We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mar a Vista Aparthotel
Ranked #39 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and quiet”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was very quiet and exactly what i was looking for. I booked on a Friday night and left for Portugal Monday morning so booking was easy. The apartments are not extremely clean but are ok for sleeping eating , nothing to bad , small details missed were things like sofa stains cutlery not that clean , floor slightly dirty, nothing that would ruin your holiday.the pool is lovely and quiet ,pool water very cold though. The supermarket is a 10 min walk. Beach also the same distance, beaches are amazing Alford is a must see. Beach. Overall this hotel is great for a spontaneous last min get away.

Room Tip: There's a really nice restaurant near the beach.lit up black and red, you can't miss it. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blunt_Truth_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The apartments here are very spacious and well equipped. The staff are pleasant and friendly and can not do enough for you. The rooms were cleaned daily. There are two pools which are both immaculate and set in well tended gardens. We were allowed to stay in our appartment and use the pools right up until our transfer bus collected us even though the check out time is 12noon. We stayed there until 4pm at not extra cost. The beach is a 5-7 minute walk away. The negative points are that the surrounding area is becoming very run down making the walk to the beach not very nice. The other thing to be aware of is that there seems to be a local dog pound very close by and the dogs bark most of the time, especially in the evening and during the night which became a real nuisance.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of reception offer a better outlook over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I strongly recommend this place. People from Aparthotel and Snack-bar were top!
The apartment was really big with 2 rooms, living room, 3 bathrooms, kitchen with microwave, oven, stove dishes and pans. As we staid on ground floor we had our own private garden.

And like other reviewers have said the nearest bech is 5-10 minuts walking.

There was some small problems about maintenance things but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanaRito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Would highly recommend these apartments for great service from the reception, bar & cleaning staff! About a 5 min walk to the nearest beach and around 15 min to Praia Da Rocha beach, both very good. Alvor is a 5 min taxi drive from the apartments and costs around 6 - 7 euros, there is a bus into Alvor but you need to get this from Praia Do Vau which is a 15 min walk away and only runs to 8pm. We were in Apt 66 which had a sea/pool view and we was amazed with the size of it, very spacious & sleeps 4 and kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher, hob/ oven, fridge freezer, toaster, microwave and crockery/ cutlery etc. However there was no kettle & corkscrew but we managed. Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermezinde, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay. I was there with a group of 4 friends and we stayed at a two-floor T2 apartment for only 400€ a week (the apartment could take up to 6 people). The nearest beach is a 4/5 minutes walk away. The best one (praia da rocha) is a 15 minutes walk away.

The first thing I have to mention is the staff. They were all great and very nice, from the reception people to the cleaning ladies. They even let us extend our stay for a couple of hours past check-out so that we could enjoy the swimming pool in the morning.

The rooms were on the upper floor and both of them had bathrooms (one with a bathtub and another with a shower) and there was another one on the r/c. The rooms were quite large and with big enough closets. I just think the closets were missing a shelf or two. The one thing I didn't like was the mattress as it was a bit uncomfortable.

The kitchen was big and well equipped: it had an oven, a microwave and even a dishwasher. The one thing missing was a pyrex but we asked for one at the reception and they provided one right away.

The living room was really wide and had enough sits for everybody (a 4/5 people couch and two individual ones, plus the chairs for the dinning table). I can't really speak about the comfort of the sofa in terms of sleeping, but for sitting purposes it was all right.

The apartment was r/c, 1st floor, which was really an advantage. We first were afraid of hearing too much noise from the street or from the reception (we were really close to it), but as it turned out, it was very quite. The big advantage was the direct access to the swimming pool. We could left the house without any keys, just slightly closing the living room window and we'd be a few steps away from it. You might think this would kill any chance of privacy but it was the contrary. We had a small garden surrounded by bushes and with just a passage to the swimming pool area next to the window that took care of any privacy issues.

The pool was really nice. It was big and, contrary to some public pools, the water didn't taste weird nor had too much chlorine. It had both grass and a place for sun beds, so everyone could take their pick.

I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InesCM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the mar a vista September 9-16th it is a cracking little hotel. The apartments we large with all appliances you would need. Views were amazing and location to the beach perfect. The one thing I would say is it is not in portimao it's in prai rocha (spelling??) limited restaurants to dine from. We fortunately had a hire car and without this we would have been disappointed due to location. Everything in the area is either closed, for sale or going out of buisnise. Not the hotels fault though. Overall I would recommend if you had a car to visit other places for dinner in the evening. Alvor was 10mins drive and large selection of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jam_ez_col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at the Mar a Vista for 11 nights in June. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment and it was really big with a very well equiped kitchen.It was cleaned daily and the towels were changed every second day. The pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and the beach was only 5 minutes down the road.There are plenty of small restaurants near the apartments and Pria de Rocha is only 10 minutes walk awaywhere there are plenty of restaurants and bars. Avoid the Croke Park bar we went there one day to watch a GAA match, the lady behind the bar was very rude and gave out a dirty glass with cigarette ashes in the bottom , we ordered food which was over priced and when it arrived it was awful, we left at half time and went to a different bar to watch the second half. The staff in the apartments were really helpful and gave us loads of information. There is a big supermarket, a LIDL and a Mc Donalds about 10 minutes walk away but there are small supermarkets close by. The bar serves excellent food and drinks and the prices are very good. We were made very welcome by the lady who runs the bar and her husband (Mena and Pedro), we had a two great nights with them and their families when the Portugese team were playing in the Euros. One staff member in particular made our holiday "Rui" (works mainly in the evening on reception) entertained each night with his stories and really looked after us. I would definitly go back and would highly recommend these apartments to all age groups and families in particular.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#14 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Presidente Apartamentos
Presidente Apartamentos
#20 of 76 in Portimao
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar a Vista Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar a Vista Aparthotel

Property: Mar a Vista Aparthotel
Address: Edificio Mar a Vista | Rotunda Do Vau, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar a Vista Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mar a Vista Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar a Vista Aparthotel Hotel
Mar a Vista Aparthotel Portimão
Mar a Vista Aparthotel Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing