We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Globo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Made Inn(Portimao)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Flamingo Residence(Praia da Rocha)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mirachoro Sol(Portimao)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VilaRosa Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
27
73
70
25
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
73
70
25
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbad smellclose to shopsclean hotellocal townstar hotelstayed here for a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 240 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 2nd time in two years. Between 3rd and 10th October we had half board accommodation.
The hotel is in the centre of portimao on a hill, not suitable for families with children as hotel is focussed at couples.
The hotel is still of a good clean condition with all communal area well looked after.
The bedroom was well sized as was the bathroom. The room were cleaned daily and towels changed.
The evening meal was brilliant and again never had the same meal twice. The waiters were excellent and look after us every evening. Very friendly.
The only issue I have was that we attempted to use the gym and found the majority of the equipment was broken

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stretch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Other reviewers have covered most points. However breakfasts although wide in variety are repetitive i.e. always scrambled egg and a mini sort of frankfurter with mushrooms for a few days then baked beans for a few days after that. Also a similar routine for fruit on offer and surprisingly how often tinned fruit rather than fresh. Ideal location for those visiting the area as part of a tour of the Algarve but if that is by car investigate parking in advance; there is none available at the hotel and local parking is quite expensive. The hotel can advise and help however so contact them.Not sure about room sizes. We had 304 which was very well sized but looking at the emergency exit plans on the back of the door I got the impression that some rooms were quite small.
As a local said there are only two things to Portimao; sardines and sailing trips so don't expect to much. But for a relaxing couple of days not far from this hotel puts you down by the harbourside and a couple of cafe's with newsagents where current day international newspapers arrive around 10:30. A relaxing coffee/fresh orange with a cheese and ham toastie whilst reading The Times with no pressure to move on can be quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tritontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel was fine, rooms a good size but yes there is a bad smell from the port, suggest you request rooms as high up at possible. Clean well decorated rooms. A typical package holiday holiday hotel but with a local Portuguese clientele. Good breakfast in restaurant with lovely view. WiFi is payable which I would I expect to be included in a three star. Once we changed for a less smelly room on the fourth floor, the bathroom was V.small. Unfortunately parking is payable and town centre is pretty dead apart from the port area. The beach is not within walkiing distance. Whilst the rooms had been upgraded the common area carpeting was very worn and worse for wear. Also rooms were cleaned in the afternoon which precluded an afternoon siesta.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molesinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Delayed review - Me and my partner stayed at the Hotel Globo in September 2011. After reading other reviews on this website we were unsure what to expect. Lucky for us it was perfection.
The rooms were clean, well kept, nicely decorated and with air conditioning. They were cleaned daily. The staff had great local knowledge but on occasion a few staff had limited English (expected as we were on holiday).
The food was brilliant and in a 10 night stay we didn't have the same meal once.
The hotel is approximatley 20 minute walk to the nearest beach but what a beautiful walk (bus service runs to beach).
Me and my partner are considering coming back this year.
The only critism is the hotel doesn't have a pool but with perfect weather we prefered the beach so didn't effect the rating of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed here and enjoyed it very much, the staff were very helpful. The room was cleaned every day, and sheets and towels changed more regularly thanin more expensive hotels we have stayed in. We were impressed with the bar and the view from the bar, the breakfast was excellent,and we had a meal in the restaurant and were very impressed, recommend the sole,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marialiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews