We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT 4* for the reasons below.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Portimao
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT 4* for the reasons below.......”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

ROOMS - OK - spacious, good air conditioning in bedroom and lounge. Shower appauling as it produces a trickle. Beds were the hardest I have ever encountered and I like hard beds. TV has 2 English chanels and the sound distorts as soon as it is turned to a volume where you can here it.
CLEANERS - Terrrible. Rooms not cleaned daily. IF they did come (usually after 6pm), only 3 out of 4 beds made. Sheets changed once in 2 weeks. Had to ask for towel change. Surfaces never wiped. Balcony not cleaned once. Allowed to run out of toilet paper. The toilet at poolside has no door lock, and the toliets around the hotel including the resturant sometimes lacked toilet paper and paper towels.
FOOD - OMG!! independantly owned by an ignorant, rude Englishphobic owner.
Breakfast was grab it while you can, e.g. 4 doghnuts brought out for a room of 40 diners, same with anything that people might actually like. Served stale cake and bread on occassions.
Dinner Halfboard - soup every day. 3 main courses one of which was repeated for 5 continuous days. Children's choice was fish fingers and chicken nuggets every day for 2 weeks, which were left out on a plate to go cold.
Desert - jelly and a stoggy cake cut in to 4mm strips, not that you would want any more.
The owner needs to realise that people paying for half board are firstly paying her up front for the food, and secondly they are paying to eat at her resturant rather than spending their money else where, the food served should reflect this. Instead the owner is only concerned with serving cheap food that lacks variety, quanity and taste! (Your 3 staff are the only saving grace)!
ENTERTAINMENT - ????? - a parrot show 1.5 hours late, a reptile show 1.5 hours late neither of which we bothered staying for. One man and a guitar and one man with a keyboard. In all shambolic.
POOL - 2pm every day out comes the amp to blast the pool with music. Forget reading, forget sleeping it's back to an 18 - 30's holiday.
LOCATION - taxi to Alvor and Praia 5 - 10 minutes each direction. Walk to Praia about 25 minutes but on the flat and takes you to Praia beach. Taxis range from 4 - 8 euros and we felt very ripped off by some, but less by the black ones. Much more going on day and night in Praia. Portimao appeared like a ghost town. The Gilbrator trip is 7 hours each way not the 4 hours that the tour operators tell you.
BEACH - turn left out of hotel, down to the roundabout and across the road. Still at the roundabout look for a small sandy path going up. This leads to the beach, which is beautiful.
If this hotel was 3* I would have expected the above issues but not for the 4* I thought I was staying at. Sort the showers, sort the entertainment, improve the DAILY cleaning serivce, get RID of the resturant owners and the hotel could be 4*.

Room Tip: Any with pool view! We were told the ones overlooking the entrance were noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank k a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    178
    82
    31
    26
See reviews for
198
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing family holiday at Estrela do Vau. We had a two bed apartment which was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The pool area is lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and my two kids really loved the free wi-fi in reception area!
If you like to be close to hustle and bustle this wont be for you, but if you like friendly service, clean accommodation and a relaxed setting then I would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lots of good points, very few bad. Has everything you would expect from a 4* hotel

Friendly helpful staff
Good location
3 pools
Secure rooms
Clean
Lots of services
Family friendly environment
Good value for money

Overall very plesant experience :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Although the location is nice and the rooms are spacious, everything else was terrible.
Starting with the baby's cot wich was made of iron and had no protection whatsoever, and the cleaning was so poor that on the first day a pair of white socks turned grey! Also the pools were not clean enough.
We had half board service and the food was not bad but there was not enough variety, especially at breakfast. The waiters were all very nice and attentive though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portimao hotels

Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at The Estrela Apartments on 1/2 board basis for 8 nights in July. Our stay would have been fine but for the fact we booked 1/2 board. The restaurant is run independently of the apartments As the area is very quiet we thought it best to include dinner. The apartments themselves are spacious and well maintained, excellent house keeping nice pool and beach is near enough to walk. The meals including breakfast were poor. Food Displays were often empty and when it was on display the quality was poor and the quantities limited. The main course 'choice' on one occasion for dinner was chicken wings/burgers/sardines. On another occasion we got a chicken and lamb stew. Fruit was never ripe though to be fair we did see a couple of nice bananas. So our advice hire a car, shop in lidl/aldi or eat out.You will find you have to anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 917Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment It was very clean and spacious.Although there were a few issues on arrival. The air conditioning and safe did not work however after a few complaints these were fixed. The rooms were cleaned daily however the cleaners after arrived after 6pm far too late in the day.
The pool area although attractive and there were plenty of sun loungers. However all 3 pools were occupied by children and families playing rowdy games. I feel that 1 pool should be designated as adult only.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently returned from a two week family holiday in the Estrela do Vau apartments and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Our two bedroom apartment was on the ground floor with a pool view as we requested and we were very impressed by it. Great air-conditioning, very spacious, clean, great cleaning services and staff etc. The staff at the kids club were great, our children enjoyed some great days with them and especially the activities in the pool in the afternoon. There is very little entertainment in the evenings/night time, but we didn't mind, as we enjoyed walking into Praia de Rocha in the evenings for our dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere there, or else we took a taxi to Alvor. It is a beautiful walk to Praia de Rocha by the beach, 20 or 25 mins. But if you have children take a taxi to Alvor as it is a 45 mins walk on poor footpaths/road. The walk to the beach is only 10 mins and it's really fab, lovely sand, water, caves, coves and cliffs. The three pools by the apartments are great with plenty of sun beds. Our children also enjoyed playing table tennis and mini-golf and although the playground there is small they still enjoyed going down there with their new friends and playing their own games in the shade! We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend these apartments. Thanks to all the staff there and we would love to return sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.7 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#19 of 75 in Portimao
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcaide
Hotel Alcaide
#22 of 75 in Portimao
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Property: Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing