We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not of 5* standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Morgado Golf & Country Club
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I were part of the eleven group of golfers, mentioned in the previous review. Our room was of a very high standard, excellent wet room, instant hot water, overlooking the 1st hole of Morgado golf course.

We had visited the hotel in June 2011 and were advised that the restaurant would be completed by September 2011 and so we were disapointed to find that no further work had been completed in this area, leaving the reastaurant still in the cub house.

The food in the restaurant was not of 5* standard, little choice and not always cooked to an acceptable standard. We needed to request that food be replenished, when the serving plates were empty. On one evening I cut up the fruit display as the staff were unable to replenish the fresh fruit plate. One pudding had 'rich tea' biscuits placed in the top!! Ice cream was not on the menu.

It is a shame that the management has not taken responsibility for the restaurant as this has brought down the standard set in all other areas.

The golf courses were in excellent condition.

Staff were friendly, bar prices were expensive.

A car is a must if staying for a weeks holiday, we were lucky to have ours in order that we could eat out.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are on the first tier overlooking the golf course, on one level. There are rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 380 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our mixed group of 11 stayed here from 15th to 22nd October. This was our 7th trip to Portugal for golf and we were looking forward to the luxury of a 5* hotel, as we normally go for 4*. We all went with an open mind having read mixed reviews. The hotel is not like any conventional hotel we have ever stayed in but that was not a bad thing. The rooms were lovely, big and luxurious with a wet room to die for! Our rooms all had large balconies, which looked out onto the beautiful Morgado golf course, which we had all played before. There is a massive colony of storks, whose antics added to the enjoyment. Parts of the hotel are still not up and running but the worse thing was the quality of the food. There was a very limited choice, which means that what is on offer should be of a very high standard - it certainly wasn't. We had to continually remind staff to replenish empty dishes and one night it was difficult to find anything we liked, as there was only the choice of 1 meat dish and 1 fish dish every night! We are not fussy eaters but we have had much better food at 4* hotels in Portugal - notably Riu Atlantico, Dom Joao11 and Tivoli Almansor.When we complained to the manager he denied any responsibility and said the catering was a different department and that the food had actually improved!! We did not let this spoil our annual golf holiday and would be willing to give the place another try if they raise their catering standards. I would wecome a comment from CS Hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan19pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our golf society stayed here for our annual trip. The three night package was good value, with great rooms looking out over the course. We enjoyed the courses, the food from the buffet was enjoyed by us all. It is some way from the town, so be prepared for a taxi ride if you want to go out in the evening - though the bar and terrace provided a very pleasant place for an evening after 18 holes.

All commented on the great wet/room showers! Lots of room and fantastic water pressure. The rooms were very contemporary, clean and with plenty of space. The other plus point is the closeness of first tee on both courses. Allow 50 minutes to get to the airport - but an easy taxi ride or transfer.

Keep an eye out for additional facilities as they are developed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jda180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We approached the hotel with some degree of trepidation as some of the previous reviews were quite critical of the facilities but we had been reassured by our organisers Your Golf Travel.
Our concerns were blown away as soon as we saw the standard of accommodation which was quite simply, stunning.
The rooms were in fact luxury apartments with top class facilities not least the wet room with an incredible shower. The main hotel building is in fact the clubhouse but this should not detract from the total experience. The staff were extremely helpful and could not do enough to make our stay a good experience and the management should take some praise for setting such a high standard.
The golf courses especially the Morgado were a pleasure to play and we would recommend a stay to play golf here to anyone.
We shall return.......

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank des_bloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

On arrival very warm welcome and helpfull. rooms very nice, some building work still to be completed . small pool but very comfortable.NO TENNIS COURTS YET. We had half board package and the food was very good with 1/2 bottle of wine or 1 beer inc.
unfortunately halfway through our stay they wanted to put an extra charge on the wine and if you had ice cream for desert. After consulting the hotel manager who was very proffesional and helpfull the problem was resolved swiftly. Only one golf course was open because of maintainance which we were unaware of untill we arrived so we played 2 rounds at salgados which was in exellent condition . the Alomos course was open ,but not in top condition. overall our stay was very pleasant .a car is a must , A good place for a short golf break.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank TOM54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked this hotel for 4 nights but only stayed for 1! The rooms inside are okay and quite spacious and they overlook the golf course and the VERY noisy construction site. Not what we wanted for a relaxing break. The hotel reception is also the reception for the golf. The restaurant has no atmosphere and the food was not of a very good standard. The buildings of the hotel from the outside look like a power station. The swimming pool looked murky and not blue as advertised. There were workman working around the pool and filling their bucket with pool water. The golf courses may be good but we didn't stay long enough to try them out. Went to Penina instead. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Two first class courses, each a couple of minutes walk from the hotel room, what could be better ?
Hotel rooms completely comfortable and great views over Morgado golf course. Bags not allowed in the room,
they have to be kept with the caddymaster. Trolleys were included in my package, buggies were 30.00 Euro per round. Some work going on in and around the site with a lot of construction machinery on the surrounding roads ,after a day or so you get used to it. The hotel is nearer Portimao than Monchique and a car or taxi is essential if you want to get out at night. Restaurant evening meal was good, - somewhat international with Portuguese dishes from time to time, breakfast excellent . Only minuses were quiet atmosphere in the evening, no activities as yet and noise from swimming pool purification system under room on start up at 07:30. Personnel very hejpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get room away from swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GarethEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portimao hotels
5.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,073 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,310 reviews
5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
5.8 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
934 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pestana Algarve Race
Pestana Algarve Race
#32 of 76 in Portimao
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgado Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgado Golf & Country Club

Address: Morgado do Reguengo, Portimao 8501-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: $96 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgado Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Portimão and the Monchique mountains, and nestling in a valley between two golf courses, the Morgado Golf & Country Club hotel features 98 rooms with balconies and terraces offering extensive views over the golf courses. The rooms are decorated in modern style with great attention to detail and various touches of luxury that transmits a feeling of comfortable elegance. Golfers of all levels are sure to feel at home here. The Golf Academy at the Clubhouse has everything you need to help you fine tune your strokes, including private or group lessons. The non-player in your party, and golfers who plan on relaxing between rounds, will enjoy the Morgado Golf & Country Club’s four swimming pools (two for children), a bar and a restaurant. And there is plenty to keep you busy off the course too. From the renowned beaches of Portimão to the natural beauty of the Monchique Mountains, there is plenty to see and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Morgado Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgado Golf & Country Club Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing