worth a visit! Wifi in lobby which is good for some timeout of the sunshine.

Tennis available, swing & slide for children. Sports bar at night.

Didn't eat on site! So no comment.

Small pricy shop at apartments. Ok for tea bags when we ran out!

Located between Praia da Rocha & Alvor. I prefer Alvor for quality restaurants, easily reached by taxi for approx €6. Each way!

My only thumbs down for this complex is the Sun
Loungers around the pool disappointing & badly need replacing !

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank CassieM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

We are grateful for your comment and for your positive words. About the pool beds, we have started to replace some. Hope to see you again!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Furnishing is not as much new but all the walls are recently painted and the apartment is very big. Kitchen is all equiped. About cleaning, nothing to say.
We liked very much the pool area. Water was very clean, included the kids pool.
In the restaurant, we had very nice and assorted buffets. At the bar, nice atmosphere, nice music and kind bar staff. Animation every night there. They have kids club too. Free wifi in the lobby, restaurant and bar. We really recommend!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roteiro Gastron... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind words. See you soon!

José Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

My husband and daughter and I stayed in this hotel, for 10 days, have to say, we loved it, it had it all for a relaxing stay. I would return, perhaps, would have liked a higher floor, but then doubt if there would have been any issue, if we asked. A little walk away from the main beach, near a very small beautiful beach and lovely walk to the remainder. The staff here, were very nice, and I really need to mention, the beautiful smiling, dark long haired girl in the restaurant overseeing breakfast, was a blessing any hotel could have, so sorry I can not remember her name. Car hire cheap, and all available via reception, who went out of their way to help on any score, which was obviously beyond their job spec. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room tip: Balcony in front of hotel, one could access wifi
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Dear Catherine, we were very happy and proud of your comment. We would like to see you again here, to show you that we can be even better. A warm greeting from Portugal.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews