We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great WiFi, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Made Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Made Inn
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great WiFi, helpful staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel but everything clean and superb hot shower. Wifgi strong, staff helpful. Did not do breakfast. Nice Portuguese restaurant on pedestrian precinct, left and left again out hotel. Restaurant on right on corner. Plenty Portuguese in and very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi there!
Thank you so much for your review!
I'm glad you've liked your stay with us!
Yes, we care for cleanliness and actually our pressure and temperature in the shower / bath is very good!
Yes, as we are located in the city center, it's easy to find good places to dine and have fun! Always ask our staff - they are pleased to help our guests!

I hope next time you try our buffet breakfast and our brand new service: audiotour the city of Portimão!

Until next time!

Kind regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    131
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
181
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Made Inn and twice, I had a very enjoyable experience. I did have doubts when I entered the hotel, particularly since their house style is dominated by flashy Easyjet-style orange which stands out. Luckily the orange only lingers around the reception, once in the room, there isn’t much orange theme left and the accommodations are all nicely decorated and even feature neat wooden floors. I am at most impressed with the staff. They are unsophisticated, friendly, are there to help and actually listen to you and have a chat from time to time. I often compare with similarly classed hotels or hostels. The hotel manager should really be proud at their helpful staff, they deliver and really add value to the guest experience. Another plus to add to the breakfast. All in all, great place to stay. Centrally located. Real good value for money. The website is easy to navigate and room deals can be booked quickly. I recommend this hotel strongly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REBRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello!
Nice to hear from you again!
I'd like to thank you the fact that you shared with the world your opinion about us!
I also like to thank you for your input in order for us to always improve our costumer service!
Yes, I'm very proud of our staff and it's very nice to know that all the work that we do every day, in order for guests to leave satisfied with their stay, gives results and it's very worth it!

So, see you again soon!
Best regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The price is what you get at this hotel, nothing special.
Breakfast is simple, weekday different then during the weekend (horrible coffee). Beds where not very comfortable, since the double bed consisted of one mattress and we didn't sleep that well.
During the weekend you should close your window due to lot of noise coming from people outside.
Staff at the desk was not so friendly, a smile would be nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lensen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for your review.
Despite what you've said, we hope that you have enjoyed our services, such as free wi-fi (in the room and at the net zone, free of charge), our terrace with amazing views over the city, the original decoration of your room, bike rental, and taken advantage of your discount with our partner restaurant in the area.
I am surprised with your words about the staff, because normally recepcionists always help our guests and we have lots of reviews saying that staff are super friendly. Despite that, I apologize of any smileless staff.
We are in a quiet area during the night, that's for sure. I believe that was a singular event during the night and, as we have triple glass at the windows, it should be no problem.
Concerning the beds, most of guests prefer a double bed, instead a twin room and our matresses are new, so, normally we don't have complaints about that as well.
For a 2 star hotel, comparing with other units, we believe that our breakfast is rich and have a variety of quality things that you can eat and drink. Our value for money is high, I believe, as you may see in other reviews from our guests.
Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you have enjoyed our cleaning, modern equipment and good shower bath.
Thanks again.
Best regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Right in the centre of Portimao and minutes walk from the bus station, shops and the river promenade. Very nice breakfast and free wifi in the room. Room on the small side but very clean and modern. Slight downside is the sound insulation between rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel has excellent conditions, very clean and good services. It was a good surprise considering the price, the better QoS that I found, comparing the price Vs condiions. The rooms are really very clean and with a contemporary decoration.
A experience to repeat for sure

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabete1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi!
You will be always welcome at our unit! Thanks for your nice review!
See you soon!
Regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Made Inn is a perfect place to stay if exploring the Algarve. We stayed from 26th August to 1st September 2012. When we first arrived Ana was on reception and gave us a lovely welcome, she gave us so much information about Portimao and the Algarve. She drew on a map showing us the best restaurants and bars to visit and we went to most of her recommendations and we were so impressed. The room was lovely apart from having twin beds rather than a double but the staff were fine with us moving them together. Everything was so clean and fresh and breakfast was more than adequate for us.

While in the Algarve we had a hire car, and in Portimao there is pretty much no free car parking but we managed to park just a few blocks away from Made Inn on a residential street for free. it is also interesting to know that a parking ticket issued by a traffic warden costs less than paying for parking at the machine! When it came to us leaving Ana once again gave us information on various other places in the Algarve for us to visit, if only all hotel receptionists were as friendly and helpful!

I have to say this hotel far exceeded our expectations and was much better than some 3 or 4 Star hotels i have stayed in.

Thank you for making our holiday perfect...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleblueone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadeInn, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi there!
On behalf of Ana, thank you for the excellent words of appreciation you wrote! It's great when employees enjoy what they do and are professional in their work! And at Hotel Made Inn we have plenty of them ;)
About the car, we have an agreement with a garage on our street and you can leave the car with guard, during the night, for only € 2.50!
You are so welcome!
Thanks for your nice review.
See you next time.
Regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is in the town centre, easily reachable and in the middle of a pedestrian area, hence very quiet. Buffet breakfast more than adeguate. Hotel staff very friendly and efficient. Room spotless clean. Easy to get to the fantastic beach Praia da Rocha (bus stop only a few yards away). We strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvestro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Made Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello!
Thank you so much for your nice words! We are delighted to have guests like you, that leaves us with a very positive opinion regarding their stay with us!
The bus stop to the beautiful Praia da Rocha is on the square very nearby. As so, you don't have to worry to park your car on the busy beach ;)
I will tell our staff (reception and cleaning) your reply and the whole team will be very pleased with your excellent review!
Thanks again and see you soon!
Regards.
Joana Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
1.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,035 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
1.1 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
1.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Made Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Made Inn

Property: Hotel Made Inn
Address: Rua Vicente Vaz das Vacas N 22, Portimao 8500-746, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portimao
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Made Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Portimao, at Hotel Made Inn you will be able to feel at home, with a family atmosphere and friendly service at all. You can enjoy free Wi-Fi, an excellent breakfast buffet, play for free at the electronic games room, relax on the terrace with a panoramic view or rent a bycicle to tour the city. It has 28 rooms with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet, private bathroom and amenities. It also has at your disposal wake up service, safe deposit box (at reception), fax/copy service, TV room and parking garage, payed, on the street of the hotel. Recently renovated, Hotel Made Inn gives you modern facilities with a special touch in the decoration - immerse yourself in the themed rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Made Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Made Inn Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing