We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Golf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is great hotel for playing golf on a superb course desgined by Sir Henery Cotton.
The staff are helpful and polite. The rooms are clean and well appointed. It may be worth paying extra to have a room facing the golf course especially in the cooler months as they get full sun.
The food is very good but on the pricey side but as the room and golf is priced well its a case of swings and roundabouts. In short its well worth a visit.

Room Tip: A room on the 3rd floor facing the golf course would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor, “Great for Golf”, mentioning your enjoyable golfing holiday at our Resort, whilst playing the renowned Sir Henry Cottons Championship Course.

We are most proud to read that our staff was helpful and polite, the facilities, services and food quality were up to your expectations.

As a conclusion you wrote that it is well worth a visit, and we hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you again for another golfing experience.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    215
    127
    37
    10
See reviews for
138
222
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I decided to stop overnight, we were attending a 'St Andrews Ball' in the hotel on Saturday evening and did not want to be driving afterwards as it included a champagne reception and all the drinks.
It was a good decision. The ball was great, a fantastic buffet meal was served.
Our room was a reasonable size with a balcony, a good size well equipped bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was included in the special rate and was more than adequate, even if we had not eaten so much the night before we would have been more than satisfied with the choice, though some of the hot dishes were not as hot as they should have been, perhaps someone forgot to plug in the heaters?
Good service throughout and a very pleasant place to stay. It is advertised as a golf resort, although we don't play we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlooking the pool and golf course carry a surcharge. Unless you particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. It is most rewarding to read that St. Andrews Ball was a success and that you were pleased with your decision to stay overnight.

We have also appreciated your kind comments about the quality of our facilities and services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, with St. Andrews event, or for a relaxing weekend, we remain at your disposal for any information or assistance.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had a 5 day golf break with my son and had a great time but was spoilt by a group of guests who came back at three nights running at 3am very drunk, banging doors shouting & swearing and being very obnoxious. They even turned up for golf, hungover and held everyone up with slow play. I told reception (duty manager unavailable) who said someone would get back to me but no one did.
Apart from this the hotel is very good. All members of staff were friendly & helpful, breakfast is great and the Grill and Italian resturants are excellent and nice bars. Rooms are fine but you can hear the traffic outside in the rooms at the front of the Hotel. Lots of other facilities - spa ect.
The Golf course was in great condition and well managed. Clubs were kept next to pro shop and were ready and waiting as soon as we checked in for our round. The marshals kept play moving at a nice pace (apart from the "Day of the Drunks") and as we were a two ball we were paired up with some very pleasant players on three of the five days.
I would recommend Penina and would certainly go back again and will not be put off by the bad behavoir of some guests. However, it is supposed to be a five star resort and as such they should make sure guests do not spoil others enjoyment. It is for this reason I have given a four not five rating.

Room Tip: Pick one over looking the Golf Course NOT at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Gerente de relações públicas at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We have reviewed and welcomed your comments regarding your recent stay, and the conduct you have described cannot be tolerated and is not acceptable. We are extremely sorry that the behavior of other guests has caused this type of inconvenience.
We have noted that you recommend our resort, and you intend to return, and we appreciate the fact that you have also mentioned the positive details of your stay, and the enjoyable Golf and dining experience.
We hope that you will give us the pleasure to greet you and your son at our Resort in the not too distant future, for another golfing holiday,
Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week,the hotel is as good as ever,the staff many of whom have been there for years greeted us with smiles and some even remembered our names,after a 4 year break in visiting .We had upgraded to a studio and the weather was fantastic for most of the week,so we were able to sit on the balcony and soak up the sun.According to my husband it's the best cheese omelette in the world! The breakfasts are always good with plenty to choose from,we ate in The Italian restaurant which was excellent and the Grill also had plenty of choice.I only have a couple of gripes ,get rid of the snooker table in the lounge ,it's far too noisy when people are trying to relax over coffee etc and the tea tray in the rooms is very spartan for a hotel of this standard.
Overall it was great to go back,the golf and weather were amazing and we shall be returning all being well next year

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for having returned to Penina after a 4 year break in visiting, and we are pleased that you have not only been able to enjoy your stay but also noticing all the improvements that the team has been able to put together and deliver. Having your name remembered must have been a great feeling, and we are glad that our staff has made you feel welcome in such a special way.

We are extremely happy to read that your husband found at Penina the best cheese omelette in the world, and that from breakfast to Le Grill and L´Arlecchino you were pleased with the variety and quality of our restaurants.

We have also noted your opinion about the snooker table and the complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

Hoping that you will keep your plans of returning next year, we look forward to greeting you back.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable 3 night golfing break at Penina. The standard of service offered by the team throughout the hotel is excellent. Teresa in reservations organises and confirms all aspects of your stay prior to arrival, there is a sincere welcome from the doorman/reception/guest relations upon arrival, and this efficiency and attitude continues with the staff in all of the restaurants, bar, golfing, and the cleaners. The Championship Golf Course is in superb condition, particularly the greens. Food is excellent, everything you could wish for at breakfast, and at dinner there is a wide choice of menu, is of high quality, and good value with the meal deals on offer. The Monchique Bar is welcoming, with background entertainment now offered every evening. There has been a change of corporate ownership of the hotel, the new General Manager is visible and takes a keen interest in meeting guests and reviewing all aspects of the hotel, and it is reassuring to hear that the efficiency of his team and standard of the hotel is acknowledged, and that there will be continued investment into the hotel and golf courses. We have been guests at Penina for over 15 years, we will be returning with the family next summer, and based upon this visit, are likely to return for many years to come. Thank you again to all of the team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review, and for having shared on tripadvisor that Penina is an “Excellent Golfing Hotel”. It is most rewarding to realize that you have been a guest at our Hotel for 15 years and that you intend to return for many years to come.

On this particular visit you were able to verify that despite the change of hotel management, the staff and General Manager are committed in assuring a high standard of service and satisfaction of our guests. Your kind comments about the friendliness of our staff, and the attentiveness of Teresa in the reservations department, were shared with our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you again next summer, when you will be returning with your family, and in the meantime we all remain at your disposal for any assistance.

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eingland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We booked a golf break for our silver wedding anniversary. We were thrilled on arrival, a bottle of chilled champagne was in our room which also had been decorated with rose petals. We had fabulous views overlooking the swimming pool and golf course. The breakfast was amazing and because we found the food so good, we did not venture out in the evenings and ate in the hotel. The staff were so polite and helpful, especially Sonia in Guest relations. The golf course was superb but make sure you have plenty of mosquito repellent on. This was our first visit to the Penina but we will certainly be returning. It surpassed all our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissiew733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen Penina Hotel & Golf Resort for your silver wedding anniversary. We feel very proud and honoured that we have in some way contributed to this special occasion.

Your review on tripadvisor is very generous in describing the fabulous views from your room, the breakfast, the golf course and the polite and helpful attitude of our staff. We appreciate your kind comments, which are most motivating.

It is great to read that our Resort surpassed your expectations, and we look forward to greeting you back soon,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Penina,as ever the course was in good condition, and unusually not too busy,averaging 4 hours per round.The vast majority of the staff are friendly and welcoming,the food,if a little pricey was top quality in all restaurants, and served in a professional manner.we come here regularly and are never disappointed.This is a great value venue for golfers. Ron B.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RonBewley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We read your review, and it is most rewarding to learn that your stay was “Good as ever”.

Golf courses in good conditions, friendly welcoming staff, good food, professional service, are some of the details that contributed to another enjoyable stay. Thank you so much for your preference for our Resort, and for your nice comments on tripadvisor.

We hope to greet you back soon for another golfing holiday,

Kind regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
2.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
11.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
20.8 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Penina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Penina | PO Box 146, Portimao 8500-336, Portugal (Formerly Penina Golf Resort)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Portimao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Portimao
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Penina Hotel & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a magnificent 360 acre estate of never ending gardens, unforgettable sounds and aromas of nature, the resort features 188 rooms and suites. Discover the renowned local beaches, enjoy complimentary transportation to the hotels beach concessionary with beach bar and a selection of water sports or simply relax by the Olympic size swimming pool. Other leisure options include 6 tennis courts, a football pitch, fitness room, running trail, sauna and beauty treatments, children’s club, 18-hole Sir Henry Cotton Championship Golf Course, 9-hole Academy course and 9-hole Resort course. A selection of 5 restaurants caters for all tastes and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Penina Golf Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Golf And Resort
Le Meridien Penina Hotel
Le Meridien Penina Resort
Le Meridien Portimao
Portimão Le Meridien
Penina Hotel & Golf Resort Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing