We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* hotel max”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Algarve Casino
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Definitely not a 5* star hotel. Stayed there for a week in May.I travel a lot and visited many hotels but this hotel was one of the worst. We booked two rooms for 4 people.Have to say hotel and rooms needs an update. Windows were dirty and dusty, shelves broken,10 year old fridge, mattresses with stains. One of the blankets was ripped and looked worn out.We asked to changed it twice all they did just made the bed with same blanket. One day we stayed at the pool had few coctails from the bar, went back to ask for more ice which we were refused. They wanted to charge us 3 eur for a cup of ice. The fridge in the room was locked but couldnt get the key until the next morning because there was no maintenance at night time in 5* hotel. We had breakfast included. The area was too small and food was same every day, no changes, exept some different cold and hard as rock crossants, few times got a dirty plate and cutlery. Also parking was bit further from hotel. Swimming pool closes at 7 and a tiny spa area at 6.Casino rooms old and needs investment. And attitude of some staff just unacceptable.There was also no evening entertainment as promised. I would not recommend this hotel. Wouldnt call it 5* hotel, max 3*. Needs an updates and investment. Only good thing was location - close to the beautiful beach. Would never stay there again.
The best thing about my stay was…
close to beach rasa, LithuaniaGroup of Young Friends/Couples

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vincas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 938 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is an ok hotel but definately not a 5 star hotel. I actually found some of the reception staff to be unfriendly but maybe I just caught them on a bad day. They said they could organise a car to Faro airport for 80 euros but if you walk up the street 5 minutes you can get a private transfer for 54 euros. The spa looked like it could do with a good clean - I really don't think this hotel is worth the money you pay for it. The Oriental hotel looked very nice and is next door to this and I wish I had booked there.
PS the noise from the heavy slamming of doors in the corridors will wake you up from 5am onwards!!

Room Tip: We paid to upgrade to sea view as the rooms we originally had were small dark and smelt a bit musty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cica75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our annual visit to Praia da Rocha and the Hotel Algarve Casino a member of the Solverde Casino and hotel group proved to exceed last years stay at this five star hotel. Although the hotel had less visitors this year during our April visit, this maybe due to a combination of an early Easter and the present financial situation in parts of the EU. however the hotels high standards had not been affected by this.
My wife and stayed in a sea view room with balcony on the second floor, which gives the most spectacular view directly over the sandy beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Our room offered touches of Arabic design and was clean and serviced to a high standard by the chambermaids.
The gardens were in full flower and well maintained, and the pool although unheated was a warm 22 degrees and offers a varying depth to suit all swimmers while there is plenty of space round the pool area to top up the tan. There is also a smaller pool and play area for children along with a lifeguard in attendance. The pool and surrounding areas were cleaned and inspected each morning, drinks and food are available from the Zodiaco open air restaurant. The Amendoeiras restaurant offers excellent views of the gardens, pool, and the Ocean while enjoying breakfast from a wide choice of both cold and hot food items from the extensive buffet attended by Jose, Ana, Antonio and the girls.
This year we decided to stay half board, i.e. dinner bed and breakfast, as low season is limited for choices of restaurants to eat in Praia da Rocha. We had no concerns this year, we dined in the Aladino restaurant which combines dinner with the Casino show on certain nights. As we are both lovers of freash fish, we had the choice of eight different species along with home made soups all prepared and presented to a high standard.Those not concerned about waistlines will enjoy the dessert menu! All bakery items are also baked within the hotel.
The Casino show this season is based on 90s hit tunes and is performed by a very professional group of artists performing to a high standard with colourful well designed costumes.
Last but not least, the reception staff are always available to assist with any problems or enquiries and communicate well in English.
The Hotel Algarve Casino is not cheap, but you get value for money and is certainly worth five stars.
And finally remember to say ola to the resident parrot.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a beach and ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is my second trip to this hotel and it is still as good as before. There is a stark difference between four star and five star hotels. The staff are so attentive and so on the ball, almost intuitively guessing what you will order. They are also incredibly friendly and down to earth. The one waiter spent many a long time talking to us and then when he saw us at the beach one day came to chat to us. You get the feeling with many of the people in this hotel that it 'isn't just a job'. It is a really beautiful hotel. The breakfast is to die for and I cannot believe that I paid a lot less for this hotel this time round. Prices are coming down, maybe the recession is even hitting a gem like this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was I have to say a place I would love to live . This hotel was great very clean everything was wonderful but the beaches here are to die for! I was in Lisbon then came to stay here and I really was in love with Algarve. The food was also very good. Everything was perfect! Everyone should experience Algarve what a great place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewlsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A great hotel in a great location overlooking the beach ..though you do have to pay extra for the sea view ..the rooms are spacious .we stayed on a b&b basis it was ample.the staff are friendly and helpful .the pool area is nice with steps down to the beach.situated on the Main Street close to bars and restaurants.after staying here last year I have booked again for may this year ..have no hesitations in booking this great hotel

Room Tip: Don't need to pay the extra for sea view ..not really in the room long enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookies59uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have returned to this hotel every year since we can remember.We find the staff exceptionally friendly,courteous and helpful.The views from the hotel are exceptional. Huge expanse of beach on the doorstep.A wooden walk- way makes trips along the beach very accessible. Make sure you book a sea-facing view in the main hotel. Rooms are clean and a good size. Good bathrooms with a touch of luxury. Buffet breakfast is ideal, and the lunches provided in the restaurant by the pool are very good - try the melon filled with prawns !! Most of the evening menus provide a good selection but for a touch of real luxury,order room service and enjoy your meal on your balcony.When the weather is at its best (most of the time) you will not find a more ideal spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willkommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
581 reviews
3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Algarve Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Algarve Casino

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira | Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
#16 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: $73 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Algarve Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Praia da Rocha, close to many tourist facilities - golf, marinas, water parks and evening entertainment - the Hotel Algarve Casino combines comfort and refinement, entertainment and relaxation, leisure and business in a unique way. With an enticing view of the beach and the sea, the five-star hotel provides unforgettable holidays for the whole family, with the guarantee of excellent service, comfort and quality. The Casino, next to the hotel, complements what the Hotel Algarve Casino has to offer, inviting to moments of pure fun with evening entertainment, fantastic shows, musical evenings, restaurants, bars and modern games rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Algarve Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarve Casino Hotel
Hotel Algarve Casino Portimao, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing