We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this museum - stylish and interesting”
Review of Museu de Portimao

Museu de Portimao
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$62.53*
and up
Private Tour: Algarve Wine and Tapas Tour by Sidecar Motorcycle from Portimao
Ranked #5 of 78 things to do in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved this museum - stylish and interesting”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The museum was stylishly laid out with some beautifully staged exhibits - and gave a very clear understanding of the history of Portimao and the sardine canning industry. I really liked the lifesize models of the workers on the production line and the film about the old factory was excellent. Not at all dusty or boring!
The section devoted to the development of the Portuguese guitar was also attractive: and we enjoyed the special photographic competition exhibits upstairs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sloth-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    107
    17
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into the Portimão of yesteryear”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We thought the museum was well laid out, very informative but could do with an English translation of the exhibits. Our Portuguese is good but most visitors would struggle. We loved the film showing the old canning factory. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosiebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“How it all began - with a Sardine”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Well worth an hour or so to see how the town was driven forward with the Sardine Fishing industry - sound boring - not at all!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Newmillerdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very interesting and well planned Museum”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I visited here on a damp November day. The museum is very well planned. The sardine industry section had several video's with English subtitles explaining all about the history. There were lots of old photographs too in each section. We also enjoyed the Portuguese guitar section of the museum. I love the sounds coming from the guitars and the designs were beautiful. The ceramics display also looked stunning. For 3 euro's it was very good value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for local history”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Essentially a sardine canning factory museum, best watch the film first and then the place starts to make sense. Particularly liked the Portugese guitar display upstairs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank esdrt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu de Portimao also viewed

 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Museu de Portimao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing