We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #34 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Dundee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic place. Dropped a lot of people off at various places on the transfer and didn't like the look of any of them. Was expecting the worst 'til the bus turned into the driveway. Wow. Stunning building. Inside was just as good and the apartment was excellent.
O.k. so it has a tiny portable t.v. So what, can live with that. It was huge with a well stocked kitchen where everything in ours was brand new.
Helpful friendly staff, 3 cracking pools with plenty of room and nice quiet location.
Did have an issue on 2nd day where we had to ask fro clean towels, but after that they were changed daily.
Didn't ever eat here so can't comment on that, however, we can't wait to return, twice next year hopefully. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrdekyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    174
    81
    31
    26
See reviews for
195
127
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Estrela do Vau and have had a lovely time. The rooms are very spacious, the staff were very polite and helpful but most of all we enjoyed being able to visit 2 resorts, Alvo and Praia de Rocha. Although it seems extravagant getting taxis everywhere this is off set by the fact the holiday was so reasonably priced. The walk to the beach is well worth it, it's one of the best we have been to. Our favourite place was Alvor for the shops, bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend a stay here for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 201 overlooking the golf course. This was the quietest side of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just stayed 2 weeks at Estrella de Vau. The front desk people are very helpful and very kind. The location of hotel is good not too far from Praia da Rocha or the beach. However the room was relatively dated. An important bad point was the room cleaning. After one week our bedsheets were not changed I had to request it to the front desk. Also often the cleaning ladies were coming at 6pm not convenient time at all, I think it should be done the morning. Not 4 star at all. Also we are in 2013... how can there is no internet in the room, only a wifi in the central lobby. Again this is not acceptable for a hotel calling itself a 4 star. The hotel has also a small bar but close at 10h30. Not convenient at all when the majority of people go eat outside and never before 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YSR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our third visit. The hotel is great and the staff are so lovely and helpful and always have been.
HOTEL
Spacous studio apartments with balcony. Including safe, bath
room, kitchen, fridge, tv. Rooms cleaned daily and beds made, also fresh towels bought daily. The 3 pools are great with plenty of loungers available and jacuzzi brilliant. Great area for wi fi access also. Some great tours available from reception at reasonable prices. Nice little gift shop and mini supermarket for basics also on sight. Hired a car, and parking was never a problem.
BAR AND RESTAURANT
This year we discovered the bar and restaurant are no longer run by the hotel. We had booked full board and on our first night were discusted with the meal. The menu was v basic with cold nuggets and chips and sad salad. When we asked the waiter what was in a metal tray he said he had no idea what is was!
The first morning at breakfast we found last nights cold food remains around the trays now holding the baked beans, they had not cleaned the trays properly, this was repeated daily.
We canceled our full board and had breakfast only!
We have always enjoyed the bar life, but sadly the entertainment is now v poor and we had to beg them to hire the kareoke man and extra night. The bar was v quiet and closed at 10.30pm!
Drinks also seemed a little over priced and staff not helpful.

To sum up, great accomodation and hotel staff, but would NOT recommend going full board as very poor quality. We would happily return to this hotel in the future!

Room Tip: If you like early nights, ask for a room away from the bar area as people sit on patio under apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is more of a 3 star than a 4, the hotel itself is a little dated but the size of room is good. The apartments have a kitchen diner which are nicely equipped with the necessaries, the bedroom is a good size but it would be nicer if we were provided with hangers!!! We were a littl disappointed to find ut that we had a 12 inch TV, I did not know they still exist?
We had to constantly ask for towels to be changed even though they should be changed every other day, it took the hotel 5 days to replace our faulty telephone, so if we needed anything we would have to run downstairs to the desk!
There are 3 pools which are all good sizes, on certain days there were inflatable slides provided which I could not believe we had to pay to use. The kids club was good, lot's of activities for the kids, my son loved it!
We went half board, well it's the worse dining I have ever come across in all my life, if you like hotdogs and scrambled eggs for breakfast well you are going to be happy, because you will be getting that every single morning!!! No bacon, no sausages, just plain old hot dogs! Pastries were non existent, they would put out about 4 every 20 minutes so everyone would have to rush out to try to snap them up first (prisoners are entitled to more than this!). Make sure you get to the dining room 9am sharp othewise after 15 mins from opening you will be waiting for a table.
Dinner... well everyday they would layout 4 chicken nuggets, 4 fish fingers and 4 of somethng else on a plate getting cold, bearing in mind the hotel is half packed with children so you find yourself constantly having to ask do you have any more food for the kids! Dinner was ok but just not much on offer. Desserts... it was like a childrens party everyday, jelly but no icecream??? If you were lucky a gateaux would be put out from the freezer, woo hoo!!!
The hotel is a little out of the way from the nearest town but it does have a beautiful beach nearby which is a 15 mins walk. There is no evening entertainment, just one night of karaoke.
Staff at the desk very helpful and friendly, those in the dining area not so friendly.
Overall the hotel is not so bad if you are going to do self catering and you have a vehicle to get around, but if you are wanting to do half board...do not go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunshine896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portimao hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Well where do I begin,arrived 11aug till 25th first fault bathroom light switch was broken took 3 days to fix,room cleaned 4 days out of 14 well say cleanes bedroom swept once only bathroom was moped balcony never cleaned,had to keep asking for clean towels and toilet rolls,only gave 1 roll an that was for five of us.pools were freezing cold,dirty could never get sun lounger they were taken up by towels no entertainment ,had to travel to prai do rocha to get money out bank,no cash machines any where else ,getting taxi for five people was a complete nightmare would never return,even if last place on earth,worst I've been too no way is it a 4 star .i have been to a 2 star in Greece and that was fantastic should have been a 4 Teresa's apartments sidari Corfu

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 11 nights at this hotel,the hotel itself is ok but I would not feed the food to my dog.my 3 grandkids loved the kids club especialy the staff,got to agree with others about entertainment or should I say lack of it at night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnallan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.7 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#20 of 76 in Portimao
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
1.0 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Property: Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
#10 Spa Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing