We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay:)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently returned from a week staying at the presidente apartamentos in praia da rocha on 26th aug - 2nd sept. Great size of accommodation with a long balcony to relax in,near a main road but could handle hear any noise and quite peaceful in the room we stayed in. . Although the furniture could do with modernization and would of been appreciated if we had the use of a electric kettle and to updating English tv channels . I could not fault the hotel on the excellent cleaning during my stay by the cleaners who would visit everyday . The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly to my holiday being relaxed and also to the beds being comfortable if you like sleeping on a firm bed. The hotel is located 5-10mins walk away from the beach down a pathway and the new town is in easy walking distance about 200m if that, shops,bars and restaurants where there is plenty of choice such The la dolce vita buffet and safari. we asked the hotel staff where another good location of restaurants and shops, she suggested Alvor its about 10-15mins away by taxi you would roughly have to pay ten euros, when we got to alvor there was a lot of seafood restaurants but they also have a variety of other places to eat if seafood is not your type. The day before we left we went on seafaris trip which are to see the wild dolphins on a speedboat, the men took us were very friendly and gave us some great sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel to others for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Sea-view over the hotel pool and lower level possibly below 3 if you want to access wifi more easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ramzeynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is situated right by the beach with great sea views from most apartments I would imagine. A path down to the beach is literally about 200 mtrs away and(as long as the tide is far enough out) you can walk all along the beach to the far end of Praia de Rocha harbour. The beach and sea are fabulous and make for a great family seaside holiday. The beaches can only be reached by steps which average about 80 steps at every access point so if you have mobility difficulties this resort would not be for you if you want access to the beaches.
We had a double room which was very spacious and cleaned every day with towels changed every two days. The beds were comfortable. Being on the edge of the resort it is quiet at night with the exception of passing traffic which was not bad.The hotel is very clean, however it is dated and could do with bringing up to date. There are no faults, it just looks a bit "old fashioned" inside.
The staff are great and very friendly. The bar area is seldom used. There is no music, tv or entertainment. The breakfast choice is average being cereals, bread, hams, cheese and boiled eggs, juices & coffee.
It is a half mile walk to the start of the resort (bars restaurants etc). But it is a lovely walk along the coast with great views. Most of the bars and restaurants have a good standard of food/drink and at reasonable prices, so avoid all inclusive and go out and enjoy yourselves!
We booked a transfer from Faro through a company called Yellowfish transfer 108 euros for 4 adults return in a private taxi. They were excellent, waiting for us at the airport, picked us up from hotel spot on time and even gave us a bottle of wine on arrival. I would recommend them and use them again (you can book before you go).
In all I would rate the hotel as good (not very good but trip advisor don`t have good, and it is better than average). We would go there again as it is clean, spacious, good location and a good base for a holiday. Update it a bit, get some entertainment and it could be great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Markp2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a week staying in the Presidente in Praia da Roche.Great sized accommodation and great views over to Praia do Vau from our balcony. Its position between the two resorts is great as it means its very peaceful but close enough to get to everything. beach is on the door step. the hotel staff were all very friendly. The pool is only small but was clean and tidy with enough sun loungers to go around. There is a small lounge /bar which didn't really seem to get used by many of the guests. Hotel also has a restaurant which we did not use. Rooms were well equipped and both lounge and bedroom had patio doors onto the balcony. cleaners came everyday will certainly come back if revisting the area . Almost forgot to say beds were really comfortable.

Room Tip: Pick one on higher floor to get best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I normally err on the side of positive when I write reviews but I could not find it in my heart to give this place more than two. The good sides first, very large apartments with amazing sea views. The rooms are cleaned every day. The staff are very helpful and extremely pleasant. The Portuguese never fail to surprise me with their sense of humour, kindness and humility. A truly lovely people. One day I needed a lighter and the staff just gave me one without charging me. I think they also gave us a great room considering the price we paid....then why have I given this place 2 when there are some strong positives? Firstly it felt like we were the only ones there, that gave this place an eerie feel. There was absolutely no bar or entertainment. There were two members of staff at the hotel...totally underemployed...why not have a reception and bar area merged into one or turned the supermarket into a supermarket/cafe so that there was at least a focal point for the people at the apartments? There could have been perhaps a TV on or music at the pool but nothing....! The pool was absolutely filthy and would have been unhygenic to use. I imagine in peek season this place is amazing but I would not go back here. In fact at times it just felt very depressing to be here and felt more like a drab block of flats and not holiday apartments which is a shame as this place has the potential to be something special but not in off peek unfortunately. The weather was not great this month so that made have also made an impact on the amount of people here. However a few small changes could make this place a lot better!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our second visit to this lovely location and we chose the Presedente again. Not much has changed in over 10 years, the interior is a bit tired and could do with an update; that said it didn't detract from a great holiday. The staff are all most helpful, looking to make your holiday as relaxed as possible. The apartments are clean with wonderful views, the pool is clear and well managed. The on site shop is rather over priced but a 3 minute drive away is a great supermarket.The beaches are stunning and views amazing. If you are happy to make your own entertainment and enjoy a great seaside holiday then I would strongly recommend a week at the Presidente - there are some good places to eat out but if you venture into Praia da Rocha be prepared to fend off those annoying people trying to drag you into their often substandard eateries

Room Tip: One with a sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a perfect hotel if you have small children. It's 2 mins from the beach ( which is lovely and clean) and the pool area always seems to have available sunbeds. The staff are so helpful and most of them have good english and the rooms are serviced every day. The rooms are quite spacious with a nice big double room and big twin room, kitchen is smallish, (but then again who's going to cook a lot on hols!!!) and a nice dining /living area that leads on to the balcony which connects to both the bedrooms and the tv has english speaking childrens channels. your only 10 mins walk from the centre of town with all the restaurants and bars. Food is very reasonably priced and it's cheap to eat out, most places offer a 3 course choice menu from €7.50/€8.50. There's a restaurant(Jacaranda) in Praia da Vau ( about 5 mins walk) which offers a book swapping service if you like reading, you can leave a book or borrow a book for free. The hotel is lovely and quiet at night, there's no nightclubs nearby, and children are welcome in the residents bar. Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel enough, it's fab and has everything you could possibly need.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneMD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice apartments,with a great location.Make sure you book a room that is not near the busy road.The pool area is fantastic always a sunbed and not many in the pool.This is probably due to the beautiful beaches very close by.The draw backs are no aircon and nothing to do in the hotel at night,could do with a pool table and a little light music.On saying this your a 10min walk to all the entertainment you need in praia de Rocha,its a lovely town that buzzes at night.This is our first visit to Portugal and it will not be our last we loved it.The local people are lovely,and it feels very safe.We got the feeling that a lot of english people have avoided portugal since all the bad press a few years ago,I have a little girl who was made to feel like a princess and not threatened at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,081 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#20 of 76 in Portimao
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente

Address: Estrada do Vau | Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Price Range: $36 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Apartamentos Portimão
Presidente Apartamentos Hotel Portimão
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing