We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museu de Portimao

Museu de Portimao
Book In Advance
Private Tour
$56*
and up
Private Tour: Portimao, Alvor and Ferragudo...
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit. The museum is well laid out and does a few things well instead of trying to do too much. It's one of the few interesting things in what is otherwise a town with not much to do. Exhibits are beautifully arranged and the location on the river bank is great. It could do with a more detailed guide in English. They could capitalise on their exhibits by selling relevant merchandise, e.g. cd's of the lovely Portuguese guitar music.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Algolthedemonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    74
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well laid out, nice way to pass a Sunday afternoon. Clube Naval coffee shop just across the road and lovely walk along the river.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy201095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a wonderful laid out Museum, its main feature beening the History of the canning industry, the display is showing the whole process of industry, they have the old machinery, plus excellent life size figures showing where they would be working in the process. There is also portuguese quitars showing how they were made and the history of the family that made them. That was excellent too All worth a visit enjoy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakkif49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved this museum - stylish and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The museum was stylishly laid out with some beautifully staged exhibits - and gave a very clear understanding of the history of Portimao and the sardine canning industry. I really liked the lifesize models of the workers on the production line and the film about the old factory was excellent. Not at all dusty or boring!
The section devoted to the development of the Portuguese guitar was also attractive: and we enjoyed the special photographic competition exhibits upstairs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sloth-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into the Portimão of yesteryear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We thought the museum was well laid out, very informative but could do with an English translation of the exhibits. Our Portuguese is good but most visitors would struggle. We loved the film showing the old canning factory. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosiebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu de Portimao also viewed

 

Been to Museu de Portimao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing