We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days at the end of April 2013. This hotel is basic but very clean, the staff are lovely and really helpful. The hotel provided exactly what it said it would. We were not promised wi fi in the rooms so didn't expect it, it is a 15 minute walk from the beach, but we knew that so were not disappointed. After our first night we asked if we could move rooms to get a bit more sunshine through the day. The staff had no problems with this and we were moved within 30 minutes to a sea view room with 2 balconies! Don't be afraid to ask, if they can help you they will. The move made our holiday. The beaches are amazing as you would expect on the Algarve. The 'strip' on the sea front is a bit 'kiss me quick hats' and 'English breakfasts' for us but that is our personal choice. We just worked a bit harder to find alternative restaurants. The best one we found for well cooked, fresh food that is reasonably priced and has a good hint of Portuguese cuisine was the Mick and Chris Wine and Food Bar, near the western end of the Praia da Rocha avenue 'strip'. Mick the barman and Moura, the chef from Madeira, are lovely, very welcoming and if you like watching football without beer slopping round your shoulders, this is the place as they are also keen fans. There is a Lidl and a large supermarket 10 minutes walk away. We hired bicycles for 4 days which was a good idea. We got away from Praia da Rocha for a bit. Portimao is nice enough to wander round. There's not a lot of 'culture' unless you go further afield but it depend on what you want from your holiday. If you want clean, good value accommodation then this is fine and the beaches are wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheD0cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 350 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

this was one of my first holiday after 5 years !!! we stayed in mirachoro in april. hotel is basic but sufficient and with very helpful staff. All three receptionist staff ( Leo, Dora, George) and bar man were very very friendly.
I would definately come back to thius hotel if i could.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank akashshah1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. My partner and I stayed at this so called hotel for one week and wanted to go home after the first night. The description and what it offers is not correct. There is no Wi fi in the room only in reception. Ten euros for a remote control to watch tv has no English channels (we did not bother. Our view from the balcony was overlooking the motorway. The room is need of a complete make over. Rather then do this in the reception or toilets downstairs. The manger needs to think of the customers and make changes so that more people would be happy with the hotel and prepared to come back again. We will not be back. Stay away from his hell hole.

Room Tip: There is none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hi, me and my partner stayed here in Oct 2012 for 10 nights. We must say we found the hotel very good the staff and the manager could not have being more pleasant and helpfull, The rooms were basic but clean we were luck we had 2 balcony's one we got the sun in the morning the other sun all afternoon and into the evening, what more do you want. Ok the beds were a little hard for our liking, and it lacked a oven but we tend to eat fresh fruit and steaks all of which are very resonabley priced at the local large shopping complex near by(10 min walk) where you can get everything you need for your stay, the town of Portimo is a nice 20/25 min walk away, although the hotel lays on a free shuttle bus to the town and also the stunning beaches,again the beach is only a 15/20 min walk away. there is a little local bar next door that seems very friendly but we did not try it although we will the next time we go there, and we are going back this year for certain.Give it a try dont be put off by the negative reviews here

Room Tip: go for a room on the corner overlooking the pool and out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Me and my sister stayed here from the 8th-15th April. The rooms were clean and spacious, there were only two of us but the room would easily sleep four people. The staff were really friendly and helpful and helped us to book our excursions. The pool was a bit on the small side but it was ok when we stayed as there weren't many people around, I imagine in summer it would be very crowded. The bar was okay, though some of the food was not very nice. The hotel is only a short 15 minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes from the supermarket. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend staying here, as it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hms91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from the 8th - 15th April 2013, what can I say it was everything you want for a holiday, people on reception very helpful and friendly, bar staff very helpful, apartment on the fifth floor had a great view and was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it and will book the same hotel for next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frangela_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a great location! We were there April 5-10 2013, 2 seniors, 1 adult and two children 10 & 7. Leo was an excellent host, welcoming, friendly and a pleasure to converse with. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The apartments were spacious and well equipped. We found all the staff to be friendly. The pool was cold of course but that didn't deter the children in 18 degrees of sunshine! Continente shopping mall was a 7 minute walk, Happy Family Chinese Restaurant upstairs was a great find with a smorgasbord for €9.95 per adult and €5.95 per child. Pria de Rocha Beach a ten minute walk and hire car delivered and collected from YorCar in Alvor made this an excellent 5 day break for all. Well done Mirachoro!

Room Tip: we had 315 & 317 as a family unit. The traffic noise in 317 was there but not a problem. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dosullivan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
481 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#21 of 76 in Portimao
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#15 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smartline Amarilis
Smartline Amarilis
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Sao Roque
Residencial Sao Roque
#35 of 76 in Portimao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II

Address: Lote 64/65 Rua dos Poetas Populares | Urb. Alto do Quintao, Portimao 8500-293, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: $23 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos Ii And Iii
Mirachoro Hotel Portimão
Mirachoro Hotel Apartamentos Ii Iii
Mirachoro 2
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing