We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
406
277
152
42
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
277
152
42
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sir henry cotton cotton club pro shop mountain view le grill snooker table practice facilities locker room water hazards driving range star resort rooms are small public areas private beach tea and coffee kids club main bar
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 890 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We came here as 2 non golfers to sit by the pool and relax and that's exactly what we did. Service varied from excellent to poor especially at reception. Very pricey pool bar (can of coke 3.70 euro). Very clean but small rooms. Breakfast was tasty.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16,024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G R, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

“Non Golfers” are most welcome at our Resort, and we are glad to learn that you visited Penina for a relaxing stay.

Many of our guests do not play golf, but enjoy the quiet atmosphere, the relaxing gardens, the huge pool, and the other hotel facilities. We usually receive good comments about the cleanliness of our rooms, and the services provided by our staff. We regret if in any occasion our reception did not perform with consistency.

We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been coming to Penina annually for nearly 10 years.

A very beautiful hotel with tranquil garden setting. Fantastic pool and poolside area which even at peak time never feel crowded and very attentive poolside staff.

The bedrooms are not very spacious but have been recently refurbished. The bed and bed linen was very luxurious and inviting.

The breakfast setting, service and quality of food is perfect (we stayed at another supposedly 5* hotel in Vale da Lobo where it was way below par). Majority of staff have worked at Penina for years and are always welcoming and willing to help.

You get what you pay for and whilst eating/drinking within the hotel can seem pricey you have to remember it is a 5* establishment and Alvor (local town) is only 10 minutes car journey away where you can stock up on water/essentials and visit great local restaurants.

The golf set up is perfect. The range, putting practice areas and of course the beautiful Championship course are well maintained and we never tire of playing the main course which is always challenging. Laurenzo the pro is a fantastic teacher and my game really improved after one lesson.

Penina is our favourite hotel in Portugal. Hope to return next year.

Room tip: If you are not happy with the room go back to reception and they will do their best to assist.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great to come back to where golf began in Portugal. Wonderful courses, so mature now the spirit if Sir Henry Cotton lives on in the clubhouse and fairways.
Brilliant food and services, staff all really pleasant. Ladies loved the spa treatments.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GriffCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This review is biased because I just love this place. This was our 4th visit, this time for five days and it was just perfect. Delicious food (especialy breakfast which is outstanding, in the garden), a beautiful pool, an excellent (and keenly priced) beauty salon and heaps of areas to run/walk, sit comfortably and read, surf the web (with their free wifi) and relax. We took the shuttle to the beach one day - which was just lovely - and ventured into Alvor (which we know well) a couple of times too, to sample something different and more lively. The restaurant options are adequate at the hotel - an excellent Italian, Sagres (the buffet) which is family friendly and the Grill, which is more upmarket. The only disappointment really was the Club restaurant but maybe we were unlucky. The boys (one big, one small) played some golf, including using the driving range, so everyone was happy really. We are already planning our next trip. It is exceptionally family friendly

Room tip: Pool view a must. Mountain view don't have a balcony which is a disappointment.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaK132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your preference for Penina, and for your 4 visits. We are extremely happy to read your positive observations about our facilities and services, and it is most rewarding to learn that you are already planning your next visit.

We have shared your review with our teams, since they all did a good job in the different areas of our operation: Restaurants, Pool area, Beauty centre, Beach club and Golf course.

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable! Standard room could have a little bit more space. The hotel is very clean , with good pool, pool area and grounds.The hotels location is not ideal as it is a little way to the beach. Free shuttle available only till September 30th as the beach club in Alvor is closing by this date.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMPenina, Guest Relations Manager at Penina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having posted a review on tripadvisor, further to your recent visit to Penina, and for sharing your opinion on how comfortable our hotel was, and how pleased you were with the cleanliness, pool and grounds.

Our property is located only 4 km away from the beach, and many of our guests take the complimentary shuttle provided by the hotel, and others prefer to drive when they have their own card, or rental car, since there are parking facilities near our beach concession. The shuttle is available from June to September, as our beach concession has the license to operate during the summer season.

We hope to greet you back next year for another most enjoyable summer holiday,

Kind regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews